| General Resources | Finding Electronic Books |
| Finding Books | Reference Books |
| Finding Articles | Web Resources |
General Resources
| This page focuses on resources which have specific usefulness to the Computer Science and Software Engineering community. However, many general, interdisciplinary engineering resources are useful for all engineers, regardless of their specialty. For general engineering resources, please see our Fundamentals of Engineering Research guide. | ||
| Human-Computer Interaction Research Guide A collection of resources chosen to address the unique interdisciplinary nature of HCI. |
||
| Digital Media Research Guide A guide to finding information relating to all aspects of digital media. |
||
Finding Books
| Searching the catalog for books on Computer Science & Software Engineering: | ||
| Try a keyword search: | artificial intelligence symbolic computation |
|
| Try a subject search: | Computer Network Protocols Software Reengineering |
|
| Include the type of book you are looking for: | Perl AND handbook software AND encyclopedia |
|
| Try truncation for more results: | algorith* retrieves… algorithm, algorithms, algorithmic, algorithmically, etc. |
|
Finding Articles
| |
Engineering Village — ELECTRONIC |
|
| ACM Digital Library — ELECTRONIC The ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library includes abstracts, reviews, and the full-text articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since 1985. |
||
| |
ACM Guide to Computing Literature — ELECTRONIC The Guide is a collection of bibliographic citations and abstracts of works published by ACM and other publishers. Citations for all ACM published works are included in the Guide as a small subset of the total bibliographic space. |
|
| |
IEEE Xplore — ELECTRONIC IEEE Xplore is the database that provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards as part of its IEEE/IEE Electronic Library (IEL). The IEL provides users with desktop access to one-third of the world’s technical literature in electrical engineering and computer science. |
|
| MathSciNet — ELECTRONIC MathSciNet, from the American Mathematical Society, is the searchable Web database providing access to over 58 years of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. MathSciNet covers Mathematical Reviews from 1940 to the present |
||
| Networked Computer Science and Technical Reference Library (NCSTRL) — WWW An international collection of computer science research reports and papers made available for non-commercial use from a number of participating institutions and archives. |
||
Finding Electronic Books
| ENGnetBASE — ELECTRONIC CRC Engineering Handbooks Online; Full-text of over 1000 engineering handbooks. Topics include Computation, Computer Engineering, Data Mining and Knowledge Discovery, Image Processing, Algorithms and Complexity, Computer Graphics, Multimedia and Visualization, Cryptography & Coding Theory, and Discrete Systems. |
||
| INFOSECURITYnetBASE — ELECTRONIC Includes over 90 fully-searchable ebooks in the area of information security and information science. |
||
| Books 24×7 — ELECTRONIC Search, browse and view full contents of hundreds of books covering over 90 technology topics, including: Databases, Desktop & Office Applications, Enterprise Computing, Graphic Design, Hardware, IBM Redbooks, Networks & Protocols, Operating Systems, Programming, and Web Development. |
||
| |
Safari Tech Books — ELECTRONIC Search, browse and view full contents of hundreds of books from major technology publishers including O’Reilly, Microsoft Press, Addison Wesley, Cisco, Cisco Press, Peachpit Press, Prentice Hall PTR, Que, Sams Publishing. |
|
Reference Books
| Encyclopedia of Human-Computer Interaction — ELECTRONIC The Encyclopedia of Human Computer Interaction is the most thorough and definitive source providing coverage of everything related to the field of human computer interaction (HCI). This encyclopedia covers a wide range of HCI related topics such as concepts, design, usability, evaluation, innovations, and applications of HCI in organizations around the globe. |
||
| Computer Science Handbook — ELECTRONIC The purpose of The Computer Science Handbook is to provide a single comprehensive reference for computer scientists, software engineers, and IT professionals who wish to broaden or deepen their understanding in a particular subfield of computer science. |
||
| Encyclopedia of Computer Science, 4th Ed. — ELECTRONIC & PRINT Hagerty Reference QA76.15 .E48 see catalog Alphabetically arranged and classified into broad subject areas, the entries cover hardware, computer systems, information and data, software, the mathematics of computing, theory of computation, methodologies, applications, and computing milieu. |
||
| Encyclopedia of Software Engineering — PRINT The encyclopedia has some 165 alphabetically arranged major articles, each written by an international authority. The topics include Acquisition Management, CASE, Data Rights, Design of Distributed Systems, Hypertext, Privacy and Security, Project Management, Software Reliability Theory, UNIX, and Viruses. These are scholarly articles that provide detailed discussions of two to twenty pages, ending with extensive bibliographies. Illustrations, charts, and schematics enhance the text. There are, in addition, more than 100 brief definitions of terms from IEEE’s Standard Glossary of Software Engineering Terminolgy. Biographical sketches of prominent individuals in the software engineering field are also included with bibliographies of their major publications. There are numerous cross-references, and an index to both volumes is included in each volume. |
||
Web Resources
| CiteSeerX — WWW CiteSeerX is a scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science. |
||
| Apple’s Developer Guides — WWW Apple’s developer guides provide conceptual and task-oriented information. They include overviews, tutorials, programming guides, server administration guides, and, for developer tools, user guides. |
||
| IBM Technical Paper Search — WWW Provides the scientific community with access to technical reports written by members of the IBM Research community. Some reports are available for download. |
||
| Directorate for Computer and Information Science and Engineering — WWW A Directorate of the National Science Foundation, the CISE website contains information on news research and grant programs in the computer and information sciences. |
||



