image1 image2 image3 image4 image5 image6 image7 image8

Materials Science & Engineering

General Resources Reference Books
Finding Books Web Resources
Finding Articles Material Property Resources

General Resources

This page focuses on resources which have specific usefulness to the Materials Science and Engineering community. However, many general, interdisciplinary engineering resources are useful for all engineers, regardless of their specialty. For general engineering resources, please see our Fundamentals of Engineering Research guide.
Chemistry Research Guide
A guide to finding information relating to all aspects of chemical science.

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on Materials Science and Engineering:
Try a keyword search: ceramics AND manufacturing
polymers AND hazards
Try a subject search: Manufacturing processes
Microstructure — Mathematical models
Include the type of book you are looking for: materials AND handbook
polymer AND encyclopedia
Try truncation for more results: metal* retrieves…
metal, metals, metallic, etc.
Searching for Ebooks:
ENGnetBASE — ELECTRONIC
Full-text of over 1000 engineering handbooks online; CRC engineering publications on a variety of topics.
MATERIALSnetBASE — ELECTRONIC
includes over 270 fully-searchable ebooks on the topics of Materials Science, Packaging, and all aspects of Materials Science and Engineering.
POLYMERSnetBASE — ELECTRONIC
CRC Handbooks covering Polymers as well as an interactive database of polymer properties
Knovel — ELECTRONIC
Online engineering reference with almost 2,000 reference materials, interactive graphs and equations, tables, and other useful information.
Referex Engineering — ELECTRONIC
A collection of over 300 engineering eBooks in 3 distinct collections, including Materials and Mechanics.

Finding Articles

best resource

Engineering Village — ELECTRONIC
The combined Ei Compendex® & Inspec® databases allow for searching on a broad range of topics within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines.

Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts
Comprehensive database for the ceramics industry, providing international coverage on the manufacture, processing, applications, properties and testing of traditional and advanced ceramics.
best resource CSA Materials Research Database
The CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX brings together in one place the majority of the leading materials science databases, with specialist content on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering application. Everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding and fabrication to end use, corrosion, performance and recycling is covered in depth for all metals, alloys, polymers, ceramics, and composites.
Materials Business File
Industry news, international trade data, government regulations and management issues related to the metals and materials industries.

Reference Books

best resource ASM Handbooks (American Society for Metals) — ELECTRONIC
Reference information on metals and materials: data and guidance on properties, processing, performance, selection, analysis, and applications.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 88th ed. — ELECTRONIC & PRINT
Hagerty Reference QD65 .H3 85th ed. (2004/05) see catalog
A ready-reference book of chemical and physical data. You may want to view the Properties of Solids section of the handbook.
CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook, 3rd ed. — ELECTRONIC & PRINT
Hagerty Reference TA403.4 .C74 1994see catalog
This handbook covers properties of materials and selection of materials; categories include Composition, Thermodynamics and Kinetics, Thermal Properties, Mechanical Properties, Electrical Properties, Optical Properties and Chemical Properties.
best resource Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology — ELECTRONIC
Extensive coverage of the properties of materials and their manufacture and application.
Engineered Materials Handbook — ELECTRONIC & PRINT
Hagerty 2nd Floor TA403.4 .E64 1995 see catalog
Volume 1 focuses on composites, volume 2 focuses on engineering plastics and volume 4 is on ceramics and glasses.
Materials Handbook: An Encyclopedia For Managers, Technical Professionals, Purchasing And Production Managers, Technicians And Supervisors — ELECTRONIC & PRINT
Hagerty Reference TA403 .B73 2002 see catalog
Each material entry gives composition, method of production, major properties, and uses.
Smithells Metals Reference Book — ELECTRONIC & PRINT
Hagerty Reference TN671 .S55 1991 see catalog
This is the standard reference work for metallurgists in academia and industry throughout the world. It includes comprehensive data on the physical, electrical, mechanical, and magnetic properties of metals.

Web Resources

best resource Materials Science and Engineering Labratory — WWW
The materials science division of the National Institute of Standards and Technology offers extensive resources, including property data for ceramics, plastics, metals, nanomaterials, and more.
Where to find Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) on the Internet — WWW
Categorically organized sites where MSDS can be accessed freely
best resource Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) — WWW
Vermont Safety Information Resources, Inc.
Vermont SIRI (Safety Information Resources, Inc.)provides access to the MSDS Archive of information about chemicals, and links to many new MSDS archives provided by manufacturers concerned about the safe use of their products. Also includes searchable information about chemical toxicity.

Material Property Resources

Biomaterials Properties Database — WWW
These tables are provided as a service by the University of Michigan-NIDR Materials Science Research Center at the University of Michigan School of Dentistry.
best resource MatWeb — WWW
MatWeb’s searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.
Materials Properties Locator Database — WWW
Use this database from the University of Buffalo Library to find out which Science & Engineering Library reference books contain properties data (mechanical, physical, electrical, thermal, etc.) for particular types of materials.
efunda: Engineering Materials — WWW
Physical, mechanical, thermal, electrical and acoustic properties are covered for common materials, and chosen alloys and polymers.
Petroleum-Based Fuels Property Database — WWW
The database includes data on various physical, chemical, operational, and environmental, safety, and health properties. These data result from tests conducted according to standard test methods (nearly all are American Society for Testing and Materials, or ASTM, methods).
INSC Material Property Database — WWW
Material properties that are to be included in the database are intended to meet the needs of analysts using computer codes and doing experiments for safety evaluation of the world’s commercial nuclear reactors. The focus is on the materials used in light water reactors (LWRs) with initial emphasis on high-priority properties of materials unique to Soviet nuclear reactor designs and reactors in eastern-Europe and developing countries. A list of properties for each material and the phases to be considered are determined based on a needs assessment.
TPSX Materials Property Database — WWW
The goal of TPSX is to provide easy and immediate access to material data for analysts, engineers and designers in the aerospace field. This version of TPSX offers data on over 1500 materials, compiled by various NASA Centers and industry sources. Most of the materials are designed for aerospace applications.  REGISTRATION REQUIRED.
Cryogenics Material Properties — WWW
Material properties from NIST’s Cryogenics Technologies Group.

Copyright © 2009 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by WordPress