image1 image2 image3 image4 image5 image6 image7 image8

MATE 100: Materials for Emerging Technologies — Resources

General Resources Materials-Specific Databases
Finding Books Handbooks and Encyclopedias
Finding Articles

General Resources

For more information about materials-related resources held by Drexel Libraries, including physical properties data, please see our Materials Science & Engineering Research Guide. For help using Drexel Libraries or with the research process in general, try the following links. Or, ask a librarian…


Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on engineering:
Try a keyword search: nanomaterials
material properties
Try a subject search: Composite Materials
Materials Science
Include the type of book you are looking for: ceramics AND handbook
concrete AND standards
Use truncation for more results: metal* retrieves…
metal, metals, metallic, etc.
Or, browse ebook collections: ENGnetBASE: CRC Engineering Handbooks Online
Knovel: Engineering & Scientific Online References
Ebrary: an extensive ebook collection covering all subjects

Finding Articles

This page focuses on resources which have specific usefulness to the Materials Engineering community. However, many general, interdisciplinary engineering resources are useful for all engineers, regardless of their specialty. For example, Engineering Village is a superb database for scholarly articles, handbooks, patents, standards, and more. For general engineering resources, please see our Fundamentals of Engineering Research guide.

Materials-Specific Databases

Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts — ELECTRONIC
Comprehensive database for the ceramics industry, providing international coverage on the manufacture, processing, applications, properties and testing of traditional and advanced ceramics.
best resource CSA Materials Research Database — ELECTRONIC
The CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX brings together in one place the majority of the leading materials science databases, with specialist content on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering application. Everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding and fabrication to end use, corrosion, performance and recycling is covered in depth for all metals, alloys, polymers, ceramics, and composites.
Materials Business File — ELECTRONIC
Industry news, international trade data, government regulations and management issues related to the metals and materials industries.
best resource MatWeb — WWW
Provides property data on over 13,000 materials.

Handbooks and Encyclopedias

best resource ASM Handbooks (American Society for Metals) — ELECTRONIC
Reference information on metals and materials: data and guidance on properties, processing, performance, selection, analysis, and applications.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics– PRINT, ELECTRONIC
A ready-reference book of chemical and physical data. You may want to view the Properties of Solids section of the handbook.
CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook — PRINT, ELECTRONIC
This handbook covers properties of materials and selection of materials; categories include Composition, Thermodynamics and Kinetics, Thermal Properties, Mechanical Properties, Electrical Properties, Optical Properties and Chemical Properties.
best resource Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology — ELECTRONIC
Extensive coverage of the properties of materials and their manufacture and application.
Engineered Materials Handbook — PRINT, ELECTRONIC
Volume 1 focuses on composites, volume 2 focuses on engineering plastics and volume 4 is on ceramics and glasses.
best resource Knovel: Engineering & Scientific Online References — ELECTRONIC
Database of some of the leading engineering reference handbooks, databases, and conference proceedings.  Includes substantial Materials Science content.
Materials Handbook: An Encyclopedia For Managers, Technical Professionals, Purchasing And Production Managers, Technicians And Supervisors — PRINT
Each material entry gives composition, method of production, major properties, and uses.
Material Selection Charts — WWW
Interactive charts enable you to interactively ‘explode’ particular classes of materials, give brief definitions of the properties on the chart, provide general information about each chart and some insights into the physical reasons underlying it
best resource MATERIALSnetBASE — ELECTRONIC
Includes 55 fully-searchable ebooks on the topics of Materials Science, Packaging, and all aspects of Engineering.
Nanomaterials Handbook –  PRINT
Exploring both commercially available and emerging materials, the Nanomaterials Handbook delves into the unique properties of materials that are realized at the nano level using language familiar to materials scientists.  
Smithells Metals Reference Book — PRINT, ELECTRONIC
This is the standard reference work for metallurgists in academia and industry throughout the world. It includes comprehensive data on the physical, electrical, mechanical, and magnetic properties of metals.

Copyright © 2009 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by WordPress