image1 image2 image3 image4 image5 image6 image7 image8

Nanotechnology

General Resources Finding Electronic Books
Finding Books Reference Books
Finding Articles Web Resources

General Resources

This page focuses on resources which have specific usefulness to the Nanotechnology community. However, many general, interdisciplinary engineering resources are useful for all engineers, regardless of their specialty. For example, Engineering Village is a superb database for scholarly articles, handbooks, patents, standards, and more.

For general engineering resources, please see our Fundamentals of Engineering Research guide.


Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on nanotechnology:
Try a keyword search: fullerene
nanocomposite
Try a subject search: Solid state chemistry
Nanocrystals
Include the type of book you are looking for: materials AND handbook
nanotechnology AND encyclopedia
Use truncation for more results: nanostructur* retrieves…
nanostructure, nanostructured, nanostructures, nanostructuring, etc.

Finding Articles

best resource

Engineering Village — ELECTRONIC
The combined Ei Compendex® & Inspec® databases allow for searching on a broad range of topics within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines.

IEEE Xplore — ELECTRONIC
IEEE Xplore is the database that provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards as part of its IEEE/IEE Electronic Library (IEL). The IEL provides users with desktop access to one-third of the world’s technical literature in electrical engineering, including nanotecnological applications.
MEDLINE via Ovid — ELECTRONIC
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and corresponds in part to the printed International Nursing Index with significant material from Index to Dental Literature.
SciFinder Scholar — ELECTRONIC
This is the premier source for finding chemical literature, substance, and reaction information. It provides a search interface for access to Chemical Abstracts online. Chemical Abstracts covers the published scientific research in chemistry, and offers searching by author name, research topic, substance identifier, chemical structure, or chemical reaction.

Finding Electronic Books

ENGnetBASE — ELECTRONIC
Full-text of over 1000 engineering handbooks online; CRC engineering publications on a variety of topics.
MATERIALSnetBASE — ELECTRONIC
includes over 270 fully-searchable ebooks on the topics of Materials Science, Packaging, and all aspects of Materials Science and Engineering.
Knovel — ELECTRONIC
Online engineering reference with almost 2,000 reference materials, interactive graphs and equations, tables, and other useful information.
Referex Engineering — ELECTRONIC
A collection of over 300 engineering eBooks in 3 distinct collections, including Materials and Mechanics.

Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering — ELECTRONIC
Written by some 400 subject experts representing diverse academic and applied domains, this multidisciplinary resource surveys the vanguard of biomaterials and biomedical engineering technologies utilizing biomaterials–uncovering current lines of research as well as innovative applications in tissue engineering, prosthetics, drug delivery, biosensors, and medical devices.
best resource Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology — PRINT
Hagerty Reference T174.7 .E53 2004 v. 1-10
A ten-volume print encyclopedia, covering all aspects of nanotechnology.
Handbook of Micro/Nano Tribology — ELECTRONIC & PRINT
Hagerty 2nd Floor TJ1075 .H245 1999 see catalog
Addresses the rapid evolution within this emerging field, and serves as a reference for graduate students and researchers. The 16 contributions cover basic studies, and address design, construction, and applications to magnetic storage devices and MEMS. The second edition features new chapters on AFM instrumentation, surface forces and adhesion, microdynamical devices and systems, mechanical properties of materials in microstructure, and micro/nanotribology and micro/nanomechanics of MEMS devices.
best resource Nanomaterials Handbook — PRINT
Exploring both commercially available and emerging materials, the Nanomaterials Handbook delves into the unique properties of materials that are realized at the nano level using language familiar to materials scientists.
Wiley Encyclopedia of Electrical and Electronics Engineering — ELECTRONIC & PRINT
Hagerty Reference TK9 .E53 1999 v.1-3 see catalog
It contains over 1400 articles that describe every aspect of electrical and electronics engineering. The articles emphasize the contributions from experts in each of the key areas of electrical engineering and electronics engineering.

Web Resources

Foresight Nanotech Institute — WWW
Foresight is the leading think tank and public interest institute on nanotechnology. Founded in 1986, Foresight was the first organization to educate society about the benefits and risks of nanotechnology.
The Nanotechnology Institute –WWW
From Discovery to Commercialization, the NTI is Philadelphia’s first partnership created be a catalyst for nanotechnology development, commercialization and company formation. Ben Franklin Technology Partners of Southeastern Pennsylvania (BFTP/SEP), the University of Pennsylvania, and Drexel University created the NTI in 2000.
National Nanotechnology Initiative
The National Nanotechnology Initiative (NNI) is the program established in fiscal year 2001 to coordinate Federal nanotechnology research and development. The website contains research publications, educational resources, news and funding opportunities.

Copyright © 2009 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by WordPress