Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About Drexel University

CHE 481-483: Process Design — Resources


 

General Class Resources

Course Reserves
Useful materials reserved by your professors for use in this class. You can access these in the Reserve Room, located on the first floor of Hagerty Library.
Chemical and Biological Engineering Research Guide
An extensive guide to library resources of value to chemical engineers. Check here for tips on doing in-depth research in chemical engineering.
Chemistry Research Guide
A guide to finding information relating to all aspects of chemical science.
best resourceFundamentals of Engineering Research
A resource guide that covers the major information resources for all engineering disciplines. This is a good place to begin your research.
Finding Full-Text from Citations
You found an interesting citation, but where’s the article? This guide will help you navigate to the full-text online.
RefWorks Overview
RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management tool. It can help you organize citations for the books, journal articles, web sites, etc. that you find while doing research. Best of all, it can generate a properly formatted bibliography for your papers. This site guides you through the process of setting up a RefWorks account and getting started with this great tool. Highly recommended.
best resourceResearching an Industry
A guide to finding information about a specific industry. Pay particular attention to the explanation of SIC and NAICS codes at the beginning of the guide. If you need more information about a specific company, try our Researching a Company guide.
Chemical Market Reporter/ICIS Chemical Business America – ELECTRONIC
Published weekly, Chemical Market Reporter/ICIS Chemical Business America offers news and analysis on the latest developments in the chemical industry.
Chemical and Engineering News — PRINT
The American Chemical Society’s monthly journal of recent developments in chemistry and chemical engineering. Once a year, a “Facts and Figures for the Chemical Industry” issue is printed (usually in June or July). Figures are specific to category and company, not chemical. Finance, production, trade, and employment are covered.

 

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on Chemical Engineering:
Try a keyword search: petroleum refining
chemical process AND design
Try a subject search: Chemical Industry
Distillation
Include the type of book you are looking for: chemical engineering AND handbook
chemical AND encyclopedia
Try truncation for more results: chemi* and manufactu* retrieves… 

chemistry manufacture
chemical AND manufacturing
chemist manufacturers

 

Searching for Ebooks:
ENGnetBASE — ELECTRONIC
Full-text of over 75 engineering handbooks online.
best resourceKnovel — ELECTRONIC
Online engineering reference with interactive graphs and equations, tables, and other useful information.
Referex Engineering — ELECTRONIC
A collection of over 300 engineering eBooks in 3 distinct collections, including Chemical, Petrochemical & Process.

 

Key Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Databases

ACS Journals Online (American Chemical Society) — WWW
The American Chemical Society site contains full text articles for the journals published by American Chemical Society. The Division’s comprehensive collection includes more than 30 journals and magazines (including 5 copublished with other scientific societies).
best resourceCBNB and Chimica– ELECTRONIC
Chemical Business NewsBase (CBNB) is the leading provider of global chemical business news and information. Search for facts, figures, views, and comments on the chemical industry worldwide, from 1985 to the present. Chimica provides access to hundreds of the most influential international journals focused on chemistry and chemical engineering, with emphasis on applied and analytical chemistry, extending to physical chemistry, health and safety, organic and inorganic chemistry, and materials science.
ChemRate — WWW
ChemRate is a program that contains databases containing experimental results on unimolecular reactions, information pertaining to transition state and molecular structures necessary for the calculation of high pressure rate constants and thermal functions respectively. It contains a master equation solver so that rate constants for unimolecular reactions in the energy transfer region and chemical activation processes under steady and non-steady state conditions can be determined on the basis of RRKM theory.
Materials Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) — WWW
Vermont SIRI (Safety Information Resources, Inc.) provides access to the MSDS Archive of information about chemicals, and links to many new MSDS archives provided by manufacturers concerned about the safe use of their products. Also searchable is information about chemical toxicity.
best resourceSciFinder Scholar — ELECTRONIC
This is the premier source for finding chemical literature, substance, and reaction information. It provides a search interface for access to Chemical Abstracts online. Chemical Abstracts covers the published scientific research in chemistry, and offers searching by author name, research topic, substance identifier, chemical structure, or chemical reaction. 

 

 

 


 

Key Engineering Databases

best resourceEngineering Village — ELECTRONIC
The combined Compendex®, Ei Backfile & Inspec® databases allow for searching on a broad range of topics within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines. It also covers engineering websites, CRC Handbooks, patents, and industry standards.
Science Direct — ELECTRONIC
ScienceDirect is a search platform which provides access to more than 1000 full-text journals in a wide range of subject areas. Check out the Chemistry and Chemical Engineering subject areas from their homepage.
Web of Science — ELECTRONIC
The Library’s premier journal article database, covering more than 8,000 international journals in the sciences, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. It is unique in that it provides searching by locating articles that cite other articles or authors.
best resourceFor the full list of engineering-related databases subscribed to by Drexel University Libraries, please see our Databases/Article Indexes For Engineering.

 

Key Industry Databases

This is not a complete list of relevant databases; check the Research an Industry guide for further resources. Pay particular attention to the explanation of SIC and NAICS codes at the beginning of the guide. If you need more information about a specific company, try our Research a Company guide.
Business and Industry Database — ELECTRONIC
A multi-industry, international database that provides access to company, industry, market, and product information. Provides important features such as ability to limit by Industry (Eg. Chemical) and by Concept term Market Share and Market Size. To find industry overviews using this database, use the Concept Term menu to choose Industry Forecasts or Industry Overview. You may also want to use the Industry menu to select an industry.
best resourceTablebase — ELECTRONIC
Tablebase is a user-friendly database containing tables and text pulled from over 1000 publications. Along with simple keyword searching, you can also limit searches by choosing from lists of concept terms, marketing terms, countries, industries, and document types. A sister product to Business & Industry, this database is great for market share information and rankings within a particular industry.
best resourceIBIS World– ELECTRONIC
IBISWorld offers industry reports covering over 700 US industries (at the 5-digit NAICS level) and provide key statistics, market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, and industry outlook. You can search by NAICS code or by keyword. It’s very easy to browse report titles as well.
best resourceProquest — ELECTRONIC
Proquest databases contain selected full-text content. The following databases, available through Proquest, provide important information on chemical industries:
ABI/INFORM Dateline
ABI/INFORM Global
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
Business Source Premier — ELECTRONIC
This database offer indexes to 3,800 scholarly business journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business including full text for nearly 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications

 

Resources for Pricing Chemicals

For news articles about trends in chemical pricing, try the guided news searches in either Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe or Factiva. — ELECTRONIC
best resourceICIS Indicative Chemical Prices for students — WWW
This broad list of chemical prices is taken from the 28 August 2006 issue of Chemical Market Reporter (now rebranded and incorporated into ICIS Chemical Business). The list consists of static price indications from that issue.
Advance Scientific & Chemicals, Inc. — WWW
Search for chemicals and laboratory supplies. Try the advanced search feature.
Science Lab — WWW
Search for pricing on chemicals and lab equipment. The wide range of products includes chemicals and reagents, pH meters, laboratory scales, refractometers, microscopes, laboratory glassware and many other scientific supplies.
Fisher Scientific — WWW
Supplies for scientific research, laboratory testing and life science research — the latest equipment and instrumentation, finest chemicals and highest-quality supplies.
Sigma Aldrich — WWW
Supply products in the areas of analytical chemistry and chromatography, life sciences, chemistry and materials science.

 

Resources for Patent Searching

best resourceUnited States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) — WWW
The USPTO offers web access to bibliographic and full-text patent databases. These databases provide full-text of patents from 1976 to the present and full page images from 1790 to the present.
Fresh Patents — WWW
Provides access to the latest published US patent applications each week BEFORE the USPTO decision to grant/deny.
pat2pdf.org — WWW
Given a patent number, pat2pdf.org will return a free, pdf formated version of the patent. This is generally easier than using the USPTO patent viewer plug-in.

 

Reference Books

best resourcePerry’s Chemical Engineers’ Handbook — ELECTRONIC & PRINT
Hagerty Reference TP151 .P45 7th ed. 1997
This new seventh edition of the world-famous classic provides you with unrivaled, state-of-the art coverage of all aspects of chemical engineering, from the fundamentals to details on computer applications and control. Definitive reference for chemical and process engineers.
Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing and Design — PRINT
Hagerty Reference TP9 .E66 v. 1-67
A print encyclopedia (67 volumes!) with extensive coverage of all aspects of chemical manufacturing and processing.
best resourceKirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology — ELECTRONIC & PRINT
Hagerty Reference TP9 .E685 1992 v. 1-3
This Encyclopedia brings together and treats systematically facts on the properties, manufacturing, and uses of chemicals and materials, processes, and engineering principles, coupled with insights into current research, emerging technologies and economic aspects. Environmental and health concerns are also addressed.
best resourceUllmann’s Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry — ELECTRONIC
Ullmann’s Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry is a state-of-the-art reference work detailing the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry. Search by the name of the chemical for which production and manufacturing information is needed.

Copyright © 2012 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Wordpress Wordpress icon