Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About Drexel University

Fundamentals of Engineering Research

  1. Introduction
  2. Finding Books
  3. Finding Electronic Books
  4. Reference Books
  5. Finding Articles
  6. Finding Patents
  7. Finding Engineering Standards
  8. Finding Technical Reports

 

Introduction

This guide is intended to provide a general introduction to the key information resources which are useful for all engineers. Please see the research guide for your specialty to find subject-specific resources and useful keywords related to your field.
Deciphering Citations
You found an interesting citation, but what does it mean? This guide will help you decipher the general types of citations.
Finding Full-Text from Citations
You found an interesting citation, but where’s the article? This guide will help you navigate to the full-text online.
Building a Bibliography
RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management tool. It can help you organize citations for the books, journal articles, web sites, etc. that you find while doing research. Best of all, it can generate a properly formatted bibliography for your papers. This site guides you through the process of setting up a RefWorks account and getting started with this great tool. Highly recommended.

 

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on engineering:
Try a keyword search: architectural engineering
chemical properties
Try a subject search: Nanotechnology
Distillation
Include the type of book you are looking for: electrical engineering AND encyclopedia
construction AND standards
Use truncation for more results: chemi* retrieves…
chemistry, chemist, chemical, chemically, etc.

 

Finding Electronic Books

best resourceENGnetBASE — ELECTRONIC
Full-text of over 1000 engineering handbooks online, covering all disciplines
best resourceKnovel — ELECTRONIC
Online engineering reference with almost 2,000 reference materials, interactive graphs and equations, tables, and other useful information.
 

Explore Knovel’s Basic Search Features Here.

Referex Engineering — ELECTRONIC
A collection of over 300 engineering eBooks in 3 distinct collections, including Chemical, Petrochemical & Process, Electronics & Electrical, and Materials & Mechanical.
ebrary and NetLibrary — ELECTRONIC
Two extensive electronic book collections that cover many disciplines.
best resourceFor the full list of electronic books subscribed to by Drexel University Libraries, please see Electronic Books.

 

Reference

best resourceAccess Science — ELECTRONIC
Full access to 7100+ articles, 115,000 dictionary terms, and hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and technology updated daily. Also includes over 2000 biographies of leading scientists, weekly updates of breakthroughs and discoveries in science and technology, a science dictionary, and links to related websites. 

Explore Access Science Search Features Here.

The Pocket Illustrated Dictionary of Engineering Terms — ELECTRONIC & PRINT Hagerty Reference TA9 .T56 2001 see catalog
Covers the areas of engineering science, electrical and electronic engineering, workshop practices and mechanical engineering
Engineering Mathematics Handbook — PRINT
Hagerty Reference TA332 .T85 1998
Designed to provide engineers with quick-access mathematical formulas for their specialties.
best resourceThe Engineering Handbook — ELECTRONIC & PRINT
Hagerty Reference TA151 .E424 2005 see catalog
This book contains many engineering needs, including definitions of engineering terms, solutions to common problems, rules-of-thumb, tables and equations, and references to other engineering sources.
best resourceMcGraw-Hill’s Engineering Companion — ELECTRONIC
Here are the tables, formulas, charts, diagrams, figures, key methods and worked-out problems engineers in design, product development, operation, production, analysis, and economic evaluation must have for successful day-to-day problem solving.

 

Finding Articles

best resourceEngineering Village
Engineering Village is the premier tool for searching engineering literature. It provides a combined interface for searching  Ei Compindex and Inspec databases.
IEEE Xplore — ELECTRONIC
Provides full-text access to all IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards.
best resourceProquest Research Library – ELECTRONIC
Provides searching platform for a number of periodical databases covering Business, Science, Technology, Humanities and Social Sciences. While Proquest is not an engineering-specific database, its extensive holdings and convenient interface make it a very useful tool for engineering research.
Science Direct — ELECTRONIC
ScienceDirect is a search platform which provides access to more than 1000 full-text journals in a wide range of subject areas. Check out the Engineering subject area from their homepage.
Web of Science — ELECTRONIC
The Library’s premier journal article database, covering more than 8,000 international journals in the sciences, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. It is unique in that it provides searching by locating articles that cite other articles or authors.
best resourceFor the full list of engineering-related databases subscribed to by Drexel University Libraries, please see our Databases/Article Indexes For Engineering.

 

Finding Patents

United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) — WWW
The USPTO offers web access to bibliographic and full-text patent databases. These databases provide full-text of patents from 1976 to the present and full page images from 1790 to the present.
Fresh Patents — WWW
Provides access to the latest published US patent applications each week BEFORE the USPTO decision to grant/deny.
best resourceGoogle Patent — WWW
Google’s excellent patent search interface.
pat2pdf.org – WWW
Given a patent number, pat2pdf.org will return a free, pdf formated version of the patent. This is generally easier than using the USPTO patent viewer plug-in.
best resourceFor more extensive listings of resources, please see our Patents guide.

 

Finding Engineering Standards

ILI Standards Infobase — ELECTRONIC

The ILI standards database covers over 600,000 worldwide standards. Coverage extends across the industrialized world.
List of Standards covered in ILI Standards Infobase

Please contact Engineering Librarians for access to the standards available in ILI Standards Infobase.

 

 

 

 

 

Techstreet — WWW ($)
Techstreet offers individual, text-searchable standards from around the world. Downloadable PDF formated versions of the standards are available for purchase.
best resourceFor more extensive listings of resources, please see our Standards guide.

 

Finding Technical Reports

NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS) — WWW
Allows users to search the many different abstract and technical report servers maintained by various NASA centers and programs. NTRS includes access to the full-text of recent reports.
best resourceOffice of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) — WWW
The US Department of Energy’s OSTI service allows searching across vast collections of technical reports, conference proceedings, and other “gray literature”.
Virtual Technical Reports Center – University of Maryland — WWW
Institutions listed here provide either full-text reports, or searchable extended abstracts of their technical reports on the World Wide Web. This site contains links to technical reports, preprints, reprints, dissertations, theses, and research reports of all kinds.
best resourceFor more extensive listings of resources, please see our Technical Reports guide.

Copyright © 2012 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Wordpress Wordpress icon