Drexel University Libraries
home home catalog resources study guides services about the libraries
Drexel University Libraries
                 
 
Film and Video

Finding Books Statistics
Finding Articles Scripts
DVDs and Videos Additional Information
Directories Selected Web Sources

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on film and TV:
Try a keyword search: Film AND Hitchcock
Try a subject search: Motion Pictures
Browse the stacks:

Cinematography TR 850
Film Criticism PN 1994
History of Film PN 1993.5
Motion Pictures PN 1995
Westerns PN 1995, 1998


Finding Articles

Art Full Text — ELECTRONIC
Full Text from is from 1997 on. Indexing begins from 1984. This database is especially useful for film reviews. To locate these, type the TITLE of the film in ALL - SMART SEARCH and for DOCUMENT TYPE select Film Review.
best resource International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA) — ELECTRONIC
Provides indexing, abstracts and some full text from souces including dance, film, drama, television, the arts and entertainment industry, stagecraft, magic, musical theatre and performance art. Besides film reviews, IIPA is good for finding biographies and critical essays.
best resource Film Literature Index — WWW
The Film Literature Index annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly and critical to the popular. This is a classic resource for film research that was made freely available on the Web in Fall 2005.
Proquest — ELECTRONIC
Proquest contains articles from film publications such as Film & History, Film Comment, Film Quarterly, The Independent Film and & Video Monthly, Journal of Popular Film and Television, Variety, Entertainment Weekly. Many other titles are also available: Proquest carries more than 3,000 titles covering all subject areas.
best resource Variety — ELECTRONIC
Offers the full text of every current article in Daily Variety and Variety, as well as research tools like a searchable credits database, a global showbiz events calendar, interactive box office charts, classifieds, video clips, extended event photo coverage and more. Select FILM from the tab at the top to access daily news.

DVDs and Videos

Drexel University Libraries is expanding its film collection. You can search for a particular film by title in our catalog. Students can borrow DVDs and VHS tapes for 2 days; faculty may borrow them for 14 days.

Directories

best resource Hollywood Creative Directories — ELECTRONIC
An online directory providing contact information for producers, studio and network executives, as well as agents and managers.
best resource International Motion Picture Almanac — PRINT
Published annually. Directories of companies, theatres, etc. Also includes statistics. Most recent year is in the REFERENCE collection on the first floor of Hagerty Library. Call Number: PN1993.3 .I55
Marquis Who’s Who — ELECTRONIC
A searchable online database, features comprehensive profiles on over 1 million of the most accomplished individuals from all fields of endeavor, including arts and entertainment.

Statistics

best resource International Motion Picture Almanac — PRINT
Published annually. Includes statistics and overviews of the year, as well as an overview of previous years. Also includes directories. Most recent year is in the REFERENCE stacks on the first floor. Call Number: PN1993.3 .I55
American Audiences on Movies and Moviegoing — PRINT
PN 1995.9 A8 S73 2001 (second floor, Hagerty Library)
best resource Cinemas & Movie Theaters - US - September 2005 — ELECTRONIC
Report from Mintel Reports. Includes the market size and trends. To access this report, you are required to set up an account with Mintel first, using your Drexel email address. It’s very quick! Log in to Mintel Reports from our Databases by Title page, or here: http://www.library.drexel.edu/cgi-bin/r.cgi?url=http://reports.mintel.com. Once accepting their licensing agreement, you will need to create your username (Drexel email address) and password, and then you’re in. SEARCH the reports for MOVIES to locate this particular report.

Scripts

The library collects scripts from various publishers. You can see the ones that we currently have under the LC Subject Heading of Motion picture plays. This list is growing, so check back for new additions.

Additional Film and Video Information

Film and Video Resource Tip Sheet — ELECTRONIC
This .pdf file provides more detailed information on how to access and use library resources. It also contains information regarding print and electronic journal subscriptions.

Selected Web Sources

Details about Specific Films
All-Movie Guide
IMDB (Internet Movie Database)
Organizations, Institutes, and Associations
Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences
American Film Institute
British Film Insititute
Broadcast Film Critics Association
International Documentary Association
National Film Preservation Board (Library of Congress)
Society for Cinema Studies
Festivals
Cannes
Montreal
New York
Philadelphia
Sundance
Toronto

Debate Watch Party
10/10/08
Come out on Wednesday, October 15 from 7:30-11:00 p.m. in the Bossone >>>

Quick Search