Drexel University Libraries
home home catalog resources study guides services about the libraries
Drexel University Libraries
                 
 
Human-Computer Interaction

Definition of HCI

“HCI in the large is an interdisciplinary area. It is emerging as a specialty concern within several disciplines, each with different emphases: computer science (application design and engineering of human interfaces), psychology (the application of theories of cognitive processes and the empirical analysis of user behavior), sociology and anthropology (interactions between technology, work, and organization), and industrial design (interactive products).”

From “Definition of HCI” from Chapter 2 of ACM SIGCHI Curricula for Human-Computer Interaction, available online at http://sigchi.org/cdg/cdg2.html.

Finding Books Handbooks & Encyclopedias
Finding Articles Selected Web Resources

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books:

Electronic Books:
The Library subscribes to several collections of electronic books (e-books) that you can open in full text, right in your browser. E- books are listed individually our catalog; however, you can also browse or search across the full-text of their entire holdings through the following links. Some of the best collections for HCI are:

  • Books 24×7 - covering over 90 technology topics.
  • ebrary: Our largest multidisciplinary collection, will prompt new users to do a one-time download of the free “ebrary Reader” (an Acrobat plug-in).
  • EngNetBase: Over 75 CRC Handbooks (practictioner-oriented compilations) for engineers. Useful keywords may include human factors engineering, cybernetics, human performance engineering and human machine systems.
  • Safari Tech Books: Detailed technical manuals from major technology publishers including O’Reilly, Microsoft Press, Addison Wesley, Cisco, and Peachpit Press.

Try a keyword search: Search Links
Try browsing the stacks by Library of Congress (LC) Call Number or Subjects:

QA76.9 .H85 human computer interaction
QA76.9 .U83 user interfaces (computer systems)

TIP: Books with the LOCATION of “HAGERTY BOOKS” are on the 2nd floor and available for checkout [map]

Finding Articles

General, Multi-Disciplinary Databases:

ScienceDirect — ELECTRONIC
A giant database from the publishing giant Elsevier with many relevant journals.

Web of Science — ELECTRONIC
a comprehensive abstract-only databases, permits citation searches to identify new works that cite an older work or author. TIP: sort search results by the number of citations to find most important works. Then use SFX links to find full text of articles.

Computer Science, Engineering, and Systems Databases:

Engineering Village 2 — ELECTRONIC
Searches Ei Compendex and Ei Inspec and covers engineering websites, CRC Handbooks, patents, and industry standards.

best resource ACM Digital Library & The Guide to Computing Literature — ELECTRONIC
The ACM Digital Library includes full-text of articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings. The Guide to Computing Literature exhaustively indexes the computing literature outside ACM (Association for Computing Machinery).
IEEE Xplore — ELECTRONIC
Provides full-text access to all IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards.

Psychology and Education Databases:

PsycINFO — ELECTRONIC
This key psychology database contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters dealing with psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. (TIP: visit the special guide Searching PsycINFO for Ergonomic Topics for ergonomics topics )

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) — ELECTRONIC
This vast database indexes education-related journal articles and a wealth of other resources, and may be especially useful if you are researching education and learning-related topics.
Selected Journals — ELECTRONIC
Here are a few journals related to Human-Computer Interaction. Check the catalog for their availability through Drexel Libraries


Handbooks & Encyclopedias

best resource Berkshire encyclopedia of human-computer interaction (2004) — ELECTRONIC
Most current - with extra cool “concept map” interface.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences — ELECTRONIC — PRINT
Great general 26 volume print & e-resource from Elsevier. But for some wierd reason they recently removed the “search this title” feature and now searches run against all El Sevier content instead. Recommendation: use the “browse article titles” feature to - see entries on “Human Cognition” “Human Computer Interface” or Human Computer Interaction.”
Ref H41 .I58 2001
best resource Handbook of human factors testing and evaluation (2002) — ELECTRONIC — PRINT
Both print & e-resource versions from top publisher in field - Lawrence Erlbaum.
TA166 .H276 2002
Wiley Encyclopedia of Electrical and Electronics Engineering – ELECTRONIC

Selected Web Resources

General:

ACM SIGCHI Web Site
HCI Bibliography Web Site

Organizations:

ACM SIGCHI: Special Interest Group on Computer-Human Interaction
HFES: Human Factors and Ergonomics Society
IEEE Systems, Man, and Cybernetics Society
PhillyCHI: Philadelphia Region’s Chapter of ACM SIGCHI
UPA: Usability Professionals’ Association

Laboratories:

Carnegie Mellon University Human-Computer Interaction Institute
IBM Almaden User System Ergonomics Research Group
Microsoft Human-Computer Interaction Research
MIT Media Laboratory
NASA AMES Human Factors Research and Technology
University of Maryland Human-Computer Interaction Laboratory
Miscellaneous Laboratory Lists

Conferences:

Assets: ACM SIGACCESS Conference Series
Annual SIGCHI Conference: Human Factors in Computing Systems
HFES: Human Factors and Ergonomics Society Annual Meeting
IUI: International Conference on Intelligent User Interfaces
UIST: Symposium on User Interface Software and Technology

Miscellaneous Conference Lists and Schedules:

http://www.hcibib.org/confer.html
http://degraaff.org/hci/conference.htm


iSchoolResearch

“Books 24×7″ - New Info Tech Ebooks
8/25/08 - Craving some late-night MySQL? This latest batch ranges >>>


GoodwinResearch

“Ecoffee Table” - EZ access to popular magazines
8/25/08 - Do you ever need a brain vacation between >>>


Quick Search