The use of PDAs (Personal Digital Assistants) goes well beyond basic calendaring. Health care professionals are using these devices in educational and clinical settings to track patient information, download web content, access databases, and utilize helper tools along with a myriad of other software. The following are selected links to PDA resources.
- Legend -
demo = trial available
free = freeware
share = shareware
|
General Resources:
Subject Specialties:
Drexel Licensed PDA Resources:
AccessMedicine
A medical education resource consisting of a large variety of current established textbooks; allows searching across multiple AccessMedicine publications. AccessMedicine allows users to create a personal login that will permit them to download information to their PDAs.
FirstConsult on PDA
This application provides information on over 20,000 disease-specific topics, presented in a consistently ordered, rapidly accessible format. It includes differential diagnoses, medical topics, patient education, and information about procedures.
NursingConsult (Pocket Consult)
Mosby's Nursing Consult brings together several leading nursing resources to help nurses efficiently find answers to pressing clinical questions. It includes the Latest Drug Information, Patient Education Information, Professional Journals, Reference Books, Current News, Clinical Practice Information, Evidence-based Content, and Care Planning Tools. NursingConsult allows users to create a personal login that will permit them to download information to their PDAs.
Frequently Asked Questions & Overviews:
Computing.Net's PDAs FAQ section
EDUCAUSE's Handheld & Mobile Computing Section
PC World's - How to Buy PDA
General Health Sciences Resources:
Adobe Reader (Palm) OR (Pocket PC) (free)
This tool allows users to view PDF documents on smaller screens.
Archimedes (free)
This is a specialty calculator that provides pre-programmed formulas in cardiology, pharmacology, hematology, pediatrics, and pulmonary and renal function. (Pocket PC only)
Diagnosaurus (free)
This resource is a differential diagnosis tool, derived from the latest edition of Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment.
Epocrates RX (free)
This tool provides drug and prescription information, including interactions, dosing, adverse reactions, and pricing.
HandyRef (free)
A general reference resource for medical professionals, this product provides a wealth of handy information, including narcotic dose equivalencies, insulin sliding scales, the Mini-Mental Status Exam, the Glasgow Coma Scale, and antibiotics selection. (Pocket PC only)
ICD Browser (free)
This browser searches the ICD codes World Health Organization. It will either display the codes together into a treebox or separate them into chapters, sections, and subsections. (Pocket PC only)
InfoRetriever (demo)
A database system of filtered, synopsized, evidence-based information, this product features an integrated search engine that allows users to search using keywords across multiple resources.
MD on Tap (free)
A National Library of Medicine project, MD on Tap is an application that retrieves MEDLINE citations directly from the PDA through a wireless connection to the Internet. Its features include an auto-spellcheck option, search limit options, history of previous queries, and link-out to full-text websites.
MedCalc (free)
This is a medical calculator for handheld devices. It is designed for rapid calculation of common equations used in clinical medicine (including anesthesiology, pediatrics, emergency, intensive care, and internal medicine).
Medical Dictionary (free)
This site provides clear explanations of 5,100 medical terms. (Pocket PC only)
Medical Mnemonics (free)
This is an interesting, searchable database of medical mnemonics that are useful in remembering important details.
(Palm only)
NCBI Handheld Bookshelf (free)
NCBI presents a small collection of full-text books available in PDA format.
Pocket Consult (free)
This application delivers point-of-care materials, such as health care news, drug updates, and calculators.
PDR.Net (free)
This download from the PDR website has drug information and interaction tools, medical calculators, a disease database, and more. Users must register first with the PDR website before they can access the free download.
PubMed for Handhelds (free)
From the National Library of Medicine, this is a website for searching MEDLINE with the web browser on any mobile device.
Health News:
ARTBeat (free)
This application delivers breaking medical and drug news and information from the CDC, FDA, NLM, and other sources directly to a PDA. (Pocket PC only)
AvantGo (free)
A free mobile content service for smartphones and PDAs, this product allows synchronization of mobile versions of favorite websites to a PDA. It offers thousands of channels from the leading brands in news, weather, sports and more. It can also be used to "sync" any website (family site, workout schedule, etc.) to a device.
Subject Specialties:
Anesthesiology:
AetherPalm (free)
This site presents a collection of anesthesia resources. (Palm only)
Gainesville Anesthesia PDA Software (GAPS) (free)
For the Palm and Pocket PC, this tool provides point-of-care information for the perioperative evaluation of patients with, or at risk for, cardiovascular disease.
Cardiology:
ActiveECG (free)
This program demonstrates thirteen different rhythms, the majority of them arrhythmic. (Palm only)
Handy Heart (free)
The tool includes utilities covering lipid mangement, hypertension, and cardiovascular medications. (Pocket PC only)
PalmEKG
This tool is an arrhythmia field guide designed for the PDA. (Palm only)
STAT A-Fib Stroke Risk (free)
Use this site to calculate an individual's 5-year risk for stroke, based on the Framingham Heart Study.
STAT Cardiac Clearance (free)
This application guides clinicians through the algorithms established by the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Task Force on Practice Guidelines and the American College of Physicians for evaluating patients prior to noncardiac surgery.
STAT Hypertension (free)
The Seventh Report of the Joint National Comittee on Prevention, Detection, Evaluation and Treatment of High Blood Pressure (May 2003) provides guidelines for clinicians. Also included are drug data and information on numerous clinical topics.
Complementary and Alternative Medicine:
Alticopeia? Herbal Medicine Database (free)
Alticopeia? is a database of herbal medicine and dietary supplements. It includes data such as herb/supplement name, other names, scientific/Latin name, uses, scientific information, findings of the German Commission E (a panel which reviewed many of the herbs), cautions, usual daily doses, and references.
Consumer Health:
4T Medical (free)
This provides a
database application for tracking personal medical information. Entries allow inclusion of name, category (personal or family), and vital information, including date of birth and disease, surgical, and family history, etc.
BloodPressMgr (free)
This application tracks blood pressure readings graphically, and shows average statistics and weekly distributions.
GlucoControl (free)
This tool aims to make the managing of diabetes easier and more accurate. (Palm only)
Nutricalc (free)
A tool for people who want to eat healthily, this provides nutritional values, calculations, and a way for keeping a running total of consumption. (Pocket PC only)
ProfileMD Classic (free)
This site aids in the construction of a personal health record available on a PDA, providing instant access to one's medical history and that of one's family. (Palm only)
Quit Smoking: Consumer Interactive Tool (free)
This program is a PDA tool that helps consumers prepare to quit smoking. Included is a 5-day countdown to a quit date that can be inserted into a calendar, as well as other helpful resources.
SI Diary (free)
Here is a program for managing and analyzing one's diabetes data. Track blood glucose levels, carbs, insulin, pills ketones, blood pressure, notes, etc. for the whole day on just a single screen. The tool recommends a bolus dose for one's individual coefficients and gives graphical feedback and several statistical parameters. (Pocket PC only)
Emergency Medicine:
911 (free)
This resource incorporates content from Outlines in Clinical Medicine/Medical Emergencies (OCM/911), The Medical Letter, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) to provide medical professionals with the latest information on SARS and other potentially rapidly-spreading diseases, including bio-terrorism agents. (Pocket PC only)
Disaster and Trauma E-Book (free)
This reference includes nearly 2,000 pages of the most current information on trauma, terrorism, and biochemical and radiologic warfare.
Glasgow Coma Scale (free)
The Glasgow Coma Scale, which evaluates brain injuries, is provided here.
ResQShop (free)
Originally developed for the flight paramedic, this site now includes tools for use in the ICU and ED as well.
Wireless Information Sheets for Emergency Responders (WISER) (free)
WISER is a system designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents. It provides information on hazardous substances, including substance idenfication support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice.
Endocrinology/Metabolism:
American Diabetes Association Clinical Practice Recommendations (free) Developed by the American Diabetes Association, this 2006 tool is now available as a PDA file. (Palm only)
Lytemeister (free)
LyteMeister is an electrolyte and acid-base management tool designed for medical students, residents, and physicians.
Geriatrics:
Geriatrics At Your Fingertips (free for AGS student members)
A PDA version of the 2005 Geriatrics at Your Fingertips, this clinical geriatrics reference is available for download to a Palm or PocketPC.
Infectious Disease:
AIDSinfo Guidelines (free)
From the AIDSinfo service, this site presents guidelines for the management of HIV infection and issues surrounding HIV infection.
AIDSinfo Glossary (free)
From the AIDSinfo service, this site provides definitions of HIV/AIDS-related terms; search for a term or view listings by category. (Palm only)
CDC STD Treatment Guidelines (free)
This site provides the CDC Sexually Transmitted Diseases Treatment Guidelines, with bookmarks and hyperlinks to facilitate browsing (Palm only)
Treatment of Tuberculosis Guidelines (free)
From the CDC, this site offeris a practical point-of-care tool on the treatment of tuberculosis for download. (Palm only)
Medicine:
American Diabetes Association Clinical Practice Recommendations (free) Developed by the American Diabetes Association, this 2006 tool is now available as a PDA file. (Palm only)
Asthma Treatment Guidelines (free)
From the NHLBI and NAEPP, this is a succinct point-of-care reference dealing with the treatment of asthma. (Palm only)
AsthmaMeister (free)
A comprehensive guide to the diagnosis and management of asthma, this e-book contains more than 170 pages of information woven together with hyperlinks. (Palm only)
ATP III Cholesterol Management Implementation Tool (free)
This interactive guideline tool can assist clinicians in implementing the ATP III Cholesterol Guidelines at the point of care. (Palm only)
Depression PHQ-9 Score (free)
The Patient Health Questionnaire contains a brief, 9-item, patient self-report depression assessment specifically developed for use in primary care (PHQ-9). The PHQ-9 is useful as an assessment tool for the diagnosis of depression in primary care with acceptable reliability, validity, sensitivity, and specificity. (Beta test)
Electronic Preventive Services Selector (free)
This PDA application and online guide identifies clinical preventive services for screening, counseling, and preventive medication based on the patient's age, sex, and pregnancy status. Based on recommendations of the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, it can be used as a clinical tool for delivering appropriate services.
GRACE ACS Risk Model (free)
This calculator application predicts the likelihood of death based on a GRACE risk model. It incorporates the following variables: age; CHF; heart rate; systolic BP; serum creatinine; cardiac arrest at admission; ST-segment deviation; elevated cardiac enzymes.
HIPAA On Hand (free)
HIPAA on HAND contains the Regulation Text Only of the HIPAA Regulations & Standards, transcribed from: The Office for Civil Rights website on Medical Privacy - National Standards to Protect the Privacy of Personal Health Information.
Immunizations & Vaccinations Calendar (free)
This tool provides vaccination information, including travel recommendations, innoculation schedules, and pet vaccination requirements. (Pocket PC only)
Joint National Committee Report on Prevention, Detection, Evaluation, and Treatment of High Blood Pressure (JN7) (free)
This interactive guideline tool can assist clinicians in implementing the JNC 7 High Blood Pressure Guidelines at the point of care.
LabCode (demo)
LabCode is a tool for rapid determination of correct diagnosis codes when ordering lab tests to comply with Medicare requirements. (Palm only)
MedFormulas (free)
This application comes with a number of standard formulas that are ready for use, as well as allows for the creation of customized formulas.
Medical Eponyms (free)
This site presents a list of 1,580 common and obscure medical eponyms (e.g., Rovsing's sign, Virchow's node) with descriptions.
MedMath (free)
This tool
permits calculation of common formulas in adult internal medicine; formulas are sorted by category, with selectable units and an onscreen numeric keypad. (Palm only)
National Guideline Clearinghouse Summaries (free)
All National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC) Guideline Summaries are available in a downloadable format downloadable. (Palm only)
Obesity Education Initiative (OEI) Treatment Guidelines Implementation Tool (free)
This tool's interactive design allows users to generate individualized and evidence-based assessment and treatment recommendations for treating overweight and obesity, according to Clinical Guidelines on Overweight and Obesity in Adults.
Pneumonia Severity Index Calculator (free)
This is an interactive tool to assist clinicians in determining the most appropriate care for newly diagnosed cases of community-acquired pneumonia) at the point of care.
Shots 2007 (free)
From the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP), the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), and the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP), etc., this is a quick reference guide to the 2006 Childhood Immunization Schedule. Details on each vaccine areavailable by clicking on the vaccine names. Also includes information from the 2005-2006 Adult Immunization Schedule.
STAT Cholesterol (free)
This application guides clinicians through the new ATP III cholesterol guidelines. It calculates absolute risk of MI using the point method outlined in the ATP III Executive Summary, and includes calculation of risk for any symptomatic coronary heart disease using the 1998 Framingham method.
Musculoskeletal System/Orthopedics:
Neurology/Neurosurgery:
CCT Neuro (free)
This application assists in the identification of neurological injury and presents treatment recommendations suggested by Covenant Medical Center's neurosurgical division. (Palm only)
Nursing: (For additional resources: see other subject specialties)
Nursing Calculators (free)
This application includes dosage recommendations, IV rates, infusion times, and other clinical calculators. (Pocket PC only)
Nutrition:
Guide to Healthy Living in the 21st Century (free)
This is directed toward health care providers to assist them in the education of their patients. It includes diet, exercise, and stress management advice.
Nutricalc (free)
This tool calculates metabolic needs as well as the number and distribution of calories provided by intravenous and enteral routes. (Palm only)
USDA Nutrition Calculator (free)
This calculator provides nutrition information (values and weights) for many food items.
Obstetrics and Gynecology:
My OB Wheel (free)
My OB Wheel is a pregnancy wheel, allowing the user to calculate gestational age, due date, etc. (Palm only)
PregCalcPro (demo)
This tool
allows the clinician to chart pregnancies with a variety of available date and measurement calculations.
Oncology:
BreastCA (free)
BreastCA is a breast cancer risk prediction tool that
implements two commonly-used models of breast cancer risk prediction: the Gail and Claus models. (Palm only)
BreastSurgeon PPC (free)
A reference for surgery residents and primary care MDs, PAs, and others, this application utilizes bookmarks for fast navigation of information about the diagnosis, staging, treatment and complications of breast cancer. Incidences, predictive values of tests, and survival rates are also included. (Pocket PC only)
C Tools (free)
Here is a PDA tool that offers quick access to the most recent cancer information from the American Cancer Society.
Ophthalmology:
EyeOP (demo)
EyeOP is a glaucoma reference program for eye care professionals.
Patient Management:
Handy Patients (free)
This tool allows users to record medical information about patients. (Pocket PC only)
My Procedures (free)
This software allows medical professionals to keep track of procedures which can be emailed or printed. (Pocket PC only)
Pocket Practitioner (demo)
This is a patient tracking tool for inpatient or outpatient settings. (Palm only)
Stat CPT Coder (demo)
This reference covers surgical, radiological, and anesthesia codes. (Palm only)
Stat E&M Coder (demo)
This interactive template simplifies and enables Evaluation & Management (E&M) coding. (Palm only)
Stat ICD 9 Coder (demo)
This tool includes 1500+ ICD diagnosis codes. (Palm only)
Pediatrics:
Immunizations (free)
From the CDC, this website offers recomendations for pediatric immunizations in an easy to read format. (Pocket PC only)
PALS 2006 (free)
PALS is a Pediatric Advanced Life Support algorithm. Its features include a section on toxins and seizure treatment, and calculates medical dosages. (Pocket PC only)
Pediatric Drug Doses (free)
This resource includes a series of formulas for calculating pediatric dosages of commonly used drugs. (Palm only)
Peds Omnibus (free)
This tool calculates pediatric medication doses, NICU daily values, etc.; it also tracks patients, lists developmental milestones, and provides growth charts and immunization schedules. (Palm only)
PICU Tools (free)
This tool is a collection of databases and calculators for use in the Pediatric Intensive Care Unit. (Palm only)
RxCalc (share)
This program calculates pediatric medication doses. (Palm only)
Shots 2007 (free)
From the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP), the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), and the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP), etc., this is a quick reference guide to the 2006 Childhood Immunization Schedule. Details on each vaccine are available by clicking on the vaccine names. Also includes information from the 2005-2006 Adult Immunization Schedule.
Stat Growth BP (free)
Calculate accurate growth percentiles and Z scores using the latest CDC Growth Charts for the United States; also included are Body Mass Index-for-Age charts. (Palm only)
Pharmacology:
Antibotic (ABX) Guide (free)
The Johns Hopkins POC-IT (Point of Care Information Technology) Antibiotic (ABX) Guide is a handheld-ready adaptation of the online ABX Guide. It is optimized for use at the point of care. (Palm only)
ClinRX (free)
ClinRx is a creatinine clearance and kinetics calculator for vancomycin and aminoglycoside dosing for adult and pediatric patients.
Drips (free)
Drips calculates IV doses for drugs. (Palm only)
Epocrates RX (free)
This tool includes more than 3,300 brand and generic drug monographs, searchable by name or class.
PainSTAT (share)
This pain medication conversion calculator
provides rapid calculation of suggested dose conversions for opioid pain medications. Intended for prescribing clinician use only. *Scroll down the page to find the download link. (Palm only)
Psychiatry:
MentStat (free)
MentStat presents the Mini Mental Staus Exam, allowing administering and scoring the standard MMSE on a single screen of your PDA. *Scroll down the page to find the download link. (Palm only)
Mood Disorder Questionaire (MDQ) (free)
The questionnaire is a screening tool for identifying patients with bipolar disorder.
Public Health:
Bioterrorism Fact Sheets (free)
From the Institute for Biosecurity, St. Louis University School of Public Health, this site presents a number of fact sheets on bioterrorism topics- e.g., anthrax, botulism. (Palm only)
Disaster and Trauma E-Book (free)
This reference includes nearly 2,000 pages of the most current information on trauma, terrorism, and biochemical and radiologic warfare.
EpiTool (free)
From the Johns Hopkins Hospital Department of Healthcare Epidemiology and Infection Control, EpiTool assists in performing basic statistical analysis of exposure and outcomes. (Palm only)
Toxicology:
NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards (free)
The NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards (NPG) is a source for general industrial hygiene information on several hundred chemicals/classes, for workers, employers, and occupational health professionals.