| Suggested Databases | Selected Web Resources: |
| Electronic Journals | |
| Electronic Texts and Reference Resources | |
| College of Nursing and Health Professions Dance/Movement Program |
Suggested Databases
CINAHL (1982-current) Indexes books, journals and dissertations in nursing, physical therapy, medical technology and allied health areas.
Digital Dissertations (1861-current) With more than 1.5 million entries, UMI’s Dissertation Abstracts database is the one central, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master’s theses.
ERIC (1966-current) Educational Resources Information Center: contains citations to education-related research and technical reports, and to journal articles.
HAPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments) (1985-current) Provides information on measurement instruments (questionnaires, etc.) for the health and psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance Full Text (1989-current) A fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance. Full text available includes more than 100 journals.
International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA) (1864-current) Provides indexing, abstracts and selected full text from sources including dance.
MEDLINE via Ovid (1950-current) Includes Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, & Index to Dental Literature. Covers over 3500 journals in medicine, clinical science and allied health. Includes Health Sciences Libraries journal holdings information and links to full-text articles available through Journals@OVID.
MEDLINE via PubMed (1950-current) NLM’s search service to access MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases.
PsycBooks (1806-current) Full-text database of over 1100 books and chapters in the American Psychological Associations array of electronic ebooks.
PsycINFO (Psychological Abstracts) (1872-current) Covers books, dissertations and journals in the psychological and behavioral sciences, including the creative arts therapies. Uses the OVID interface and the Thesaurus of Psychological Indexing Terms.
RefWorks allows users to format their citations and papers into a particular format, export or manually add references into RefWorks, and share their references or entire database. Users must create a RefWorks account. Write-N-Cite, an application that must be downloaded, enables users to insert in-text citations from their references into their papers. When using Write-N-Cite from off-campus, enter RWDrexelU as the Group Code, in addition to the RefWorks account login. The Group Code is case sensitive.
Electronic Journals
Check catalog for electronic and print journals; for a comprehensive list, search “Dance Therapy Periodicals” as a Subject. Also see the alphabetic listings of Electronic Journals.
- American Journal of Dance Therapy
- American Journal of Psychiatry
- Arts in Psychotherapy
- Body, Movement, and Dance in Psychotherapy
- Dance Research Journal
- Dance Teacher
- Human Movement Science
- International Journal of Art Therapy
- Journal of Music Therapy
- Journal of Nonverbal Behavior
- Journal of Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance
- Psychology of Aesthetics, Creativity, and the Arts
Electronic Texts and Reference Resources
- Action Therapy with Families and Groups: using creative arts improvisation in clinical practice.
- Dance Movement Therapy: a creative psychotherapeutic approach.
- Expressive Body in Life, Art, and Therapy: working with movement, metaphor, and meaning.
- Healing Arts Therapies and Person-Centered Dementia Care.
- An Introduction to Medical Dance/Movement Therapy: health care in motion.
- New Dimensions in Body Psychotherapy.
- Practical Approaches to Dramatherapy: the shield of Perseus.
- Process in the Art Therapies.
- Using the Creative Arts in Therapy: a practical introduction.
Also see the listing of selected health sciences electronic books.
Creative Arts in Therapy Theses collection at iDEA: Drexel E-Repository and Archives. iDEA is a centralized virtual space to access unique digital resources produced by the Drexel community. The Creative Arts in Therapy Theses collection has a number of digitized theses by Drexel alumni in Music Therapy, Art Therapy, and Dance/Movement Therapy.
(Check catalog for full listing of print and electronic theses; for a comprehensive list, search “dance therapy thesis” as a Keyword.
Selected Web Resources
Academic and Professional Associations
- American Dance Therapy Association
- The main professional association for Dance Therapy. Offers information on credentialing in the field, conferences, a listserv, etc.
- American Group Psychotherapy Association
- Offers information on becoming certified in group psychotherapy, meetings, and training opportunities.
- American Society of Group Psychotherapy and Psychodrama
- Founded in 1942, ASGPP provides information on certification and conferences. Encourages members to communicate with each other through a chat room, listserve, and newsletter.
- Congress on Research in Dance
- An organization of dance scholars intended to encourage research, publishing, and discussion of material from all areas of dance.
- International Association Dance Medicine & Science
- IADMS promotes medical, scientific, and educational activities aimed at enhancing the treatment and training of dancers with the ultimate goal of improving dancers’ health, well-being, and performance.
- National Coalition of Arts Therapies Associations (NCATA)
- Founded in 1979, NCATA represents over 8000 individual members of six creative arts therapies associations. Presents information related to art and other creative therapies.
- National Dance Association
- Offers programs and events for continuing dance education, advocacy/lobbying in support of dance-related issues, and information on publications and other dance education resources.
- National Dance Education Organization
- This organization is dedicated to providing the dance artist, educator and administrator a network of resources and support, a base for advocacy, and access to programs and projects that focus on the importance of dance in the human experience.
- Society for the Arts in Healthcare
- SAH is a non-for-profit organization that promotes integration of the arts into healthcare settings. Includes a bibliography of resources related to the arts in healthcare, grant opportunities, and links to arts in healing programs across the U.S.
- Society for the Psychology of Aesthetics, Creativity and the Arts
- This organization is a division of the American Psychological Association. It examines three interrelated topics: creativity, the arts, and the audience response to the arts..
- United States Association for Body Psychotherapy
- This association’s mission is to promote belief in the integration of body and mind in effective psychotherapy.
Other Resources
- Accessible Arts Inc.
- Based in New South Wales, Australia, this organization promotes “creative expression and participation in arts and cultural activities by people with disabilities.”
- American Art Therapy Association
- The major association for art therapists, AATA provides resources for both art therapists and students. The website has information on conducting research and a bibliography about art therapy outcomes and single subject studies.
- American Psychiatric Association
- The major association for psychiatrists which is dedicated to providing effective treatment for all persons with mental disorders, including mental retardation and substance-related disorders.
- American Psychological Association
- APA is the largest association of psychologists worldwide. The website has extensive sections for students and publications.
- The Arts and Healing Network
- Focuses on the healing potential of art and the creative process. Includes information on classes, community projects, and an online newsletter.
- Arts in Therapy Network
- An online community for Creative Arts Therapists.
- Artslynx
- Artslynx is a resource dedicated to the healing power of the arts. This website was created for the Colorado Council on the Arts after the Columbine High School tragedy. The website has an extensive list of links related to dance, theater, and more.
- Association for Play Therapy
- APT was founded in 1982 to promote the use of play therapy and to conduct research. Includes links for credentials, education, and ethics.
- Authentic Movement Institute
- The Authentic Movement Institute “explores the inter-weaving of the creative, psychological and sacred” through a unique body-based process.
- Center for Kinesthetic Education
- Founded by Martha Eddy, RSMT, Ed.D., CMA, and based in New York City, the center provides professional training, individual sessions, and programs geared towards people with conditions like asthma, chronic pain, and cancer.
- Dance Notation Bureau
- This nonprofit organization creates dance scores using Labanotation so performances may continue after an artist’s passing.
- Integrated Movement Studies
- IMS is a group of faculty who believe “An understanding of human communication requires an intelligence grounded in the body.” They offer certificate programs in Laban/Bartenieff Movement Studies and additional workshops.
- International Council of Kinetography Laban/Labanotation
- Founded in 1959, the goal of the ICKL is promoting Labanotation. Website includes an online bibliography of Laban Notation Scores.
- Laban/Bartenieff Institute of Movement Studies
- Based on the teachings of two of the most influential movement theorists, this organization is dedicated to educating people about their teachings. Offers certification programs, workshops, and cultural events in New York City.
- National Association for Drama Therapy
- Association discusses how drama therapy blends together areas of study such as role-playing and puppetry to developmental psychology and group process. Includes information on becoming a drama therapist, conferences and workshops, and job postings.
- National Center for Alternative and Complementary Medicine
- NCCAM is a center of the National Institutes of Health established in 1998 to “stimulate, develop, and support research on CAM for the benefit of the public.” This site offers news, grants and research information, as well as health information for the public.
- The Nonverbal Dictionary of Gestures, Signs, and Body Language Cues
- An extensive dictionary produced by the Center for Nonverbal Studies, a nonprofit research center that looks at nonverbal communication from the viewpoints of anthropology, art, biology, evolution, and neuroscience.
- VSA Arts
- Formerly Very Special Arts, VSA Arts is an international organization offering arts-based programs to people with disabilities. Online exhibits of artwork and a searchable web resources database are highlights of this site.
Directories
Google: Health>Mental Health>Counseling Services>Expressive Therapies
Yahoo!: Directory>Health>Mental Health>Counseling and Therapy> Therapeutic Methods>Arts Therapy


