Evidence-based Medicine
| Research Tools: | Selected Websites: |
| Suggested Databases | Instructional Resources |
| Electronic Journals and Databases | |
| Directories and Other Resources | |
| General Medical Directories and Lists |
These suggested databases are only available to Drexel University students, faculty, etc. For more information regarding privileges at the Drexel University Libraries, click here.
Cochrane Library A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane Reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions. In addition to Cochrane Reviews, The Cochrane Library provides other sources of reliable information: other systematic reviews abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and individual clinical trials all the current evidence in one single environment.
Dynamed A clinical reference tool created for use primarily at the point-of-care, providing clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,000 topics. DynaMed is updated daily and monitors the content of over 500 medical journals and systematic evidence review databases directly and indirectly by using many journal review services.
MEDLINE (1950 – present) Includes Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, & Index to Dental Literature. Covers over 3500 journals in medicine, clinical science and allied health. Includes Health Sciences Libraries journal holdings information and links to full-text articles available through Journals@OVID.
Also see the listing of electronic books and reference resources for all subject areas
Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine – Toronto
The goal of this website is to help develop, disseminate, and evaluate resources that can be used to practice and teach EBM for a variety of clinical disciplines. This site also serves as a support for the book entitled Evidence-based Medicine: How to practice and teach EBM, by David L. Sackett and colleagues.
Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine-Oxford University
This is the homepage for one of the leading worldwide centers for evidence-based medicine; it contains articles about the philosophy and practice of EBM as well as some useful analytical tools.
EBM Page Generator
This website allows users to build their own customized page of EBM links. It was developed by Dartmouth College and Yale University.
Evidence-Based Medicine Tool Kit
Search strategies, users’ guides to the medical literature and a glossary from the University of Alberta are offered on this website.
SUNY Health Sciences Evidence-Based Medicine Course
This online textbook covers the purposes of EBM, research methods, how to search relevant databases, how to use search results in answering patient-related questions, and how to evaluate clinical studies.
Users’ Guides to Evidence Based Practice
The Centres for Health Evidence’s user guides are largely based on the Users Guides to Evidence-based Medicine developed by the Evidence-Based Medicine Working Group and published in JAMA.
Electronic Journals and Databases
National Guidelines Clearinghouse
The National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC) is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) , U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NGC was originally created by AHRQ in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans, now America’s Health Insurance Plans (AHIP).
AHRQ Preventive Services
AHRQ provides access to scientific evidence, recommendations on clinical preventive services, and information on how to implement recommended preventive services in clinical practice.
ACP Journal Club
This is a searchable database of past ACP Journal Club articles. Only ACP Members can view full text reviews.
Bandolier
This British EBM publication highlights recent systematic reviews and other evidence-based health care research. It offers a searchable database of past articles.
Essential Evidence Plus
This is a searchable database of POEMS (Patient Oriented Evidence that Matters) from the Journal of Family Practice. POEMS are summaries similar to ACPJC articles in methodology and format, targeted at family practitioners, but most summaries are very useful for internists. Requires a subscription.
NHS Centre for Reviews and Dissemination, University of York
This site contains the York Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE), a searchable database of abstracts of high-quality systematic reviews from the Cochrane Library and other sources. It also hosts the NHS Economic Evaluation Database with abstracts of economic and cost-effective analyses.
PubMed Clinical Queries
This is a MEDLINE search page using research methodology filters developed by Haynes RB et al.
Therapeutics Letter
A bi-monthly letter designed for physicians and pharmacist providing up to date, it presents evidence-based, practical information on drugs for problematic medical conditions. Therapeutics Letter is a publication of the Therapeutics Initiative project based at the University of British Columbia.
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice)
This website presents the TRIP Database, a directory of medical links to high-quality sources of medical information on the web. It provides links to hundreds of other medical databases on the web through a search engine, including sites listed above. Search tips are listed on the search page. Click on “For more extensive search tips click here” at the bottom of the page for more advanced techniques.
Directories and Other Resources
Netting the Evidence: A ScHARR Introduction to Evidence Based Practice on the Internet
A good, searchable list of useful links to evidence-based medicine resources on the Internet.
University of Washington Evidence-Based Medicine and Guidelines
A useful list of links to sites with online evidence-based information, glossaries, statistical calculators, and guidelines.
General Medical Directories and Lists
Medical Matrix
Ranked, peer-reviewed, annotated clinical medicine resources, categorized by specialty, publication type, and audience level. Requires a subscription.
Medical World Search Indexes full content of the best medical web sites, using medical terms. Requires free registration.
OmniMedicalSearch – MedProSearch
A easy to use medical meta-search engine that locates information from Pubmed, NIH, CDC, etc.
This web page was developed by Eric Vogel, M.D., for use with the Ambulatory Care Rotation Workshop, Drexel University College of Medicine internal medicine residency.


