| Suggested Databases | Selected Web Resources: |
| Electronic Journals | |
| Electronic Texts and References |
College of Nursing and Health Professions Programs in Rehabilitation Sciences & Physical Therapy
CINAHL (1982 – present) Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature: indexes books, journals and dissertations in nursing, physical therapy, medical technology and allied health areas. Covers the key Physical Therapy professional journals.
MEDLINE (1996 – present) Includes Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, & Index to Dental Literature. Covers over 3500 journals in medicine, clinical science and allied health. Includes Health Sciences Libraries journal holdings information and links to full-text articles available through Journals@OVID.
Check catalog for print journals. Also see the listing of Electronic Journals for all subject areas.
- American Journal of Occupational Therapy
- Journal of Hand Therapy
- Journal of Hand Surgery (American)
- Journal of Hand Surgery (British)
- Physical Therapy
Electronic Texts and Reference Resources
- Anatomy of the Human Body (Gray)
- Campbell’s Operative Orthopaedics, 10th ed
- Kelley’s Textbook of Rheumatology, 7th ed.
- Mosby’s Drug Consult 15th ed.
- Musculoskeletal Atlas
Academic and Professional Associations
- American Association for Hand Surgery (AAHS)
- The AAHS formed in 1970 and has grown to over 1100 members. Membership is based upon training, board certification, scientific and professional accomplishment, and the degree of active interest and experience in the disciplines related to hand surgery. Includes a hand care provider search, newsletter, and public education section.
- American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA)
- APTA, is the nationally recognized professional association of approximately 35,000 occupational therapists, occupational therapy assistants, and students of occupational therapy. Includes career information and patient education.
- American Physical Therapy Association (APTA)
- APTA, a national professional organization representing more than 63,000 members, is a major public policy advocate for physical therapy professionals with links to government information, research, education, publications, jobs, and state and local chapters. Members have access to Physical Therapy. Includes links to individual state physical therapy associations.
- American Society for Surgery of the Hand(ASSH)
- Founded in 1946, the American Society for Surgery of the Hand is the oldest medical specialty society in the United States devoted entirely to continuing medical education related to hand surgery. The ASSH began as a select group of only 35 founding members and now includes over 2000 members from around the world. Includes a hand care provider search, newsletter, and public education section.
- Hand Rebabilitation Foundation – Philadelphia
- The Hand Rehabilitation Foundation, established in 1975, is a non-profit corporation formed to promote research and education, and disseminate information to physicians and therapists who work with children and adults with hand disorders caused by injury, disease, or present at birth.
- European Federation of Societies for Hand Therapy (EFSHT)
- The European Federation of Societies for Hand Therapy is a non profit organization representing 1800 therapists all over Europe. The federation was founded in 1989 in Paris.
- International Federation of Societies for Hand Therapy (IFSHT)
- The International Federation of Societies for Hand Therapy represents over 5000 therapists all over the world. The main purposes of the IFSHT is to coordinate the activities of the various societies for Hand Therapy and to increase and enhance the exchange of knowledge of Hand Therapy.
For more information about the Programs for Hand and Upper Quarter Rehabilitation please contact Jane Fedorcyzk, M.S.P.T, C.H.T., A.T.C.


