| Drug Lookup |
Suggested Databases |
| Clinical Trials | Journals |
| E-Books | Directories |
| Web Resources |
Drug Lookup Resources
If you’re looking for information on a particular drug, try one of these resources:
AHFS Drug Information – An evidence based collection of drug monographs on virtually every single-drug entity available in the United States. Provides an evidence based guide to drug therapy.
Drug Facts and Comparisons: Pocket Guide – Provides the essential information needed to aid in drug therapy decisions. Includes tables containing product information and dosing instructions.
Merck Index- The Merck Index is a world renowned, authoritative handbook of chemical, pharmaceutical and biomedical information that contains more than 10,350 monographs, 32 supplemental tables and 450 Organic Name Reactions and almost 1,000 retired monographs.
DRUGPOINTS® SYSTEM – Provides 400+ concise, unbiased, synopses on FDA-approved drugs (includes prescription and nonprescription)
Electronic Orange Book – Database containing FDA approved drug products and their therapeutic equivalence evaluations. Updated monthly.
Drugs@FDA – Database of FDA approved drugs. The entry for each drug contains information such as the name, active ingredient, related consumer information and the drug label. Drug entries with the same active ingredient are linked.
DRUGFACTS.com – A commercial site that provides authoritative drug, herbal, disease, and patient information. Free registration gives users access to a 30 day trial.
USP – United States Pharmacopeia – Provides official standards and authoritative information on medicines, dietary supplements, and other health care products.
Suggested Databases
MEDLINE via Ovid (1996 – present) Includes Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, & Index to Dental Literature. Covers over 3500 journals in medicine, clinical science and allied health. Health Sciences Libraries journal holdings information and links to full-text articles available through Journals@OVID
.
MDConsult MD Consult provides access to over 36 medical texts, articles from more than 46 clinical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, 2,500 patient education handouts, CME, and daily medical updates. Check out the ‘Drugs’ tab at the top, which provides access to an encyclopedia of drugs accessible by name (generic and brand), indications, contraindications and adverse reactions.
Journals
There are a number of print and electronic journals available via the library catalog. You can search for these journals by specific title or, for a comprehensive list, search for “Pharmacology-periodicals” as a subject. You can also browse the complete list of Drexel’s electronic journals.
Electronic Texts
Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, 10th ed.
Lippincott’s Nursing Drug Guide
Please see “Free Web Resources” below for links to free drug information resources available on the Web.
Free Web Resources
Cancer Trials – National Cancer Institute – Clinical trials information resource from the National Cancer Institute. Includes access to the NCI’s Trial Database (PDQ) and Drug Dictionary.
CenterWatch: Clinical Trials Listing Service – Information on clinical trials for interested patients and research professionals. Includes listings of some industry-sponsored trials.
ClinicalTrials.gov: Linking Patients to Medical Research – The NIH through its National Library of Medicine, has developed ClinicalTrials.gov to provide patients, family members and the public current information about clinical research studies. The database allows browsing by condition or sponsor, and search capabilities. It is possible to limit results to those studies currently recruiting patients.
Oncolink’s Clinical Trials Page – Information on clinical trials of Cancer Drugs maintained by University of Pennsylvania cancer specialists.
Other Resources
Drugs in Pregnancy and Breastfeeding – Categorizes common drugs and drug classes by risk their to pregnancy. From the Harbor UCLA Medical Center Ob/Gyn department.
Food and Drug Administration (FDA) – Website of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, which includes links to several useful drug information databases.
HerbMed – Database of herbal medicines, with links to scientific evidence and anecdotal reports on their efficacy, mechanisms of action, preparations, suppliers, contraindications, and adverse effects.
Internet Drug News – This site features timely drug/research news as well as pharmacy, medicine, pharmaceutical sales, and drug information.
Lexi-Comp: New Drugs Reference Library – Drug information on medications recently approved by the FDA or close to approval. Publisher site that specializes in drug information resources. This section can be accessed free, access to other sections of Clinical Reference Library requires subscription.
MEDLINEplus: Drug Information – The National Library of Medicine’s consumer guide to more than 9,000 prescription and over-the-counter medications.
Natural Standard – Aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies. Information on supplements, brand name vitamins and herbs.
Office of National Drug Control Policy – A governmental site that provides information on policies, prevention, treatment, and a variety of links dealing with illegal drugs.
PharmWeb – An extensive information database and directory of pharmacy information resources.
MediLexicon – A database of pharmaceutical and medical abbreviations. Especially helpful is the ‘Drug
Search of FDA approved drugs which gives a brief overview of each drug.
StreetDrugs.org – A drug index of illegal drugs. Provides basic information including active ingredients, effects of use and street terms.
TOXNET – Toxicology Data Network – National Library of Medicine databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
Directories
Martindale’s “Virtual” Pharmacy Center – Extensive resources in pharmacy, pharmacology, clinical pharmacology and toxicology.
Virtual Library Pharmacy – A compilation of sites related to pharmacology, including links to pharmaceutical companies, and pharmacy schools.


