image1 image2 image3 image4 image5 image6 image7 image8

Anesthesiology

Suggested Databases Selected Web Resources:
Electronic Journals
Electronic Texts and Reference Resources
College of Medicine Department of Anesthesiology College of Nursing and

Health Professions MSN in Nurse Anesthesia


Suggested Databases

MEDLINE via Ovid (1950-present) The premier medical literature search system, which includes Index Medicus, the International Nursing Index and the Index to Dental Literature.

MEDLINE via PubMed (1950-present) NLM’s search service to access MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases.

CINAHL (1982-present) Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature: indexes books, journals and dissertations in nursing, physical therapy, medical technology and allied health areas. Covers key physician assistant professional journals.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBM Reviews) (Current) Includes the full-text of regularly updated evidence-based systematic reviews of the effects of health care, prepared by the Cochrane Collaboration.

DynaMed (Current) A clinical reference tool with clinically-organized summaries for nearly 2,000 topics in evidence-based medicine.

images.MD (Current) images.MD has over 50,000 medical images from more than 90 collections and 2,000 contributors.

MDConsult/FirstConsult (Dates vary) MD Consult provides access to over 36 medical texts, articles from more than 46 clinical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, 2,500 patient education handouts, CME, and daily medical updates. Designed for use at the time and point of care, FIRSTConsult is an evidence-based clinical information tool for primary health care providers, part of the MD Consult Clinical Knowledge System.

NursingConsult (Current) Mosby’s Nursing Consult brings together several leading nursing resources to help nurses efficiently find answers to pressing clinical questions. It includes the Latest Drug Information, Patient Education Information, Professional Journals, Reference Books, Current News, Clinical Practice Information, Evidence-based Content, and Care Planning Tools.

RefWorks allows users to format their citations and papers into a particular format, export or manually add references into RefWorks, and share their references or entire database. Users must create a RefWorks account. Write-N-Cite, an application that must be downloaded, enables users to insert in text citations from their references into their papers. When using Write-N-Cite from off-campus, enter RWDrexelU as the Group Code, in addition to the RefWorks account login. The Group Code is case sensitive.


Electronic Journals

Check catalog for electronic and print journals; for a comprehensive list, search “Anesthesiology Periodicals” or “Anesthetics Periodicals” as a Subject. To search for critical care journals, search “Critical Care Periodicals” as a subject. To search for pain journals, search for “Pain Periodicals.” Also see the alphabetic listings of Electronic Journals.


Electronic Texts and Reference Resources

Also see the listing of
selected Health Sciences electronic books.


Selected Web Resources:

Academic and Professional Associations

American Academy of Pain Management

The American Academy of Pain Management is the largest pain organization in the United States. The website has brochures as Adobe files, information on prescribing issues, and continuing education accrediation information.

American Pain Society

The American Pain Society’s goal is to increase knowledge of pain, and change public policy and clinical practice to reduce pain-related suffering. This association has a large selection of special interest groups. The website’s features includes abstracts archives, a glossary of pain terms, and links.

American Association of Nurse Anesthetists

Over ninty percent of CRNAs belong to the AANA. The website offers information on careers,practice documents, professional development, and a section for patients.

American Board of Anesthesiology

This board examines and certifies physicians who complete an accredited program of anesthesiology training in the United States and voluntarily apply to the Board for certification or maintenance of certification. The website also includes an ABA Diplomat and Candidate Directory for certifying a physician’s ABA certification status.

American Society of Anesthesiologists

The ASA seeks to raise and maintain the standards of medical practice for anesthesiologists. The website includes a patient safety section, career information, a placement service, an extensive list of links, and searchable database of websites and resources called DRAW, the Data Repository for the Anesthesia Workforce.

American Society of Critical Care Anesthesiologists

The ASCCA is dedicated to educating anesthesiologists who take care of critically ill patients. The website provides access to the associations’s newsletter, Interchange, abstracts, and links.

American Society of PeriAnesthesia Nurses

ASPAN represents over ten thousand members in ambulatory surgery, preanesthesia, and postanesthesia care.

American Society of Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine

ASRA is the largest subspecialty society in anesthesiology. The website includes informationon education, and consensus statements as PDF documents.

Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation

The Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation fosters understanding of how to prevent anesthetic injuries, and educates its members in prevention. It includes newsletters and clinical safety and educational tools.

International Anesthesia Research Society

The IARS provides CME activities to its members about the latest research data, and advances in topics such as perioperative medicine, critical care, and pain management. It includes links to grants and awards, abstracts, and other research organizations.

International Association for the Study of Pain

The IASP, a leading organization in pain-related research, sponsors research symposia and provides grants, awards, and fellowships to support international pain research. The website also has continuing education opportunities, resource links, and information about the World Congress on Pain.

National Foundation for the Treatment of Pain

The National Foundation for the Treatment of Pain is the only organization in the United States that provides pain patients with a helpline to call for assistance. The website contains information on migraine, pain treatment advocacy, and a pain care chat room for patients.

Society for Ambulatory Anesthesia

The Society for Ambulatory Anesthesia strives to keep the medical profession and the publicinformed about the role of anesthesiologists in the perioperative care of patients undergoing ambulatory surgery. SAMBA patient information is translated into many languages, and a monthly online eNewsletter is provided.

Society for Education in Anesthesia

The Society for Education in Anesthesia provides information for anesthesiology educators to improve their teaching skills and rograms. The website has educational resources related to teaching medical students, and a competencies homepage.

Society for ObstetricAnesthesia and Perinatology

SOAP is a resource for anesthesiologists, obstetricians, future patients, and their families. The website has a directory of obstetric anesthesia fellows and training programs, a newsletter, and links.

Society for Pediatric Anesthesia

The Society for Pediatric Anesthesia supports the goals of the American Society of Anesthesiologists and the American Academy of Pediatrics. In addition to jobs and fellowship listings, the website also has an SPA Newsletter and a link for volunteer medical services.

Society of Cardiovascular Anesthesiologists

SCA, an international organization of physicians, promotes excellence in patient care through education and research in perioperative care for patients undergoing cardiothoracic and vascular procedures. Its website includes fellowship information, CME, and job postings.

Society of Neurosurgical Anesthesia and Critical Care

SNACC is an organization dedicated to improving the perioperative and intensive care of neurologically impaired patients or those at risk for developing neurological complications. The website includes a bibliography, case discussions, and job postings.

Other Resources

American Dental Society of Anesthesiology

This organization’s website includes information on residency programs, grants, a discussion forum, and a section on advanced training leading to membership in the College of Conscious Sedation.

American Medical Association

The AMA is the preeminent medical association in the United States. Its website has a newsroom section, professional resources, and medical school and residency information.

American Nurses Association

The ANA website, called Nursing World, is the main website for nurses. Nursing World includes online CE, ANA meetings and conventions information, and a nursing issues/program.

American Pain Foundation

This nonprofit organization provides advocacy for people with pain. The website has a pain information library, links about pain, and an online community.

American Society of Dentist Anesthesiologists

The ASDA comprises a group of dentists who have completed a minimum of two years of full-time postdoctoral training in anesthesiology. The website includes training programs, continuing education information, and a related links section.

AnesthesiaDoc

This website is a resource for anesthesiologists. It offers information on residency and fellowship programs, news resources, and links related to careers, the history of anesthesia, and subspecialities.

AnesthesiaNow

This website provides the latest information about anesthesiology. It has a CME Corner, email alerts, and full text of selected, peer reviewed journals for a thirty-day period.

International Trauma Anesthesia and Critical Care Society

The ITACCS is dedicated to improving trauma treatment and serves as a forum for the “traumatologist,” including surgeons, emergency medicine physicians, and anesthesiologists. This website includes meeting abstracts, links, and information about its research organization, TRIGER.

Royal College of Anaesthetists

This association is responsible for the practice of anesthesia throughout the United Kingdom. The website provides patient standards and training information.

Society for Computing and Technology in Anaesthesia

SCATA promotes research about computing and technology related to anesthesia. Abstracts and a downloads section are on the website.

Society of Critical Care Medicine

The mission of the SCCM is to secure the highest quality care for all critically ill and injured patients. The SCCM website has an online newsletter, a professional development section, and training courses.

Directories

Copyright © 2009 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by WordPress