CINAHL(1982-present) Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature: indexes books, journals and dissertations in nursing, physical therapy, medical technology and allied health areas. Covers the key Physician Assistant professional journals.
|
| |
Exam Master Online A database of sample medical exam questions has a section for the PANCE. Registration required for access. Upon registration, please use individual username / password for access. |
|
HAPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments) (1985-present) Provides information on measurement instruments (questionnaires, etc.) for the health and psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. |
|
MEDLINE via Ovid (1950-present) Includes Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, & Index to Dental Literature. Covers over 3500 journals in medicine, clinical science and allied health. Includes Health Sciences Libraries journal holdings information and links to full-text articles available through Journals@OVID. |
|
MEDLINE via PubMed (1950-present) NLM’s search service to access MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases. |
|
Primal Pictures-Includes Interactive Functional Anatomy and Complete Human Anatomy — both are 3D interactive human models. Enable pop-ups for optimal viewing. |
|
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source (1982-current) Covers a wide range of topics, including nursing, allied health, alternative therapies, biomedicine, consumer health and health administration. |
|
PsycINFO (1872-present) Indexes books, dissertations, and journals in the psychological and behavioral sciences. |
|
RefWorks Allows users to format their citations and papers into a particular format, export or manually add references into RefWorks, and share their references or entire database. Users must create a RefWorks account. Write-N-Cite, an application that must be downloaded, enables users to insert in text citations from their references into their papers. When using Write-N-Cite from off-campus, enter RWDrexelU as the Group Code, in addition to the RefWorks account login. The Group Code is case sensitive. |
|
Check catalog for electronic and print journals; for a comprehensive list, search “Physician Assistants Periodicals” as a Subject. Also see the alphabetic listings of Electronic Journals. |
|
- Adam and Victor’s Neurology Online.
- Anatomy of the Human Body, (Gray’s) 20th ed.
- Atlas of Emergency Medicine, (Knoop) 2nd ed.
- Basic Histology, (Junqueira) 11th ed.
- Braunwald’s Heart Disease: a textbook of cardiovascular medicine, 8th ed.
- Cecil Medicine, 23rd ed.
- Clinical Dermatology, (Habif) 4th ed.
- Clinical Electrocardiography: a simplified approach, (Goldberger) 7th ed.
- Clinical Procedures in Emergency Medicine, (Roberts) 4th ed.
- Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment.
- Danforth’s Obstetrics and Gynecology, 9th ed.
- DeGowin’s Diagnostic Examination, 8th ed.
- Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders – 4th ed. Text Revision (DSM-IV-TR).
- Family Medicine Principles and Practice, (Taylor) 6th ed.
- Fitzpatrick Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology, 5th ed.
- Goodman and Gilman’s the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 11th ed.
- Harrison’s Online.
- Hurst’s the Heart Online.
- Krugman’s Infectious Diseases of Children, 11th ed.
- Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett’s Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases, 6th ed.
- Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, 17th ed.
- Merritt’s Neurology, 11th ed.
- Mosby’s Guide to Physical Examination, 6th ed.
- Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics, 18th ed.
- Opportunities in Physician Assistant Careers.
- Pathophysiology of Disease: an introduction to clinical medicine, (McPhee) 5th ed.
- Practical Guide to the Care of the Medical Patient, (Ferri) 6th ed.
- Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 7th ed.
- Rosen’s Emergency Medicine: concepts and clinical practice, 6th ed.
- Sabiston’s Textbook of Surgery, 18th ed.
- Tintinalli’s Emergency Medicine: a comprehensive study guide, 6th ed.
Also see the listing of selected Health Sciences electronic books.
|
- American Academy of Nephrology Physician Assistants
- AANPA supports the “professional growth, development, training, education, and networking of physician assistants within the specialty of nephrology.” It is also maintains an affiliated with the American Society of Nephrology.
- American Academy of Physician Assistants (AAPA)
- The main organization for PAs offers an extensive website filled with important resources. The website includes an events calendar, professional issues section, and licensing information.
- American Association of Surgical Physician Assistants
- AASPA is the oldest specialty for PAs. The website includes employment opportunities, CME, information on PA residencies, and links.
- Association of Family Practice Physician Assistants (AFPPA)
- The mission of the AFPPA is to “foster the educational and professional interests of Family Practice Physician Assistants by promoting clinical and academic excellence and providing a forum for assembling and distributing information” for PAs. The website includes, a mentor list, conferences information, and an extensive link library.
- Association of Neurosurgical Physician Assistants (ANSPA)
- The ANSPA “highlights the concept of the Physician Assistant in the medical community, specifically in the subspecialties of neurological surgery and neurology. It also promotes, develops, and maintains liaison relationship with physician specialty organizations – American Association of Neurological Surgeons and the Congress of Neurological Surgeons.”
- Association of Physician Assistants in Cardiovascular Surgery (APACVS)
- APACVS has over 700 members and is recognized and endorsed by the Society of Thoracic Surgeons and the American Association for Thoracic Surgeons. The website includes a career center, information on scholarships and a fellowship program, and Heartcall, a discussion board.
- Association of Physicians Assistants in Obstetrics and Gynecology
- APAOG’s mission is to “improve the health care of women by supporting physician/PA teams who provide cost effective, quality care to female patients and by promoting a network of communication and education between providers dedicated to women’s health.” In addition to CME opportunities and clinical resources, the website has a special section for students.
- Canadian Association of Physician Assistants
- The main association for physician assistants in Canada has information on certification, employment opportunities, and the latest news.
- Gastroenterology Physician Assistants
- Founded in 2000, GIPA represents PAs in gastroenterology and hepatology. It provides professional practice resources such as census information about gastroenterology PAs, links, and job opportunities.
- National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA)
- The offiicial organization for certifying PAs walks PAs thorugh the initial certification process, has information on the PANCE, PANRE, and the Pathway II. There is also information on CME and recertification.
- Naval Association of Physician Assistants
- Founded in 1974, NAPA is ”devoted to educating the public about the PA profession, seeking legislative and governmental policy changes regarding PAs, and informing those in the profession about national Navy issues.
- Physician Assistant Education Association
- The only national organization representing PA educational programs in the United States, PAEA contains information for both faculty and students. The website has an interactive map of PA programs in the United States and archives of the PAEA Networker, a monthly web-based newsletter. The PAEA Research Institute homepage provides information for AEA faculty and member programs to learn about research activities within and outside of the association. There is also a link to the Pi Alpha Honor Society, the national honor society for physician assistants.
- Physician Assistants in Orthopaedic Surgery
- PAOS is “dedicated to providing high quality programs to support its members in achieving a high level of knowledge in musculoskeletal health care through the physician/physician assistant team concept.” The website has links to relevant orthopaedic websites, legislative updates, and job opportunities.
- Society of Air Force Physician Assistants (SAFPA)
- SAFPA “serves the needs of active duty, retired, and reserve Air Force physician assistants.
- Society of Dermatology Physician Assistants
- With over 1200 members, SPDA provides information to both PAs and dermatologists. PAs can connect through a discussion forum while dermatologists can learn about the role of PAs . A links section includes the Pennsylvania Dermatology Physician Assistant organization which was established in 2005.
- Society of Emergency Medicine Physician Assistants (SEMPA)
- Founded in 1990, SEMPA works closely with the American Academy of Physician Assistants and the American College of Emergency Physicians. The website provides resources for students, guidelines for the utilzation of EMPAs, and recommended references.
- Society of Physician Assistants in Otorhinolaryngology/Head and Neck Surgery
- Founded in 1991,SPAO-HNS is recognized by the American Academy of Physician Assistants (AAPA) and the American Academy of Otolaryngology—Head & Neck Surgery (AAO). In addition to links and employment opportunities, the website has statistics of in-office procedures performed by ENT PAs in 2003.
- Society of Physician Assistants in Rheumatology (SPAR)
- SPAR’s mission is to enhance the health and well being of the people with rheumatological disorders through the representation and advancement of the Physician-PA Team. SPAR has CME, professional practice resources, and links.
- Student Academy of the American Academy of Physician Assistants
- The official student organization for PAs offers PA student pearls, rotation do’s and don’ts, and resources.
- Veterans Caucus of the AAPA
- The Veteran Caucus represents over 7,500 PAs who are veterans of the Armed Forces. A history timeline of the caucus and scholarship information is included on the website.
AdvancedPracticeJobs.com
A site specifically designed to address the employment needs of physician assistants, nurse practitioners, certified nurse anesthetists, nurse midwives, and clinical nurse specialists. |
|
Evaluating Internet Health Information: A Tutorial from the National Library of Medicine
The tutorial can either be viewed with a Flash plug-in or can be downloaded onto a computer. |
|
PA Forum
Formerly called PhysicianAssociate.com. Offers message boards on topics such as becoming a physician assistant, programs, and free classifieds with job listings. Free registration is required.
PA Job Link
The AAPA’s official job center includes jobs from all specialties. PAs can register for job alerts and post their resumes.
|
|
Physician Assistant History Center
Provides information on the study, preservation, and presentation of PA history. |
|
Physician Assistant.com
Presents current news, job listing, message boards, and links to other resources. |
|
PhysicianAssistantJobs.com
Includes job listings, resume help, and salary information. |