| Suggested Databases | Electronic Texts and Reference Resources |
| Electronic Journals | Selected Web Resources |
| School of Public Health Homepage |
Centers for Disease Control (CDC) CDC Recommends – CDC Recommends is a searchable storehouse of documents containing CDC recommendations on a variety of health, prevention, and public health practice issues.
Environmental Health Information Service – The EHIS is a Service of the NIH National Institute of Environmental Health.
HazDat – ATSDR’s Hazardous Substance Release/Health Effects Database that provides information on the release of hazardous substances from Superfund sites or from emergency events and on the effects of hazardous substances on the health of human populations.
HealthSTAR – (1975 – January 2002; Contents included in MEDLINE after this date) Contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. In addition to journal article citations and abstracts, HealthSTAR includes citations to meeting abstracts, technical reports and monographs.
Material Safety Data Sheets and related safety information – The Safety Information Resources on the Internet site (SIRI) contains occupational and environmental safety and health information.
MEDLINE – (1966 – present) Includes Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, & Index to Dental Literature. Covers over 3500 journals in medicine, clinical science and allied health. Includes Health Sciences Libraries journal holdings information and links to full-text articles available through Journals@OVID.
MEDLINE Plus – Provides links health related topic overviews, drug information, news, and other helpful information.
ToxFAQs ™ – U.S. Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry Division of Toxicology.
Urban Studies & Planning – Urban Studies & Planning: A SAGE Full-Text Collection includes the full text of 12 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 37 years, and encompasses over 2,500 articles.
- American Journal of Epidemiology
- American Journal of Industrial Medicine
- American Journal of Preventive Medicine
- American Journal of Public Health
- Annals of Epidemiology
- Annals of Occupational Hygiene
- Annual Review of Public Health
- CDC HIV/AIDS Publications
- Disaster Research
- Emerging Infectious Diseases (CDC)
- Environmental Health Perspectives
- Epidemiology
- Hazardous Substances & Public Health (ATSDR)
- Journal of Community Health
- Journal of Epidemiology and Community Health
- Journal of Health Politics, Policy and Law
- Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (CDC)
- Occupational Health & Safety
- Preventing Chronic Disease
- Preventive Medicine
- Public Health Nursing
- Public Health Reports
- Risk Analysis
- Weekly Epidemiological Record (WER) – World Health Organization
Electronic Texts and Reference Resources
- Federal Register (Description)
- HSTAT (Health Services/Technology Assessment Text) (Description)
- Material Safety Data Sheets (Description)
Also see the listing of electronic books and reference resources for Health Sciences.
-
Government Resources
The Health Sciences Libraries’ Government Subject/Internet Guide includes a vast amount of public health information from:-
DeployMed – Deployment Health-Related Research – The Department of Defense (DoD) has created this library of government-sponsored research to help military personnel, veterans, families, and the public learn about research efforts into health concerns related to service during deployments. This web site also provides scientists and medical professionals information about initiatives and findings in deployment health-related research.
-
Statistical Resources – includes U.S. Census information, as well as data from the Centers for Disease Control, National Center for Health Statistics, etc.
-
-
CDC Software for the Working Epidemiologist
Several programs including EpiInfo, EpiMap, EpiMeta, SSS1 and CDC Wonder are available for downloading from the CDC. Epi Info is a statistics program for epidemiologists. EpiMeta performs meta-analysis, a quantitative method for combining the results of many studies relating to a single subject. EpiMap is a program used to graphically display data from Epi Info. SSS1 (Statistical Software for Public Health Surveillance) is software for analyzing public health surveillance data including time series analysis, trends, and comparisons. CDC WONDER provides a single point of access to a variety of CDC reports, guidelines, and numeric public health data. -
Comprehensive Epidemiologic Data Resource (CEDR)
A U.S. Department of Energy (DOE)/Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory (LBL) resource including analytic and working data sets for epidemiological studies that have been conducted on various groups of DOE workers during the past 30 years. Data from LBL’s Socio-Economic Environmental Demographic Information System (SEEDIS) is also available.
-
-
Environmental/Occupational
-
Case Studies in Environmental Medicine
Over 15 case studies developed by the U.S. Public Health Service, Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR) including topics such as Arsenics, Asbestos, Lead, and Radon. Not all are available online. -
EnviroDx
EnviroDx is a multimedia, case-focused, computer-based learning program on environment-related diseases.
-
-
-
National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect – Cornell University
An archive developed for the acquisition, presentation, and dissemination of high quality data sets relevant to the study of child abuse and neglect. Descriptions of the data are available on this site; the data sets themselves cost $25-$50. -
National Health Information Center
An information referral service from the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP), U.S. Public Health Service. This service is intended for the use of both health professionals and consumers in order to put individuals in touch with the proper organizations to help answer health-related questions.
-
Academic and Professional Associations:
- American Red Cross
- American Red Cross Blood Services Penn-Jersey Region, Philadelphia
- American Public Health Association
- American Social Health Association
- Association of Occupational & Environmental Clinics (AOEC)
- Hazardous Substance Research Centers
- National Association for Public Health Statistics and Information Systems (NAPHSIS)
Schools:
- Arizona University Graduate Program in Public Health
- Boston University School of Public Health
- Cambridge University Institute of Public Health (UK)
- Columbia University School of Public Health
- Drexel University School of Public Health
- Emory University Rollins School of Public Health
- Harvard University School of Public Health
- San Diego State University Graduate School of Public Health
- University at Albany, State University of New York School of Public Health
- University of Dundee Department of Epidemiology and Public Health (UK)
- University of Michigan School of Public Health
- University of Minnesota School of Public Health
- University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Public Health
- University of South Carolina School of Public Health
- University of South Florida College of Public Health
- University of Washington School of Public Health and Community Medicine
- Yale University School of Public Health
Philadelphia Public Health Resources:
- American Red Cross Blood Services Penn-Jersey Region, Philadelphia
- Center for Greater Philadelphia
- City of Philadelphia Homepage
- Elwyn Institute – Media, PA
- Free Library of Philadelphia
- Philadelphia Area Statistics
- Philadelphia Corporation for Aging
- Philadelphia Health Management Corporation
- School District of Philadelphia
- West Philadelphia Partnership
Other Resources:
- Guide to Locating Health Statistics – from the University of Pittsburgh – A guide to locating health statistics in both print and electronic format.
- National Center for Health Statistics Publications – NCHS publications, including recent publications from the Vital and Health Statistics and Health, United States series.
- Center for Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics – University of Pennsylvania Medical Center.
- Demographic and Health Surveys – U.S. Agency for International Development.
- Drugs and Devices Information Line (Pharmacoepidemiology) – Harvard School of Public Health.
- World Wide Web Virtual Library: Demography & Population Studies
- World Wide Web Virtual Library: Epidemiology
- Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences Institute – Rutgers University.
- Institute for Environmental Medicine – University of Pennsylvania Medical Center.
Directories:


