| Suggested Databases | Selected Web Resources |
| Electronic Journals | |
| Electronic Texts and Reference Resources | |
| College of Nursing & Health Professions Behavioral Health Counseling Program |
CINAHL (1982-present) Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature: indexes books, journals and dissertations in nursing, physical therapy, medical technology and allied health areas.
ERIC (1966-present) Educational Resources Information Center: contains citations to education-related research and technical reports, and to journal articles.
Family Index Database (1995-present) Indexes the international journal literature on the family. Includes family studies and family-related articles from numerous subject areas- e.g., psychology, medicine, sociology, nursing, education and religion.
MEDLINE (1950-present) Includes Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, & Index to Dental Literature. Covers over 3500 journals in medicine, clinical science and allied health. Includes Health Sciences Libraries journal holdings information and links to full-text articles available through Journals@OVID.
PsycINFO (Psychological Abstracts) (1967-present) Covers books, dissertations and journals in the psychological and behavioral sciences, including the creative arts therapies. Uses the OVID interface and the Thesaurus of Psychological Indexing Terms.
Check catalog for print and electronic journals; for a comprehensive list, search “substance related disorders periodicals,” “gambling periodicals” .
- Addiction
- Addiction Biology
- Addictive Disorders & Their Treatment
- American Journal of Drug & Alcohol Abuse
- Brown University Digest of Addiction Theory & Application
- Contemporary Drug Problems
- Drug & Alcohol Dependence
- Drug Detection Report
- International Journal of Psychosocial Rehabilitation
- International Journal on Drug Policy
- Journal of Addiction & Mental Health
- Journal of Addictive Diseases
- Journal of Drug Education
- Journal of Drug Issues
- Journal of Gambling Studies
- Journal of Substance Abuse
- Psychiatric News
- Substance Abuse
Electronic Texts and Reference Resources
- Collective Expert Evaluation Reports
- Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Psychiatry
- Diagnostic & Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders – 4th ed. Text Revision(DMS-IV-TR) (Stat!Ref)
- Treatments of Psychiatric Disorders, (Gabbard) 3rd ed. (Stat!Ref)
Academic and Professional Associations
- American Academy of Addiction Psychiatry
- American Academy of Health Care Providers in the Addictive Disorders
- American Society of Addiction Medicine
- Association for Medical Education and Research in Substance Abuse
- International Coalition for Addiction Studies Education
- International Consortium of Addiction and Prevention Credentialing Boards
- National Association for Addiction Professionals
- Society for the Advancement of Sexual Health
- Addiction Treatment Forum
- Addiction Treatment Forum has reported on substance abuse and addiction therapies, research, news, and events of interest to both healthcare professionals and patients. Although many treatment options and healthcare topics of concern are regularly discussed, an important focus is on methadone maintenance for opioid-addiction treatment.
- Alcohol Medical Scholars Program
- The mission of the Alcohol Medical Scholars Program (AMSP) is to promote optimal education in medical schools regarding the identification and care of people with alcohol use disorders and other substance-related problems. Outlines, survey data, links, and meeting minutes are provided.
- Behavioral Genetics (Human Genome Project)
- Begun formally in 1990, the U.S. Human Genome Project was a 13-year effort coordinated by the U.S. Department of Energy and the National Institutes of Health. A wealth of information is provided on this page including links concerned with general information, associations, articles, books, and additional informaton about the Human Genome Project,
- Behavior Online
- A gathering place for Mental Health and Applied Behavioral Science Progefessionals. This site includes a various array of discussion groups to allow users to communicate with colleagues from around the world.
- Campaign for Mental Health Reform
- The Campaign for Mental Health Reform is a national partnership of organizations representing millions of people with mental or emotional disorders, their families, service providers, administrators, and other concerned Americans.
- Daily Dose
- This web site, updated daily, provides links to a range of relevant material covering substance misuse news from specialist organizations and the popular media from around the world.
- Institute Of Alcohol Studies
- The aims of the Institute are to increase the understanding of alcohol and of public policies necessary to reduce the problems associated with its use (located in the U.K.). Includes fact sheets and published papers.
Internet Mental Health- Internet Mental Health is a free encyclopedia of mental health information created by a Canadian psychiatrist, Dr. Phillip Long. Internet Mental Health is for anyone who has an interest in mental health.
- Mental Health Infosource
- A large compilation of Mental Health Information. Be sure to examine the resources section for an abundance of links and other information.
Mental Health Matters- Mental Health Matters was founded to supply information to mental health consumers, professionals, students, and supporters.
National Guideline Clearinghouse- The NGC mission is to provide physicians, nurses, and other health professionals, health care providers, health plans, integrated delivery systems, purchasers and others an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines and to further their dissemination, implementation and use.
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)- The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) is one of 27 components of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the Federal government’s principal biomedical and behavioral research agency. NIH is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Robert Johnson Wood Foundation- The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation seeks to improve the health and health care of all Americans. This important resource contains quality information and grant opportunities.
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
- Official site of the United States Department of Health and HumanServices. Includes a wide array of information including statistics and grant opportunities!
Treatment Advocacy Center- The Treatment Advocacy Center is a national nonprofit organization working to eliminate barriers to timely treatment of severe mental illness. This site contains relevant information from accross the entire U.S.
Pennsylvania/Philadelphia Resources
- Community Behavioral Health
- Through a unique partnership between the city and the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia has created a comprehensive Department of Behavioral Health and Mental Retardation Services, serving the city’s 1.4 million residents. As a key component of this system, Philadelphia launched its own managed care organization, Community Behavioral Health, to provide behavioral health coverage for persons on Medicaid. It has been in operation in Philadelphia since February, 1997.
- Network of Care and Supports for Behavioral Health and Mental Retardation Services
- The organizations listed provide assistance, support, information and advocacy to behavioral health and mental retardation individuals, families and service providers. This site also features a nation-wide database of support services.
- Parents Involved Network (PIN)
- Parents Involved Network of Pennsylvania (PIN) is an organization that assists parents or caregivers of children and adolescents with emotional and behavioral disorders. PIN provides information, helps parents find services and will advocate on their behalf with any of the public systems that serve children. These include the mental health system, education, and other state and local child-serving agencies.
Pennsylvania Public Health Information Clearinghouse- The Pennsylvania Department of Health Public Health Information Clearinghouse (PADOHPHIC) operates as the information clearinghouse and referral center for the Pennsylvania Department of Health. In a statewide effort to promote healthy lifestyles for all Pennsylvanians, PADOHPHIC’s mission is to serve as a resource center and provide a wide range of health-related information.
- State Board of Social Workers, Marriage and Family Therapists and Professional Counselors
- The Board’s functions include promulgating rules and regulations, requiring applicants to pass examinations relating to their qualifications as a prerequisite to the issuance of a license and examining for, denying, approving, issuing, revoking, suspending or renewing such licenses.
UPENN Collaborative on Community Integration- The UPenn Collaborative on Community Integration, based at the University of Pennsylvania, is conducted in partnership with The Clearinghouse at the Mental Health Association of Southeastern Pennsylvania and The Matrix Center at Horizon House, Inc. Funded by the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR), this five-year project is the first of its kind to focus on community integration as it applies to people with psychiatric disabilities. The Collaborative will target obstacles that prevent people from being full members of their communities, develop supports to enhance community integration, and expand the range of opportunities for people who have mental illnesses to participate in their communities as active, equal members.
- AlleyDog.com: Psychology Resources
- Columbia Psychotherapy Associate’s Favorite Links Page
- General Mental Health Links
- Google: Addictions Directory Page
- Pam Pohly’s Net Guide
- refdesk.com: Mental Health
- Yahoo.com: Mental Health Organizations Directory
- www.health.gov


