Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About Drexel University

Nutrition

Databases Selected Web Sites
Books Associations and Organizations
Journals

Databases

AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access) — Provides access to the agricultural literature of the world and is the most comprehensive source of U.S. agricultural and life sciences information. AGRICOLA serves as the document locator and bibliographic control system for the National Agricultural Library (NAL) collection. It contains over 3.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture from 1979 to the present. Data is provided to Community of Science under contract with the National Technical Information Service.

Biological Sciences — An interdisciplinary database that offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, nutrition science, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.

Expanded Academic and ProQuest — These broad cross disciplinary resources partially cover the nutrition literature and some may be full-text.

Food Science and Technology Abstracts — Covers scientific journals relating to food science and technology published throughout the world, as well patents, books, conference proceedings, reports, theses, standards, legislation. All abstracts are in English and are prepared by specialist scientists and linguists, from work originally published worldwide in more than 40 different languages.

MEDLINE (via PubMed and OVID) — MEDLINE is the premier database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It contains over 12 million records of journal articles in all areas of the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text — Full text of journals covering sport, physical fitness, sports medicine, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, occupational health & therapy, public health and more.


Books

Searching the catalog for books on nutrition:

Try a keyword search: nutrition AND assessment
sport* AND nutrition*
Try a subject search: Malnutrition in Children
Vitamins — analysis
Browse the stacks: Physiology-Nutrition — QP141-
Energy Metabolism/Calorimetry — QU125-
Nutrition/Vitamins — QU145-
Home Economics-Nutrition — TX341- (HAGERTY only)
Diet Therapy/Nutrition Therapy — WB400- (HEALTH SCIENCES only)

Selected Reference Books:
Bender’s Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology (2006)

CRC Desk Reference for Nutrition

  • [PRINT] Hagerty Reference QP141 .B523 2006
  • [PRINT] QUEEN LN Reference-Dict.      QU 13 B486c 1998

Dietary reference intakes for energy, carbohydrate, fiber, fat, fatty acids, cholesterol, protein, and amino acids

Dietary reference intakes for water, potassium, sodium, chloride, and sulfate

Nutrition Handbook for Food Processors

Journals

Selected Web Resources

ben:BiosciEdNet – Digital library portal for teaching and learning in the biological sciences.  The BEN Portal provides access to education resources from BEN Collaborators and is managed by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Over 12,930 reviewed resources covering 77 biological sciences topics are available.  Access to some images and movies require registration, but all are free and well worth the extra effort.

Dietary Supplements Labels Database — Developed and managed by the United States National Library of Medicine.  The Dietary Supplements Labels Database offers information about ingredients in more than three thousand selected brands of dietary supplements. The Database can be searched by brand names, uses noted on product labels, specific active ingredients, and manufacturers. Warnings and Recalls from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), related to specific ingredients and supplement brands have also been provided.
Food and Nutrition Information Center — The Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) is located at the National Agricultural Library (NAL), part of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) and the Agricultural Research Service (ARS).

Institute of Medicine – The IOM was established under the charter of the National Academy of Sciences.  The IOM provides information on many aspects of public health, including Food and Nutrition.  Many of the IOM reports and projects are available for reading online free from the National Academies Press.  Just follow the “Read and Purchase” link.

United Nations Data — Here find numerous links to data and statistics on food and agriculture from FAO as collected by the United Nations.

Associations and Organizations


Page created by Peggy Dominy, dominymf@drexel.edu; adapted and maintained by Kathleen Turner khturner@drexel.edu.  Last updated 12/14/2010.

Copyright © 2012 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Wordpress Wordpress icon