| Databases | Journals |
| Clinical Tools | Associations and Organizations |
| E-books |
Databases
MEDLINE (via PubMed and OVID) — MEDLINE is the premier database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It contains over 20 million records in all areas of the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine.
PsycINFO (1967-present) – Covers books, dissertations and journals in the psychological and behavioral sciences, including the creative arts therapies. Uses the OVID interface and the Thesaurus of Psychological Indexing Terms.
Cochrane Library – The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes:
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
- Cochrane Methodology Register
- DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness)
- Health Technology Assessment
- NHS Economic Evaluation Database
PILOTS (Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress) — The PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage. Please note that despite Veterans Affairs sponsorship, database includes extensive coverage of child and adolescent psychiatry literature.
Clinical Tools
Dynamed — Find evidence-based answers to your clinical questions at the point-of-care using this reference tool that monitors hundreds of medical journals and includes over 3000 topics. Search by keyword or use the Browse by Category feature and select Psychiatry. Dynamed also includes drug information, patient education materials, and numerous medical calculators. Can request free serial number for use on mobile devices.
Epocrates — Provides clinical information at the point of care. Contains practical, peer-reviewed content with a unique patient-centered approach for access to continually updated integrated drug and disease information Premium features include pill identifier, alternative medicines, and a robust suite of calculators.
PubMed Clinical Queries – Offers specialized searches of the MEDLINE database to help clinicians quickly locate evidence-based literature.
MDConsult — Provides access to over 36 medical texts, articles from more than 46 clinical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, 2,500 patient education handouts, CME, and daily medical updates. Create a personal account to use MDConsult Mobile.
Electronic Books
Selected Titles
- Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Psychiatry, 2nd ed.
- Kaplan & Sadock’s Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry, 8th ed.
- DSM-IV -TR® / Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fourth Edition, Text Revision
- Oxford Textbook of Psychotherapy
- Clinical Neurology
- Behavioral Medicine: A Guide for Clinical Practice
- Harrison’s Online (featuring the complete contents of Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine, 18e)
- Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2012
Additional Electronic Books
Health Sciences Core E-books by Title
Health Sciences Core E-b00ks by Subject
Journals
Browse electronic journals in:
Electronic Journal Locator — Look up journal titles or browse additional topics.
GetIt Article Finder — Find Drexel-subscribed full-text sources for a specific journal article.
Associations and Organizations
- American Psychiatric Association
- American Academy of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry
- American Association for Geriatric Psychiatry
- American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology
- American Society for Adolescent Psychiatry
- National Institute of Mental Health
- National Alliance on Mental Illness
- World Health Organization / Mental Health
- World Psychiatric Association
Maintained by: Steve Bogel / sb332@drexel.edu
Last updated: October 25, 2011








