Suggested Databases
HealthSTAR – (1975 – present) Contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research, including: evaluation of patient outcomes; effectiveness of procedures, programs, products, services and processes; administration and planning of health facilities, services and manpower; health insurance; health policy; health services research; health economics and financial management; laws and regulation; personnel administration; quality assurance; licensure; and accreditation.
LexisNexis Academic Universe Large database covering federal and state court opinions, statutes, and regulations. Also has extensive coverage of news publications, news transcripts, and company information.
MEDLINE – (1947 – present) U.S. National Library of Medicine’s® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains over 18 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.
- MEDLINE via PubMed (free, direct access from National Library of Medicine
- MEDLINE via OVID (proprietary search interface)
PAIS International (1972-current) Covers articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, hearings and statistical directories about public affairs, including public policy and social issues.
Population Index (1986-2000 ) Population Index is the primary reference tool to access the world’s population literature. It presents an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics.
POPLINE (1827-current) focuses on particular developing-country issues including demography, AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases, maternal and child health, primary health care communication, and population and environment.
Simply Map A web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using United States demographic, business, and marketing data. Data sources include the U.S. Census and Census projections. (5 concurrent users maximum. Free personal registration is required for access.)
Urban Studies & Planning – Urban Studies & Planning: A SAGE Full-Text Collection includes the full text of 12 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 37 years, and encompasses over 2,500 articles.
Web of Knowledge – Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index, as well as Current Contents and Journal Citation Reports.
National Library of Medicine Resources for Public Health
For public health professionals:
- Environmental Health and Toxicology (specialized information resource)
- Decision Guide – Which environmental health resource should I use?
- WISER — DOWNLOADABLE app for mobile devices designed to assist first-responders in hazardous materials incidents. Use WebWISER for PC/web access.
- Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce — a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries which provides timely, convenient access to selected public health resources on the Internet. Includes sections on Grants and Funding, Education, Legislation and Policy, Conferences as well as an excellent guide to finding and using the literature of Public Health.
- HSRProj — Information about ongoing health services research and public health projects
For consumers:
- Toxtown — Interactive guide to potentially toxic substances and environmental health issues in everyday places
- Household Products Database — potential health effects of chemicals for common household products
Finding Journals
- Public Health E-journals (from Electronic Journal Locator subject listings)
- Public Health Periodicals (print and electronic, from Library Catalog)
Finding Books
- Selected Public Health E-Books
- Library Catalog (search by title, subject, author, keyword for print and electronic books)
Government Resources
City of Philadelphia Government
- Commission on Human Relations
- Department of Behavioral Health/Mental Retardation Services
- Department of Human Services
- Department of Public Health
- Office of Emergency Management
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Homepage
Departments:
- Aging
- Education
- Community and Economic Development
- Conservation and Environmental Resources
- Emergency Management
- Environmental Protection
- Health
- Insurance
- Public Welfare
Pennsylvania State Data Center – Official demographic and economic data.
Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs (Professional Licensing Boards & Commissions)
See also State and Local Government— Drexel Libraries’ Research Guide to Pennsylvania, Delaware, New Jersey State government resources, and Philadelphia and surrounding County resources.
Departments:
- Aging
- Developmental Services
- Education
- Emergency Management
- Environmental Protection
- Health and Safety
United States Government Agencies and Resources
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
- Administration for Children and Families (ACF)
- Administration on Aging (AoA)
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
- Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR)
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
- Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
- Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
- Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)
- Indian Health Service (IHS)
- National Institutes of Health (NIH)
- National Center on Minority Health and Health Disparities
- National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (Eunice Kennedy Shriver Institute)
- National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences – Library and Information Services
- National Library of Medicine: MEDLINE Plus (Consumer Health Information Portal)
- Office of the Inspector General (OIG)
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
Department of Housing and Urban Development
Environmental Protection Agency
FedStats portal for statistics from Federal agencies
National Library of Medicine Resources for Public Health
For public health professionals:
- Environmental Health and Toxicology (specialized information resource)
- Decision Guide – Which environmental health resource should I use?
- WISER — DOWNLOADABLE app for mobile devices designed to assist first-responders in hazardous materials incidents. Use WebWISER for PC/web access.
- Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce — a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries which provides timely, convenient access to selected public health resources on the Internet. Includes sections on Grants and Funding, Education, Legislation and Policy, Conferences as well as an excellent guide to finding and using the literature of Public Health.
- HSRProj — Information about ongoing health services research and public health projects
For consumers:
- Toxtown — Interactive guide to potentially toxic substances and environmental health issues in everyday places
- Household Products Database — potential health effects of chemicals for common household products
Academic Programs and Professional Associations:
- American Red Cross
- American Red Cross Blood Services Penn-Jersey Region, Philadelphia
- American Public Health Association
- American Social Health Association
- Association of Occupational & Environmental Clinics (AOEC)
- Hazardous Substance Research Centers
- National Association for Public Health Statistics and Information Systems (NAPHSIS)
Schools:
- Arizona University Graduate Program in Public Health
- Boston University School of Public Health
- Cambridge University Institute of Public Health (UK)
- Columbia University School of Public Health
- Drexel University School of Public Health
- Emory University Rollins School of Public Health
- Harvard University School of Public Health
- San Diego State University Graduate School of Public Health
- University at Albany, State University of New York School of Public Health
- University of Dundee Department of Epidemiology and Public Health (UK)
- University of Michigan School of Public Health
- University of Minnesota School of Public Health
- University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Public Health
- University of South Carolina School of Public Health
- University of South Florida College of Public Health
- University of Washington School of Public Health and Community Medicine
- Yale University School of Public Health
Page maintained by Kathleen Turner khturner@drexel.edu
Updated 8/19/2010








