| |
Print-friendly version
|
| |
|
| |
|
| |
|
| |
|
| |
|
| |
Biography Resource Center -- ELECTRONIC
Hundreds of biographies of historical figures from around the world. Search by name or use the "Biographical Facts Search" to browse by nationality, ethnicity, gender, occupation, etc. |
|
Encyclopedia Britannica -- ELECTRONIC
The world's premiere encyclopedia is at your fingertips online! Contains tens of thousands of high quality articles providing useful background information, as well as illustrations, maps, flags, and pictures. |
|
Historical Statistics of the United States-- ELECTRONIC
The standard source for quantitative facts about American history from the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes statistical data from 1619 to 2003, covering topics such as economics, government, demographics, religion, climate and more. Data is downloadable and customizable. |
| |
Oxford Reference Online -- ELECTRONIC
Provides online access to hundreds of dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference materials. Search the entire database, narrow your search by subject category, or explore individual reference tools. Categories of particular interest to history students are: History, Law, Politics & Social Sciences, and Military History. |
|
Statistical Abstract of the United States -- WWW
Produced by the U.S. Census Bureau, this resource is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Link goes to current version; click button for "Earlier Editions" to gain access to editions going back to 1878. |
| |
|
| |
|
| |
Searching the catalog for books and other materials concerning history: |
| |
Try an LC subject search: |
World War 1914-1918 (use for World War I)
World War 1939-1945 (use for World War II)
United States - History - 20th Century |
| |
Try a keyword search: |
Guatemala and history
Middle East and conflict |
| |
Try an author search: |
Franklin, Benjamin
LaFeber, Walter |
| |
Browse the 2nd floor stacks: |
Word History - D
US History - E
US Local/Regional History - F |
| |
Search history e-books: |
ACLS Humanities E-book Project -- ELECTRONIC
Offers a searchable collection of over 1500 full-text books, many of them dealing with historical topics, as well as reviews. |
| |
[Top] |
| |
|
| |
|
|
America: History and Life -- ELECTRONIC
Historical coverage of the United States from prehistory to the present; covers articles written from 1964-present. |
|
C.R.I.S. (Combined Retrospective Index to Journals in History: 1838-1974) -- PRINT
REF Z6205.C18 (11 volumes)
Volumes 1-4 cover World History; volumes 5-9 cover US History; volumes 10 and 11 are author indexes. Very short entries with keyword, reference title (article title), author, year, volume, journal and page. The journals are numbered to save space. Full journal titles are listed in the back of each volume. Incomparable history index for its range of coverage, going back much further than most electronic resources. |
| |
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine -- ELECTRONIC
Provides searchable access to citations for journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields. Coverage is for items published from 1975 to the present. |
| |
History Reference Center -- ELECTRONIC
Includes full text from thousands of reference sources covering historical topics from pre-history to the present day throughout the world. "Timeline" options allows you to focus your search on a particular time period of world history or United States history. |
|
Historical Abstracts -- ELECTRONIC
Historical coverage of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present; covers articles written from 1955-present. |
| |
JSTOR -- ELECTRONIC
Searchable full text collection of journal articles on various subjects, including over thirty history journals. |
| |
The Nation -- ELECTRONIC
Full text, searchable version of The Nation, a left-leaning news and politics journal, from 1865-current (latest month not available in full text). |
| |
Project MUSE -- ELECTRONIC
Searchable collection of full text journals; includes access to more than forty history journals. |
| |
[Top] |
| |
|
| |
|
| |
Electronic Newspapers -- ELECTRONIC
Drexel University Libraries page providing links to various electronic news sources; most are more recent rather than deeply "historical." |
|
Free Library of Philadelphia - Central Branch
1901 Vine Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
(between 19th and 20th on the B. Franklin Parkway)
215-686-5322
Houses an excellent collection of historical newspapers on microfilm, including a large number of local and regional newspapers. |
| |
Lexis-Nexis Academic -- ELECTRONIC
Searchable full text database of international, national, state, and local newpapers. Coverage goes back only to the early 1980s in most cases. |
|
New York Times (Current) (1980-Present) -- ELECTRONIC
Full text of the New York Times from 1980 to present (no images). Also includes full text of the New York Times Magazine and the New York Time Book Review from 1997 to present. |
|
New York Times (Historical) (1851-2003) -- ELECTRONIC
Complete full text of the New York Times back issues now available online! Search by topic or browse through an issue. Full page images available, along with the ability to look at a particular issue page by page. Print out or e-mail individual article "clippings." |
| |
[Top] |
| |
|
| |
|
|
Drexel University Archives
Drexel University Archives and Special Collections at Hagerty Library contain archival material concerning the history of Drexel University. The Archives and Special Collections on Women in Medicine & Homeopathy contains records of the history of Woman's Medical College and Hahnemann University. |
| |
In the First Person -- ELECTRONIC
An index to letters, diaries, oral histories and personal narratives. Searchable by historical events, subjects, places, and more. Contains some access to full text and audio files. |
| |
NARA: US National Archives and Records Administration -- ELECTRONIC
NARA is a good source for finding government records and archival materials. Note the Online Databases and Tools section on the lower right-hand corner of their homepage. The NARA Mid-Atlantic Region Archives Facility is located at 900 Market Street in Philadelphia. |
| |
NUCMC: National Union Catalog of Manuscripts Collections -- ELECTRONIC
NUCMC is a free-of-charge,online cooperative cataloging program operated by the Library of Congress. Please note: For a completer search, you must search both the RLG Union Catalog and the OCLC Catalog. Contains only those records entered after 1985. For records cataloged prior to 1986, please see the print version of the NUCMC (below). |
| |
NUCMC: National Union Catalog of Manuscripts Collections -- PRINT
Hagerty National Bib Z6620.U5 N3 Z6620.U5 N3 Index 1959-1969
Contains manuscript records entered by libraries from 1959 forward. Hagerty's holdings cover an eleven-year period from 1959-1969. For coverage closing the gap between 1969 and the electronic coverage begun in 1986 (see electronic NUCMC above), see the NUCMC hard copy held in the University of Pennsylvania's Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks. |
|
PACSCL: Philadelphia Area Consortium of Special Collections Libraries -- WWW
Find weblinks to a number of archives, special collections, and specialized research libraries in the greater Philadelphia area. Many of the organizations provide links to their library catalogs and online finding aids. |
| |
WorldCat -- ELECTRONIC
Search for archival materials in WorldCat by selecting the "Archival Materials" box on the "Limit Type to" section of the search form. Duplicates materials in OCLC section of online NUCMC (above) but has a more user-friendly search interface and record display. |
|
Original Sources -- ELECTRONIC
Contains original source documents, critical selections, and acclaimed works from US and world history, as well as related fields. Includes full text of more than 350,00 documents and more than 5,000 complete books. |
| |
[Top] |
| |
|
| |
|
| |
American Historical Association -- WWW
Website for the major professional association for American historians. Includes information about graduate programs in history, job and career information, and book awards and fellowships. |
|
American Memory -- WWW
From the Library of Congress. Provides access to more than seven million digital items from more than 100 historical collections, including written & spoken word, sound recordings, still & moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. |
|
The Avalon Project -- WWW
A project of Yale Law School, this site provides full text of documents in law, history, and dilomacy from pre-18th century to the most recent materials. Browseable by time period and subject. |
|
eHistory -- WWW
An excellent site produced by the Department of History at Ohio State University. Contains primary sources, maps & images, book reviews, multimedia resources, and more. Much of this material can be used, with proper citation, in student papers and projects. |
| |
Voice of the Shuttle - History -- WWW
A web portal from the University of California, Santa Barbara. Contains links to high-quality web resources of interest to those studying history. |