Print-friendly version
  Hospitality
 
 
 
  Finding Books
  Searching the catalog for books on hospitality:
  Try a keyword search: tourism and China
restaurant* and design
  Try a subject search: Food Service -- Prices
Hospitality industry management
  [Top]
 
  Finding Articles
ABI/Inform Global -- ELECTRONIC
ABI/inform is the database to use when looking for a broad range of articles from scholarly, trade, and popular business publications. It contains full text articles from over 600 business publications as well as abstracts and citations for over 1300 publications. To search for hospitality-related information, try using subjects such as hotels & motels, food service & restaurants, or travel & tourism.
Business & Company Resource Center -- ELECTRONIC
You can use this database to look up information about the hospitality industry or find articles about a particular company. Periodicals in Business & Company Resource Center include full text of trade publications, popular business magazines, and some scholarly publications. Articles cover company profiles, trends, brand information, rankings, company histories, chronologies.
Business & Industry -- ELECTRONIC
Business & Industry covers over 600 leading trade and business sources, over half of which are full text. It brings together company, industry, market, and product information.
Business Source Premier -- ELECTRONIC
This database offer indexes to 3,800 scholarly business journals (including the Harvard Business Review) covering management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business including full text for nearly 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications.
best resource Hospitality and Tourism Complete -- ELECTRONIC
Hospitality and Tourism Complete is the resource to use for articles from hospitality and tourism journals. This database covers over 300 publications and dates from the mid-1960s to today.
LexisNexis Academic -- ELECTRONIC
LexisNexis Academic provides access to a variety of major newspapers including the New York Times and the Times of London. You can also use LexisNexis to look at magazine articles and news wires. Use the "guided news search feature" for more precise searching.
ProQuest -- ELECTRONIC
An excellent multidisciplinary databases, Proquest offers full text for nearly 2,000 journals spanning many academic fields. Full text is available for about one half of the journals included, with graphics available for many of the full text articles.
Wall Street Journal -- ELECTRONIC
Electronic access to the Wall Street Journal spans from January 1982. Be aware that stock information and classifieds are not included. 
  [Top]
 
  Hospitality Research
best resource Business & Company Resource Center -- ELECTRONIC
Use the "Industry" search to find industry information by SIC/NAICS code or by keyword. Along with news articles, investment reports, rankings, and market research.
Business & Industry -- ELECTRONIC
To find hospitality industry overviews using this database, use the Concept Term menu to choose Industry Forecasts or Industry Overview and the Industry menu to select Travel & Leisure.
Hoover's Online -- ELECTRONIC
Hoover's provides insight into about 300 different industries divided into 28 sectors. First, choose the "Companies and industries" button on the top on the screen. Click on "Industries" on the left side of the screen, and then on "Industry Snapshots" to view the list of industries. Try looking at the following industry overviews: Airlines, Beverages, Food, Gambling, Restaurants, or Travel Services & Lodging.
best resource IBISWorld -- ELECTRONIC
IBISWorld offers industry reports covering over 700 US industries (at the 5-digit NAICS level) and provide key statistics, market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, and industry outlook. Browse the industry reports under Accomodations and Food Service to find the hospitality industry related reports.
best resource Mintel Reports -- ELECTRONIC
Mintel Reports is an excellent database for finding market research reports on the following subjects: consumer goods, travel and tourism, retail, and food and drink. Each report includes section son market drivers, market size and trends, market segmentation, and advertising and promotion. Note: You must sign up for your own individual login to use this database.
ValueLine -- ELECTRONIC
ValueLine also contains terrific one-page industry snapshots. The industry surveys are found in both the ValueLine Investment Survey and the ValueLine Investment Survey Expanded Edition. Use the "Lookup Industry" feature on the left side of the screen. Then click on the .pdf icon next to "Hotel & Gaming."
  [Top]
 
  Company Information
Business & Company Resource Center -- ELECTRONIC
Use Business & Company Resource Center as a starting place for looking up information on companies. Enter your company name or its ticker symbol in the "Company" search. This will give you the company's address, a short description of the company, SIC codes, annual sales and employee numbers, financial information, and the names of primary officers. The tabs along the top of the page also contain information including investment reports, rankings, and industry overviews.
best resource Hoover's Online -- ELECTRONIC
Hoovers offers profiles of more than 50,000 U.S. and international companies. Each profile may include company description, historical profile, competitors, financials, industry information, and biographies of executives. Use the "advanced search" feature for more search options and flexibility.
best resource Mergent Online -- ELECTRONIC
Mergent Online is one-stop shopping for company information. Get in-depth reports on public companies including annual reports, SEC filings, histories, and company highlights. Search by name or by ticker symbol.
ValueLine -- ELECTRONIC
ValueLine offers terrific one-page company snapshots. Look at stock information, outlook, and financials all on a single page! For large companies, use the traditional Value Line Investment Survey. For small and mid-cap companies, use the Value Line Expanded Edition. Use the Lookup Company feature on the left side of the screen to search for companies by company name, ticker symbol, or industry.
  [Top]
 
  Statistics
Tablebase -- ELECTRONIC
This easy-to-use database contains tables and text from over 1000 publications. Along with simple keyword searching, users can also limit searches by choosing from lists of concept terms, marketing terms, countries, industries, and document types.
Emily Missner Devaney
Emily Missner
Librarian for Business, Economics, and Hospitality Management

Hours M-F: 8am-5pm


Hagerty Library, Room 137
edm25@drexel.edu
AOL IM: drexbizlibrarian
Yahoo IM: drexbizlibrarian
215-895-6164

Where's Emily right now?

If I'm not online, please leave a message with your contact info.



Hagerty Library Reference Desk

Reference Desk Hours

Reference Desk Phone:
215-895-2755

Content Editor:
Content editor
Content Editor Email:
Content editor email
Last Content Update:
March 28, 2008





Drexel University Libraries | 33rd & Market Streets | Philadelphia, PA, USA 19104 | (215) 895-1500
Copyright © 2008 Drexel University Libraries

Modified 11-Jun-2008 Drexel Libraries Home Law Library Home Contact Us Site Search/Index Feedback/Corrections