- Facts and Background Materials
- Biographical Information
- Finding Books
- Tests and Measurement
- Finding Articles
- Selected Web Resources
Facts and Background Materials
- Comprehensive Clinical Psychology — ELECTRONIC
10 vols. Each volume covers a particular aspect of clinical psychology, such as Research Methods, Assessment, Clinical Geropsychology, Health Psychology, etc. Within each volume, there are substantial articles on more focused topics, written by experts in their fields.
Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science — PRINT, ELECTRONIC
2010, 4th ed. Leading Psychology encyclopedia with coverage of major disorders, concepts, and researchers in the field. Note: electronic version is to 3rd ed.
- Dictionary of Biological Psychology— PRINT
REF QP360.D52 2001
Covers key concepts in psychology as they overlap with biological processes.
Dictionary of Psychology– ELECTRONIC
Thousands of concise definitions of important psychological terms and concepts.- Elsevier’s Dictionary of Psychological Theories — ELECTRONIC
This 2006 e-book covers the origination, development, and evolution of thousands of key psychological concepts from 1964-present. Entries for the theorists also. With citations for further reading.
Encyclopedia of Psychology — PRINT and ELECTRONIC
REF BF31 .E52 2000
8 vols., American Psychological Association. Covers all areas that have developed since the field emerged formally as a scientific discipline. Last volume includes a synoptic outline and an index.- Encyclopedia of Psychotherapy — ELECTRONIC
This 2002 e-book has broad but not exhaustive coverage of psychotherapy; experts in the field address over 200 topics, including types of psychotherapy, relationship of psychotherapy to comprehensive health care, and the scientific basis of psychotherapy. With references. - Handbook of individual differences in social behavior — PRINT
Hagerty 2nd Floor HM1033 .H355 2009
This new Social Psychology handbooks gives an introduction to research methods for the field and has chapters on topics such as Attachment styles, Openness to experience, Rejection sensitivity, and Self-monitoring.
Handbook of Psychology — PRINT and ELECTRONIC
REF BF121.H1955 2003
12 vols. Each volume has a particular focus, such as Experimental Psychology, Developmental Psychology, Clinical Psychology, etc. Substantial articles written by experts explore various concepts within each volume. Selected volumes are also available electronically.- NEUROSCIENCEnetBASE — ELECTRONIC
This resource includes over 140 fully searchable ebooks in the topics of Clinical Neuroscience, Neuropsychology, and Neuroscience .
Sage Research Methods Online — ELECTRONIC
SRMO is a powerful research methods tool, linking SAGE’s renowned research methods content with sophisticated search tools to help researcher answer their research methods questions like never before. The site contains 504 book titles, including the entire QASS (aka Little Green Book) series, 6 dictionaries, 4 encyclopedias and a Major Work containing journal articles. They also have a visual Methods Map tool and playlist functionality called SRMO Lists.
Finding Books
- Searching the catalog for books on psychology:
- Try a keyword search:
depression and teen*
suicide and prevention - Try a subject search:
Men – psychology
Psychology – girls - Browse the 2nd floor stacks:
Psychology – BFs
Finding Articles
Annual Review of Clinical Psychology — ELECTRONIC
Great source of review articles that can give the “state of the argument” coverage to a topic. Searchable full-text from vol. 1, 2005 to the present.
Annual Review of Psychology — ELECTRONIC
Searchable full-text from vol. 1, 1950 to the present.
- Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) — ELECTRONIC
ASSIA indexes over 500 journals covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. - Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text — ELECTRONIC
Criminal Justice Abstracts contains comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines. This database now contains the full text of many important criminal justice journals. - ERIC (EbscoHost) — ELECTRONIC
Although education is the focus of this database, it includes citations to many articles and reports related to psychology and the cognitive sciences. - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) — ELECTRONIC
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including language learning and development, phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Includes coverage of sociolinguistics and psycholinguistics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers. - MIT Cognet — ELECTRONIC
MIT CogNet is an online location for the brain and cognitive science community’s scientific research and interchange. MIT CogNet provides access to a comprehensive platform which includes pre-eminent resources from several fields, such as artificial intelligence, linguistics, neuroscience, psychology, philosophy and education. The platform provides an ever-growing electronic collection of relevant books, journals, conference proceedings, calls for papers and grey literature, and provides searchable access to ten major reference works published by the MIT Press; Over 530 MIT Press books in full-text PDF; the full text of six MIT Press journals; and abstracts from more than 25 journals from other publishers like Cambridge University Press, the British Psychological Society, Kingston Press, Ltd., and Lawrence Erlbaum Associates. - PILOTS (Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress) – ELECTRONIC
The PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.
PsycBOOKS — ELECTRONIC
A full-text database of over 1700 books and 26,000 chapters in the American Psychological Association’s array of electronic ebooks.- PsycCRITIQUES– ELECTRONIC
Full-text reviews of books, popular films, videos, and software relevant to psychology. Reviews focus on current media, with most being from the current year.
PsycINFO — ELECTRONIC
Indexes journal articles, dissertations, books, and more in the psychological and behavioral sciences. This is the primary journal index for Psychology.- Science Direct — ELECTRONIC
ScienceDirect is a search platform which provides access to more than 1000 full-text journals in a wide range of subject areas. Broad holdings in the sciences. Coverage for some journals goes back into the 1920s and some history of science and mathematics journals are included in this database.
Biographical Information
- Biographical Dictionary of Psychology — PRINT
Hagerty 2nd Floor and Hahnemann BF109.A1 Z85 1984
Provides short biographical statements on several hundred deceased psychologists and others who contributed to the field. Time coverage is1600-1967. Each entry includes additional biographical references. - Biography Resource Center — ELECTRONIC
Hundreds of biographies of historical figures from around the world. Search by name or use the “Biographical Facts Search” to browse by nationality, ethnicity, gender, occupation, etc. - Great Psychologists and Their Times — PRINT and ELECTRONIC
Hagerty 2nd Floor and Hahnemann BF109.A1 S56 2002
Attempts to answer the question “Who becomes a great psychologist?” by considering the output, personal characteristics, life-span development, and other factors in the lives of prominent psychologists. - Portraits of Pioneers in Psychology Vols. I, II, VI — PRINT
Vol. I: Hagerty 2nd Floor BF109.A1 P67 1991
Vol.II: Hagerty 2nd Floor BF109.A1 P67 1996 and Hahnemann BF 109 P853 1996
Vol. VI: Hagerty 2nd Floor BF109.A1 P853 2006
Presents the pioneering contributions to the field of psychology of around 20 men and women per volume. Includes chapters on Freud, James, Hull, Watson, Calkins, Wertheimer, Tolman, Dorothea Dix, John Dewey, Robert Yerkes, and Stanley Milgram among others.
Tests and Measurement
ETS Testlink — ELECTRONIC
An extensive listing of over 25,000 tests and other measurement devices from the early 1900s to the present.
HAPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments) – ELECTRONIC
Provides primary and secondary source information regarding measurement instruments for the health and psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and more.
Handbook of psychological assessment — PRINT
Hagerty 2nd Floor BF176 .G76 2009
The new 5th edition of this important handbook. Introduces the practice and context of psychological testing followed by chapters are particular types of assessments and their role in treatment planning. The final chapter covers the construction of a psychological report.- Measures for Clinical Practice: A Sourcebook — PRINT
REF BF176.C66 2000
2 vols. Includes information and complete full text measurement tools for a variety of clinical purposes. Vol. 1 covers couples, families, and children, while Vol. 2 focuses on adults.
Mental Measurements Yearbook– PRINT and ELECTRONIC
Provides reviews of psychological testing instruments, and includes price and contact information for obtaining test. The link above leads to the ELECTRONIC version (Note: 1 concurrent user at a time). Click here for PRINT holdings. Please note that each yearbook is independent, not cumulative. Drexel has incomplete print holdings; these are now supplemented by access to the electronic format, which covers the 9th yearbook to the most current.- Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education and Business — PRINT
Multiple locations BF 176 .T43 (1983-2008)
Brief descriptions of a variety of tests, giving test population, purpose, description, time to administer, scoring, and publisher.
Selected Web Resources
This list includes only a small fraction of useful web resources for this field. More web sites, which have undergone the same selection process, as available in my Pinboard tags on the right-hand side of this research guide.
American Psychological Association– WWW
Largest professional association for psychologists. Site contains news, journal articles, professional tools, and links to web sites for current or hot topics in psychology.
- Classics in the History of Psychology– WWW
“…full texts of a large number of historically significant public domain documents from the scholarly literature of psychology and allied disciplines…” Search by author, title or keyword. Links to texts at other sites. Developed by Christopher D. Green, York University, Toronto, Canada. - Encyclopedia of Psychology — WWW
Online “encyclopedia” of weblinks to high-quality websites related to psychology. Forgive the aging interface, the content is constantly updated.
Intute: Psychology — WWW
Gateway to psychology resources on the Internet. Curated by subject-specialist librarians (just like this Research Guide, actually). The main focus of coverage is on areas of psychology relevant to the social sciences. Formerly SOSIG Psychology.
- Psych Central — WWW
Maintained by Dr. John Grohol and a staff of contributing editors. Meant for a public audience. Contains an excellent resource directory, information about symptoms & treatments, quizzes & tests, and a medication library. - Psych Web — WWW
Psychology-related web resources for students and teachers of psychology. Includes scholarly resources,self-help resources, tip sheets for psych majors, and more. - PsychExperiments — WWW
“PsychExperiments is an on-line cognitive and social psychology laboratory site…It consists of a set of interactive experiments, a cumulative data archive, download utilities for both data and experiment source code, downloadable Excel macros for analyzing data from the experiments, and support materials for those who want to use and/or develop experiments at the site.” Funded by the National Science Foundation and hosted by the University of Mississippi. - WebMD – Mental Health Center — WWW
Consumer mental health information from the popular WebMD site. Written for the layperson and covering a variety of mental health conditions and treatments.










