Drexel University Libraries
home home catalog resources study guides services about the libraries
Drexel University Libraries
                 
 
Identification Keys

Finding Books Fauna
Finding Articles Geologic
Handbooks and Encyclopedias Interactive Keys (Downloadable Software)
Flora

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on Identification Keys:
Try a keyword search: identification AND mammal*
identification AND reptile*
key AND identification AND plant*
Try a subject search: identification- echinodermata- florida
dicotyledons- illinois- identification
marine invertebrates- identification
Browse the stacks: Identification guides will be distributed throughout the collection, associated with species, genera and kingdoms but generally in QK’s and QL’s.

Finding Articles

Biological Sciences - ELECTRONIC
An interdisciplinary database that offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.   Use “Identification Keys” as a descriptor.
BioOne - ELECTRONIC
Columbia Earthscape - ELECTRONIC

Handbooks and Encyclopedias

American Insects : A Handbook of the Insects of America North of Mexico - PRINT
Hagerty Reference  QL474 .A76 2000
Birds of North America - PRINT
Hagerty Reference  QL681 .A625 2001
A Dictionary of Entomology - PRINT
Hagerty Reference  QL462.3 .G67 2001
Encyclopedia of Minerals - PRINT
Hagerty Reference  QE355 .R6
Grzimek’s Animal Life Encyclopedia - PRINT
Hagerty Reference  QL7 .G7813 2004
Marine mammals of the world : a comprehensive guide to their identification - PRINT
Hagerty 2nd Floor QL713.2 .J44 2008
A manual of mammalogy : with keys to families of the world - PRINT
Hagerty 2nd Floor  QL703 .M375 2001
Turtles of the United States and Canada - PRINT
Hagerty 2nd Floor  QL666.C5 E76 1994

Flora

Pennsylvania/Mid Atlantic
Bay Grass - WWW
Grasses of the Chesapeake Bay.
Common Trees of Pennsylvania - WWW
57 of the most common trees from Pennsylvania Dept of Conservation and Natural Resources.
Kirby Key: Online Plant Idenfication Guide - WWW
Plants of the Kirby Park Natural Area; developed by the students and faculty of the Rosenthal Herbarium, Wilkes University, Wilkes-Barre, PA.
Pine Barrens of New Jersey - WWW
Herbateous Plants are Complete (except for aquatic & grasslike) Trees & Shrubs are Still Incomplete. A nice site with color photos.
Northeast Wetland Flora - WWW
North America
Aquatic Vascular Plants - WWW
Focus on Hawaii, but application is wider.
Midwestern Wetland Flora - WWW
300 Midwestern wetland plants from the Northern Prairie Wildlife Research Center.
Gymnosperms of the Southeastern U.S. - WWW
Identification Keys - WWW
List of links to keys.
Global
ActKey - WWW
This is an interactive identification program providing keys to floras of China, North America, Madagascar, Borneo, and the world including Families of Angiosperms: Punched Cards by Hansen & Rahn, Punch Card Key to the Families of Dicotyledons of the Western Hemisphere South of the United States By Donald R. Simpson and David Janos, Generic Tree Flora of Madagascar by George E. Schatz, Trees and Shrubs of Borneo by James K. Jarvie & Ermayanti, Genera of Brassicaceae of the world by Ihsan Al-Shehbaz, and keys to many large taxa, particularly for China.
Flowering Plant Family Identification - WWW
World wide coverage.
Lichens (Foliicolous) - WWW
A semi-interactive tool for the identification of genera, species and subspecific taxa of lichens commonly found on leaves.

Fauna

Arthropods - WWW
Invertebrate animals such as insects, arachnids, and crustaceans.
Beetles (Tiger) - WWW
Information for the identifying all North American and most Central American tiger beetle species and subspecies.
Birds - WWW
Visual Key for Bird Identification. Covers Waterfowl & Marshland Birds, Predatory Birds, Upland Ground Birds, Perching & Tree-Clinging and Song Birds.
Bird Calls - WWW
A guide to identify sounds made by birds including sound files.
Corals - WWW
Polychotomous identification key for common Florida zooxanthellate corals.
Fish - WWW
Freshwater fish of South Carolina.
Insects - WWW
Part of an expansive site on insects. Worth exploring.
Insects (Singing) - WWW
These are Crickets, Katydids, and Cicadas.
Lizards - WWW
Part of the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation’s Amphibian and Reptile Atlas.
Moths - WWW
Key to the superfamilies of the Lepidoptera with special reference to North and South Dakota.
Pond Life Identification Kit - WWW
A simple guide to small and microscopic pond life, with links to Micscape resources.
Pond Animals- With and Without Legs - WWW
Snakes - WWW
Part of the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation’s Amphibian and Reptile Atlas.
Turtles - WWW
Part of the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation’s Amphibian and Reptile Atlas.
Spiders - WWW
An animated key, focused on european species.
Multispecies Sites
FishBase - WWW
29300 species worldwide.
Florida Department of Environmental Protection - WWW
These files are all keys for the identification of various kinds of organisms. They were created by or for the Florida Department of Environmental Protection, or its predecessor agencies.
Cortland Herpetology Connection - WWW
New York State Department of Environmental Conservation’s Amphibian and Reptile Atlas.

Geologic

Fossils - WWW
If you don’t know what kind of fossil you have, this site from the Kentucky Geological Survey was compiled to try and point you in the right direction. It provides both descriptive and shape keys.
Rocks - WWW
Identification key to a wide range of rock types.
Rocks (Metamorphic) - WWW
A colorful simple quick key to metamorphic rocks.

Interactive Keys (Downloadable Software)

An interactive key is an interactive computer program in which the user enters attributes (character-state values) of the specimen. The program eliminates taxa whose attributes do not match those of the specimen. This process is continued until only one taxon remains. The taxon attributes are usually stored as a characters-by-taxa ‘matrix’.
Intkey - WWW
Developed by CSIRO as part of DELTA ((DEscription Language for TAxonomy) a flexible and powerful method of recording taxonomic descriptions for computer processing. It has been adopted as a standard for data exchange by the International Taxonomic Databases Working Group. Datasets for use with Intkey.
Meka - WWW
MEKA (pronounced “mecca”) is an interactive Multiple-Entry Key Algorithm to enable rapid identification of biological specimens. Three keys to flowering plant groups are included in this self-extracting archive:

  • “WOODY”
    Key to Wetland Woody Plants of North America by John T. Kartesz, Director, Biota of North America Program, North Carolina Botanic Garden, Chapel Hill. This key is copyrighted by Dr. Kartesz and should not be distributed further without his permission. He may be reached by telephone at 919-962-0578. This is a draft version. Please report any inaccuracies to Dr. Kartesz. The Woody key was developed through funding provided by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, National Wetlands Inventory. Please contact Porter B. Reed for further information.
  • “ANGIOFAM”
    Key to Angiosperm (Flowering Plant) Families of the World by Bertel Hansen and Knud Rahn of the Botanical Museum and Library of the University of Copenhagen. The copyright is held by the Natural History Museum, London.
  • “TROPIFAM”
    Key to Woody Plant Families of the Neotropics by Donald R. Simpson and David Janos of the Field Museum of Natural History, Chicago.

A Comparison of Interactive Identification Programs - WWW
by M.J. Dallwitz

Drexelbioscience

Jetson Green
10/7/08 - Jetson Green is a daily updated >>>


DrexelChemistry

Chemical Heritage Foundation–Grand Opening
10/7/08 - Ten years in the making, the >>>


DrexelMath

Math Qualifying Exam
10/7/08 - Dear Drexel Math Graduate Students, Will you >>>


DrexelPhysics

2008 Winners of the Ig Nobel Prize
10/7/08 - What can I say?  It’s Friday >>>


Quick Search