image1 image2 image3 image4 image5 image6 image7 image8

Library Science

Finding Books Statistics
Finding Articles Select Web Resources
Encyclopedias & Reference Tools

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on library science:

Try a keyword search: library AND information AND seek*
Try a subject search: Library Science
Try browsing the LC call numbers for info science related topics:

Finding Articles

ERIC on EBSCO 1967-present (see SFX links for full text) — ELECTRONIC
Journal articles, agency reports, and much more. The authoritative repository for the teaching discipline published by the U.S. Department of Education. SEARCH TIPS: On the EBSCO platform, try “limiting your results” using the new “Education Level” or “Peer-Reviewed” option. Or, use the thesaurus to identify your terms. Then with the Advanced Search, use the drop down menus to specify your terms as “SU Descriptors,” placing quotes around any search phrases.
ERIC.ed.gov – on free web (see “Find in a Library” links for full text) — WEB
SEARCH TIPS: On the free web platform, use the thesaurus to identify your search terms. Then in Advanced Search, specify your terms as “descriptors” and place quotes around them.

For help, consult the guide to ERIC resources. I recommend trying your search in both this EBSCO and the free web version of ERIC – results may differ!

best resource
Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA) — ELECTRONIC
Library and Information Science Abstracts is an international abstracting and indexing tool designed for library professionals and other information specialists. LISA currently abstracts over 440 periodicals from more than 68 countries and in more than 20 different languages.
best resource
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) — ELECTRONIC
Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Many abstracts lead to full-text via SFX.
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text — ELECTRONIC
Library and Information Science Journals Indexed from 1982, abstracted from 1984, and available in full text from 1994.
Library Literature & Information Science Retrospective: 1905-1983 — ELECTRONIC
Indexing of over 1,200 periodicals, with citations to more than 500,000 articles, including book reviews. Search hundreds of periodicals, plus books, book chapters and library school theses.
Use the Drexel e-journal directory to search by keyword (for terms such as “library”) or browse by category (such as library & information science) then browse that journal’s contents
Need older articles?
Try Library Lit & Info Sci Retrospective, or contact your librarian about using the following print indexes:


Encyclopedias & Reference Tools

best resource Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science — ELECTRONIC & PRINT
Ref Z1006 .E57 2003
With more than 10,000 references this resource targets new developments in the distribution, acquisition, and development of print and online media.
Annual Review of Information Science and Technology — PRINT
Ref Z699.A1 A65 (1966 – 2009)
Provides a “state of the art” annual look at hot topics in the field by leading authors from a core association in infosci & tech field – ASIST including several iSchool faculty. Use this separate online index of entry titles back to the 1966 to identify the authoritative statement on most core infosci & tech topics in 30-50 page entries with extensive bibliographies.  A “must-have” for researchers seeking to get grounded in the literature for any major infosci & tech research.
best resource International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences — ELECTRONIC & PRINT
Ref H41 .I58 2001
This fantastic resource includes articles on libraries, archives, and much more under the main entry “Information Science and Technology.” Online version updated annually.
Online Dictionary of Library and Information Science — WWW
A comprehensive resource for terminology used in all types of libraries, with more than 4,000 terms and cross-references (last updated April, 2006). Its content includes terms from publishing, printing, literature, and computer science where they are relevant to both library professionals and laypersons.

Statistics

best resource ACRL’s Academic Library Trends & Statistics – ELECTRONIC
Survey data from ACRL 2006 edition now linked above. Subscribed access to a complete data set from ACRL’s comprehensive statistics-gathering project encompassing all academic libraries.
Association of Research Libraries (ARL) — WWW
Statisical reports some of which Drexel has cataloged individually.
best resource American Library Association — WWW
Office for Research and Statistics
Bowker Annual: Library and Book Trade Almanac — PRINT
The industry standard for tracking annual changes is book prices.
Ref Z731 .A47
best resource National Center for Educational Statistics, Library Statistics Program – WWW
American Library Directory — PRINT
A classified list of libraries in the USA & Canada with annually updated personnel data & some statistics. (FYI – trial access to online version is free with registration.)
Ref Desk Z731 .A53
Public Library Data Service statistical report — PRINT
Ref Z731 .P94x
Salary Surveys:
ALA-APA Library Salary Database — ELECTRONIC & PRINT
Includes librarians and library technicians.
American Association of Law Libraries (AALL) Ref Z682.3 .B54 — PRINT
Association of Research Libraries (ARL) Ref Z682.3 .A88x — WWW & PRINT
Special Libraries Association (SLA) Ref Z682.3 .S58x — ELECTRONIC & PRINT
Professional associations often provide statistics via their web sites. Try our “guide to library associations” or search the Encyclopedia of Associations for more options.

Select Web Resources

Internet Public Library
One of the best known free web directories and virtual reference services on the web – powered by Drexel I-School and others, using library science student volunteers from around N. America.
Select Library-related E-newsletters
LIS News – a weekly blast for true librariana news junkies. Read and submit it!
LJ Academic Newsletter – weekly academic-focused news from a leading industry journal.
ResourceShelf – high value business and academic focussed library news, twice monthly.

Copyright © 2009 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by WordPress