image1 image2 image3 image4 image5 image6 image7 image8

Health Informatics

Finding Books Associations
Finding Articles Select Web Resources
Reference Resources Definitions & Topics

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on health informatics:
Try a keyword search: clinical AND information systems
Try a browsing by Library of Congress (LC) subject heading or call number:

LC Subject Heading LC Call Number
QH324
R858


Finding Articles

best resource ACM Digital Library & Guide to Computing Literature — ELECTRONIC
The ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library includes abstracts, reviews, and the full-text of articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since 1985. The Guide to Computing Literature has abstracts-only of non-ACM computng literature. Selective coverage of bioinformatics, decision support systems, electronic physician records, information retrieval, medical language processing and other topics.

ERIC on EBSCO 1967-present (see SFX links for full text) — ELECTRONIC
Journal articles, agency reports, and much more. The authoritative repository for the teaching discipline published by the U.S. Department of Education. SEARCH TIPS: On the EBSCO platform, try “limiting your results” using the new “Education Level” or “Peer-Reviewed” option. Or, use the thesaurus to identify your terms. Then with the Advanced Search, use the drop down menus to specify your terms as “SU Descriptors,” placing quotes around any search phrases.
ERIC.ed.gov – on free web (see “Find in a Library” links for full text) — WEB
SEARCH TIPS: On the free web platform, use the thesaurus to identify your search terms. Then in Advanced Search, specify your terms as “descriptors” and place quotes around them.

For help, consult the guide to ERIC resources. I recommend trying your search in both this EBSCO and the free web version of ERIC – results may differ!

Engineering Village 2 — ELECTRONIC
Including INSPEC from IEE, and EI Compendex from Elsevier, covering all aspects of computer science, information technology, automation. physics, electrical engineering, electronics, and more.
best resource Lecture Notes in Computer Science — ELECTRONIC
Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS), including its subseries in Artificial Intelligence (LNAI) and Bioinformatics (LNBI), publishes hundreds of conference proceedings every year with new developments in computer science and information technology research. Content goes back to 1973.
best resource MEDLINE via OVID (with SFX) or PubMed via the free web (without SFX) — ELECTRONIC & WWW
This National Library of Medicine resource has two versions of the same content: the vendor-enhanced edition with SFX links into Drexel’s full-text and a refined search interface; or the free web version with a simplified interface and abstracts only. Covers over 3500 journals in medicine, clinical science and allied health.

NCBI Databases –WWW
The National Library of Medicine’s National Center for Biomedical Information search and retrieval system that integrates information from databases at NCBI. These databases include nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, macromolecular structures, whole genomes, and MEDLINE, through PubMed.

Web of Science — ELECTRONIC
Covers the high-impact education journals as well as most other academic topics. Abstract-only, but you can easily find full-text through SFX links. What makes this database a MUST – HAVE FOR PhD-LEVEL RESEARCH is its citation tracking, ranking and sorting features you can quickly identify the most often-quoted papers in your topic of interest. Try the various “analyze” features to identify top authors, journals or university affiliations. It is especially useful for anyone tracking the influence of an idea across multiple papers and authors over time.

TIP: Use the Drexel e-journal directory to search by keyword (for terms such as “informatics”) or browse by category (such as information technology) then browse that journal’s contents.

Reference Resources

MD Consult Core Collection — ELECTRONIC
A great  Elsevier resource providing access to over 36 medical texts, articles from more than 46 clinical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, 2,500 patient education handouts, CME, and daily medical updates.  See optional personal registration information.

Associations

American Medical Informatics Association (AMIA)
Their journal JAMIA is a core source in this field.
International Medical Informatics Association (IMIA)
American Healthcare Information Management Association (AHIMA)
TIP: For other associations consult the Encyclopedia of Associations

Select Web Resources

Health Informatics World Wide
An index of world wide health informatics resources.


Definitions & Core Topics

Medical and Healthcare Informatics (MHI) is the field of information science concerned with the analysis and dissemination of medical and other health-related data through the application of computers to various aspects of healthcare and medicine.

MHI is an interdisciplinary field. There are relatively few information sources devoted specifically to medical and healthcare informatics. Much of the literature relevant to MHI is dispersed in disciplinary databases in medicine and technology. Accordingly, this guide covers only major resources in these areas.

If you are seeking additional technology-related information consult other Resource Guides on the Hagerty Library site, such as: Biomedical Engineering, Computer Science and Software Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering, or Information Systems & Technology. Guides to health-related information can be found under the Health Sciences heading on the Research Guides page.

Some core health information structures and general topics within the field are:

Terminology & Coding Topics
ICD 9 CM Artificial Intelligence
DRG Biomedical Cognitive Science
DSM Bioinformatics
HCPCS Computer Based Training
Coding, Classification, Terminology
Taxonomies
Computerized Clinical Guidelines
SNOMED Consumer Health Informatics
MeSH Clin. Information Management
UMLS Decision Support Systems
Education and Training
Guidelines Electronic Patient Records
Practice guidelines Information Retrieval
Clinical pathways Imaging, Robotics, Virtual Reality
Drug formularies Medical Language Processing
Evidence-based Medicine Nursing Informatics
Outcomes Assessment
Standards
Public Health Informatics
HIPPA Signal processing
HL7 Standards, Social and Legal Issues
EMR standards Telemedicine

Copyright © 2009 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by WordPress