image1 image2 image3 image4 image5 image6 image7 image8

INFO 105 – Info Eval, Organization, & Use

Finding Books Tutorials
Finding Articles Reference Sources
Professional Organizations Reviews

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on economics:
Try a keyword search: (information systems) and architect*
Browse by LC Subject heading: Internet programming
Browse the stacks on the second floor by LC call number:

QA76.76 Application programming
Human computer interaction
Information behavior


Finding Articles

best resource ACM Digital Library – ELECTRONIC
Provides bibliographic information, citations, and full-text articles in conference proceedings and journals and magazines published by the Association for Computing Machinery.
best resource Faulkners Advisory for IT Studies (FAITS) – ELECTRONIC
Short overviews covering fundamental aspects of information technologies, the companies behind them and current topics in the industry. Offers nine report types such as “standards” and “selection guide” to support applied IT research and decision-making. Good basic definitions for undergraduate level work.
Gartner Intraweb Research – ELECTRONIC
Gartner Group is well-known as a leading info tech analyst firm with top flight IT consultants reporting on a wide range of technologies in use among corporate and government enterprises. The higher level strategic focus found in their “magic quadrants” have become the yardstick for CIOs to choose among competing vendors. Browse by content type or industry, or keyword search. Current year only is full-text.
IEEE XPLORE – ELECTRONIC
Delivers publications from the IEEE and the IEE. Locate journal articles, conference papers, and technical standards from 1988 to the present. More than 12,000 publications containing over 450,000 articles are just a few clicks away.
Infotrac OneFile – ELECTRONIC
Provides searching across over 7,000 periodicals from multiple disciplines, including computer science, technology, business, and more. To search only scholarly publications, limit search “to scholarly (peer-reviewed or refereed) publications.”
Engineering Village – ELECTRONIC
Comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database with excellent coverage of computer science, information technology, automation. physics, electrical engineering, electronics, and more. Has over eight million summaries of journal articles, technical reports, and conference papers and proceedings. Use SFX for full-text links.
best resource ProQuest – ELECTRONIC
Provides searching platform for a number of periodical databases covering Business, Science, Humanities and Social Sciences. Delivers more than 4,000 full-text publications from over 3,000 publishing partners. To search only scholarly publications, select “Show articles from peer reviewed publications only.”
PsycINFO – ELECTRONIC
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, and more dealing with psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Can be useful for user studies, human-computer interaction topics, and more.

Professional Associations

The Encyclopedia of Associations - ELECTRONIC
can help you to identify relevant professional associations. (limited to two users at a time)

Tutorials

best resource Citation Guide – WWW
How to cite your sources.
Evaluating Information on the Web – WWW
Evaluating web sites.
What is a scholarly article? - WWW
Comparative chart.

Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology – ELECTRONIC
Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences - ELECTRONIC

Reviews

best resource Charleston Advisor – ELECTRONIC
Reviews and ratings of commercial databases and content-heavy free websites by librarians intended to aide in the selection and purchase process.
best resource CHOICE – WWW
Reviews of significant current books and electronic resources of interest to those in higher education. Free registration required for full access to the site.

Copyright © 2009 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by WordPress