image1 image2 image3 image4 image5 image6 image7 image8

Children’s & Young Adult Literature

Specific Author or Illustrator Awards
Review of a Specific Book Multimedia
Criticism of a Specific Book
Story Time Resources on the Web
Collection Development General Information

Specific Author or Illustrator

Essential Guide to Children’s Books and Their Creators — PRINT
Ref PS490 .E85 2002
Illustrators of Children’s Books — PRINT
Ref NC 965 .I4x
best resource Index To Internet Sites: Children’s & Young Adults’ Authors & Illustrators — WWW
Home pages of numerous authors and illustrators organized alphabetically

Literature Online (LION) – ELECTRONIC
Includes biographies of major authors writing in English. Search by the author’s last name after clicking the “Find Authors” button. You can also search for authors from specific time periods or literary movements.
best resource Literature Resource Center — ELECTRONIC
Provides access to biographical information about writers from every age and literary discipline. Provides information on more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers.
Writers for Young Adults — PRINT
Ref Z 1037 .A1 .W74

Review of a Specific Book

best resource A To Zoo: Subject Access To Children’s Picture Books — PRINT  — and ELECTRONIC
Ref Z 1037 L715 2006
Prefaced by a short history of the English-language picture book, with bibliography. Arranged by subject and also by author’s name. Electronic version can be found inside Books in Print – see the link for “Children’s Room” along the upper right.
best resource Book Review Index – ELECTRONIC
Gale’s comprehensive guide to book reviews with 5 million+ review citations from thousands of publications. Has the entire backfile of the printed “Book Review Index” from 1965 to present. Similar to HW Wilson’s “Book Review Digest” it covers popular, academic and professional books. SFX links lead to full-text of reviews.
Booklist — WWW
Reviews of the latest books and electronic media. Every year nearly 4,000 books reviewed for adults, more than 2,500 titles for children.
Books in Print — ELECTRONIC
Web version of the library classic, also includes more than 300,000 full-text reviews from 11 leading sources. Permits browsing by ten main indexes such as AWARD or LANGUAGE, and also by subject headings such as JUVENILE or COMICS.
Carol Hurst’s Children’s Literature Site — WWW
A collection of reviews of great books for kids, ideas of ways to use them in the classroom and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes and professional topics.
Kirkus Reviews — WWW
Reviews approximately 5,000 titles – Fiction, Mystery, Science Fiction, Foreign Language, Non-Fiction and Children’s – per year.
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe — ELECTRONIC
Provides full text coverage of magazines and newspapers. Useful for reviews of children’s books and biographical information on juvenile authors.
best resource HW Wilson Catalogs — ELECTRONIC
Includes:
* Children’s Catalog
* Middle & Junior HS Library Catalog
* Senior HS Library Catalog
* Fiction Catalog
* Public Library Catalog

For collection development, selection and purchasing, weeding your collection, readers’ advisory, and general reference. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available, plus information on electronic editions of works where available. NOTE: This free trial access is available only to Drexel iSchool students.


Criticism of a Specific Book

JSTOR — ELECTRONIC
Searchable full text archives of journal articles on various topics, including literature.
best resource Literature Online (LION) — ELECTRONIC
Literature Resource Center — ELECTRONIC
MLA Bibliography– ELECTRONIC
… as mentioned above.
Project Muse — ELECTRONIC
Includes full text access to more than 30 literature journals.
Twentieth Century Children’s Writers — PRINT
Ref PN 1009 .A1 .T92x
Covers 800+ children’s writers both American and foreign. Each entry contains a brief biography, a bibliography of separately published works, and a signed critical essay.

Collection Development

See research guide for School Librarianship


Awards

best resource Books In Print — ELECTRONIC
Web version of the library classic, permits browsing by ten main indexes such as AWARD or LANGUAGE, and also by subject headings such as JUVENILE or COMICS. Includes children’s books awards from 1982-present. Includes all content from “Children’s Books in Print” published separately.
Children’s Books: Awards & Prizes — PRINT
Ref Z 1037 A2 C45x
Lists children’s book awards recipients for United States awards, British Commonwealth awards and international and multinational awards. Includes title and person indexes.

Multimedia

Newbery & Caldecott Medal & Honor Books In Other Media — PRINT
Ref Z 1037 A2 S4
Provides a comprehensive list of commercial and public print and non print media adapted from Newbery and Caldecott Medal books.

Story Time Resources on the Web

best resource International Children’s Digital Library — WWW
The world’s largest international digital library for children ages 3 to 13 to experience different cultures through literature with over 1000 books in 15 languages representing 27 cultures. From the Univ of Maryland and the Internet Archive – a partnership of government, non-profit, industry and academic organizations. Very cool visual presentation.
Selected e-storybooks in the Drexel Libraries catalog — ELECTRONIC

Storytelling Encyclopedia – ELECTRONIC
Historical, Cultural, and Multiethnic Approaches to Oral Traditions Around the World

General Information

Z 1037 Children’s literature
Z1037.1 Children’s reference books — Bibliography.
PN1009 A1 Children’s literature — history and criticism
PN1008.8 Children’s literature — study and teaching
PZ5 Children’s stories
LB1042 Storytelling

Drexel Library’s Juvenile collection is on the Lower Level
Browse online using advanced keyword search set Location= Hagerty Juvenile Collection.

Finding Books

Children’s Literature –  PRINT
Ref PR990 .H85 2001
Provides a comprehensive introduction to English-language children’s literature from the eighteenth century to 2000. It includes critical surveys of the work of forty major authors, studies of over twenty key texts, and discussion of important issues, themes, and genres.

The Children’s Literature Dictionary — PRINT
Definitions, resources, and learning activities
Ref PN1008.5 .L38 2002
International Companion Encyclopedia of Children’s Literature — PRINT
Ref PN 1008.5 .I57 1996
Presents a wide range of international critical theories, attitudes, and approaches to the study of children’s literature.
best resource

Finding Articles

ERIC on EBSCO 1967-present (see SFX links for full text) — ELECTRONIC
Journal articles, agency reports, and much more. The authoritative repository for the teaching discipline published by the U.S. Department of Education. SEARCH TIPS: On the EBSCO platform, try “limiting your results” using the new “Education Level” or “Peer-Reviewed” option. Or, use the thesaurus to identify your terms. Then with the Advanced Search, use the drop down menus to specify your terms as “SU Descriptors,” placing quotes around any search phrases.
ERIC.ed.gov – on free web (see “Find in a Library” links for full text) — WEB
SEARCH TIPS: On the free web platform, use the thesaurus to identify your search terms. Then in Advanced Search, specify your terms as “descriptors” and place quotes around them.

For help, consult the guide to ERIC resources. I recommend trying your search in both this EBSCO and the free web version of ERIC – results may differ!

Education Periodicals — ELECTRONIC
A great all around education database on the friendly Proquest platform.

Copyright © 2009 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by WordPress