image1 image2 image3 image4 image5 image6 image7 image8

Human-Computer Interaction

Definition of HCI

“HCI in the large is an interdisciplinary area. It is emerging as a specialty concern within several disciplines, each with different emphases: computer science (application design and engineering of human interfaces), psychology (the application of theories of cognitive processes and the empirical analysis of user behavior), sociology and anthropology (interactions between technology, work, and organization), and industrial design (interactive products).”

From “Definition of HCI” from Chapter 2 of ACM SIGCHI Curricula for Human-Computer Interaction, available online at http://sigchi.org/cdg/cdg2.html.

Finding Books Handbooks & Encyclopedias
Finding Articles Selected Web Resources

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books:

Electronic Books:
The Library subscribes to several collections of electronic books (e-books) that you can open in full text, right in your browser. E- books are listed individually our catalog; however, you can also browse or search across the full-text of their entire holdings through the following links. Some of the best collections for HCI are:

  • Books 24×7 – covering over 90 technology topics.
  • ebrary: Our largest multidisciplinary collection, will prompt new users to do a one-time download of the free “ebrary Reader” (an Acrobat plug-in).
  • EngNetBase: Over 1200 CRC Handbooks (practictioner-oriented compilations) for engineers. Useful keywords may include human factors engineering, cybernetics, human performance engineering and human machine systems.
  • Safari Tech Books: Detailed technical manuals from major technology publishers including O’Reilly, Microsoft Press, Addison Wesley, Cisco, and Peachpit Press.
Try a keyword search: usability

interface architecture

Try browsing the stacks by Library of Congress (LC) Call Number or Subjects:

QA76.9 .H85 human computer interaction
QA76.9 .U83 user interfaces (computer systems)

TIP: Books with the LOCATION of “HAGERTY BOOKS” are on the 2nd floor and available for checkout

Finding Articles

General, Multi-Disciplinary Databases:

ScienceDirect — ELECTRONIC
A giant database from the publishing giant Elsevier with many relevant journals.

Web of Science — ELECTRONIC
Covers the high-impact education journals as well as most other academic topics. Abstract-only, but you can easily find full-text through SFX links. What makes this database a MUST – HAVE FOR PhD-LEVEL RESEARCH is its citation tracking, ranking and sorting features you can quickly identify the most often-quoted papers in your topic of interest. Try the various “analyze” features to identify top authors, journals or university affiliations. It is especially useful for anyone tracking the influence of an idea across multiple papers and authors over time.

Computer Science, Engineering, and Systems Databases:

Engineering Village 2 — ELECTRONIC
Searches Ei Compendex and Ei Inspec and covers engineering websites, CRC Handbooks, patents, and industry standards.
best resource ACM Digital Library & The Guide to Computing Literature — ELECTRONIC
The ACM Digital Library includes full-text of articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings. The Guide to Computing Literature exhaustively indexes the computing literature outside ACM (Association for Computing Machinery).
IEEE Xplore — ELECTRONIC
Provides full-text access to all IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards.

Psychology and Education Databases:

PsycINFO — ELECTRONIC
This key psychology database contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters dealing with psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.

ERIC on EBSCO 1967-present (see SFX links for full text) — ELECTRONIC
Journal articles, agency reports, and much more. The authoritative repository for the teaching discipline published by the U.S. Department of Education. SEARCH TIPS: On the EBSCO platform, try “limiting your results” using the new “Education Level” or “Peer-Reviewed” option. Or, use the thesaurus to identify your terms. Then with the Advanced Search, use the drop down menus to specify your terms as “SU Descriptors,” placing quotes around any search phrases.
ERIC.ed.gov – on free web (see “Find in a Library” links for full text) — WEB
SEARCH TIPS: On the free web platform, use the thesaurus to identify your search terms. Then in Advanced Search, specify your terms as “descriptors” and place quotes around them.

For help, consult the guide to ERIC resources. I recommend trying your search in both this EBSCO and the free web version of ERIC – results may differ!

Selected Journals — ELECTRONIC

Here are a few journals related to Human-Computer Interaction. Check the catalog for their availability through Drexel Libraries


Handbooks & Encyclopedias

best resource Berkshire encyclopedia of human-computer interaction (2004) — ELECTRONIC
Most current – with extra cool “concept map” interface.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences — ELECTRONIC — PRINT
Great general 26 volume print & e-resource from Elsevier. But for some weird reason they recently removed the “search this title” feature and now searches run against all Elsevier content instead. Recommendation: use the “browse article titles” feature to – see entries on “Human Cognition” “Human Computer Interface” or Human Computer Interaction.”
Ref H41 .I58 2001
best resource Handbook of human factors testing and evaluation (2002) — ELECTRONIC — PRINT
Both print & e-resource versions from top publisher in field – Lawrence Erlbaum.
TA166 .H276 2002
Wiley Encyclopedia of Electrical and Electronics Engineering – ELECTRONIC

Selected Web Resources

General:

Organizations:

Laboratories:

Conferences:

Miscellaneous Conference Lists and Schedules:

Copyright © 2009 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by WordPress