image1 image2 image3 image4 image5 image6 image7 image8

Archives Resources

Finding Books Reference Tools
Finding Articles Professional Associations
Primary Source Materials Selected Web Resources

Finding Books

Try a keyword search: archival
librar* AND metadata
Try a subject search: archives
archives administration

Finding Articles

Suggested Databases:

Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA) — ELECTRONIC
Library and Information Science Abstracts is an international abstracting and indexing tool designed for library professionals and other information specialists. LISA currently abstracts over 440 periodicals from more than 68 countries and in more than 20 different languages.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) — ELECTRONIC
Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Many abstracts lead to full-text via SFX.
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text — ELECTRONIC
Library and Information Science Journals Indexed from 1982, abstracted from 1984, and available in full text from 1994.
Library Literature & Information Science Retrospective: 1905-1983 — ELECTRONIC
Indexing of over 1,200 periodicals, with citations to more than 500,000 articles, including book reviews. Search hundreds of periodicals, plus books, book chapters and library school theses.

Suggested Journals:

With just a few main journals in this field, searching one at a time can be a worthwhile approach.

African Journal of Library, Archives & Information science – published in Nigeria through the Int’l Network for the Availability of Scientific Publications (INASP) established by the Int’l Council for Science (ICSU) in 1992.
Full text: 1998 – present — ELECTRONIC
best resource American Archivist – (from the Society of American Archivists)
We now have electronic access!
Full Text: 1938 – present — PRINT
2000 – present — ELECTRONIC
Archival Issues -  (published by the Midwest Archives Conference)
Full Text: 1997 – present — ELECTRONIC
best resource Archival Science -  (Journal of the Society of Archivists – UK)
Full Text: 2001 – present — ELECTRONIC
Archivaria - (official journal of the Association of Canadian Archivists)
Full Text: 1975 – 2004 — ELECTRONIC  (direct link here)
Full Text: 2008 – present — PRINT
best resource Journal of archival organization
Full Text: 2002 – present — ELECTRONIC (direct link here)

Primary Source Materials

Drexel University Archives – includes our collection of local historic photos reflecting campus life. Great tipsheet.
Multilingual Inventory of Cultural Heritage in Europe (MICHAEL) – a cultural portal to digital collections from Europe’s museums, libraries and archives. Currently accesses content from 18 European countries.
National Archives and Records Administration – our national archives.
New York Public Library Archives and Manuscripts – great special collections.
Philadelphia City Archives – just down the street from the Drexel University City Campus, and open to the public.

Reference Tools

best resource Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science — ELECTRONIC & PRINT
Ref Z1006 .E57 2003
Good layman’s language on technical issues with good coverage of archival topics.

Professional Associations

Academy of Certified Archivists (ACA) Resources for practicing archivists.
Association of Canadian Archivists (ACA)
Association of Moving Image Archivists (AMIA) For those concerned with the collection, preservation, exhibition and use of moving image materials.
National Association of Government Archives and Record Administrators (NAGARA) Organization of government archives and records information professionals.
Society of Archivists – UK
best resource Society of American Archivists (SAA) Includes contact information for regional associations.
Manages the Archives and Archivists Listserv
best resource Local Organizations:
Delaware Valley Archivists Group (DVAG)
Mid-Atlantic Regional Archives Conference (MARAC)

Selected Web Resources

Archivists Tool-kit
Open source archival data management system that provides broad, integrated support for the management of archives.
National Security Archives
An award-winning independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act and serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States.
Northeast Document Conservation Center
Contains a good amount of resources in the area of preservation

Blogs:

Copyright © 2009 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by WordPress