Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About Drexel University

Information Retrieval

Finding Books
Proceedings & Dissertations
Finding Articles Encyclopedias, Reference & Other
Journals
Associations, Research Centers

Scope of this guide:

Information retrieval has two major aspects – the first dealing with the technology of search and storage, and the second dealing with human factors the aspect of a user’s interaction with the retrieval process.  This guide proposes to focus primarily on the technology aspect. More info on user interaction may be found in the HCI Research Guide.

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books:

Try a keyword search: information retrieval (use quotes for best results)

Try a subject search: Information retrieval

or

Information storage and retrieval systems

OR search full-text within the a collection of e-books such as IGI: IGI Books

 

Search terms “optimiz* and retrieval” (using quotes – then refine results)

Also see this great list of IR books at Stanford:

 

Link to classic IR texts


Finding Articles

best resource ACM Digital Library & Guide to Computing Literature — ELECTRONIC
Two separate products from the ACM (Association for Computing Machinery). The Digital Library includes abstracts, reviews, and the full-text of articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since 1985. The Guide to Computing Literature has abstracts-only of non-ACM computing literature and (through SFX) often links to full-text. Covers many computing-oriented information science topics.
InfoSci Journals — ELECTRONIC
A full-text collection of peer-reviewed journals focused on specialized topics in advanced technology research as well as the organizational, managerial, behavioral, and social implications of technology.
Lecture Notes in Computer Science — ELECTRONIC
Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) publishes hundreds of conference proceedings every year with new developments in computer science and information technology research. Includes the series in Artificial Intelligence (LNAI) and Bioinformatics (LNBI). If a proceeding is not in ACM, then it’s here in LNCS. Content goes back to 1973.
ScienceDirect – ELECTRONIC
A deep and diverse collection of journals from publishing giant Elsevier, includes many computing titles.
Web of Science –ELECTRONIC
This abstract-only source covers high impact information science journals as well as all other academic topics. Through its citation tracking, ranking and sorting features you can quickly identify seminal papers of interest and, through SFX links, find full-text. Try the various “analyze” features. A *must* for serious researchers.

Recommended Journals

ACM Transactions on Information Systems (TOIS): dblp home
Information Processing and Management (IP&M): dblp home
Information Retrieval: dblp home
International Journal on Digital Libraries: dblp home
Journal of the American Society of Information Science and Technology (JASIST): dblp home
SIGIR Forum: dblp home
Journal of Documentation
D-Lib Magazine
Data & Knowledge Engineering: dblp home
Information Processing Letters: dblp home
Information Research
Information Systems: dblp home
Journal of Intelligent Information Systems: dblp home
Knowledge and Information Systems: dblp home
Foundations and Trends in Information Retrieval

Proceedings & Dissertations

 

 

 

 

Research presented at conferences is often more cutting edge than what gets published in journals. This is especially the case in the computer science field. Find information retrieval conference proceedings in LNCS, ACM Digital Library and also in the multidisciplinary Papers First – a world-wide index to papers of conferences and meetings received at the British Library. Other finding aides include an index to the full meetings themselves Proceedings First or the global library catalog WorldCat that can help verify details before ordering hard-to-find items through the Library link to Borrow from Other Libraries for inter-library loan. See detailed list of major conferences in IR below.
Proquest Dissertations & Theses
The most comprehensive source for student theses. Dissertations from 1980 forward have 350-word abstracts. Citations for master’s theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. All titles published since 1997 are available in in PDF format and have 24 page previews available. Drexel dissertations are available in full text from 1997. Other dissertations and theses are available for online purchase.

Encyclopedias, Reference & Other

Annual Review of Information Science and Technology — PRINT
Hagerty REF Z699.A1 A65
Great 10-20 page scholarly reviews of recent developments in information science and technology with many references to the published literature. Topics vary each year with whatever is hot. An online index to 41 volumes can be searched online here. Drexel iSchool faculty are regularly published in ARIST.
best resource Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology — ELECTRONIC & PRINT
REF Z1006 .E566 2005
Includes over 550 articles covering concepts, issues & emerging technologies in five volumes.
IGI Global – Special Topic Encyclopedias — ELECTRONIC (for all IGI books or see individual links below)
Over forty specialty IT topics. Check out the following encyclopedias of …
Database technologies and applications
Internet technologies and applications
Knowledge management
Artificial intelligence
Data warehousing and mining FYI – Not an exhaustive list, due to constant new releases from IGI. To see the latest – check the full list of books from IGI Global and scroll down to the titles beginning with the word “Encyclopedia.” Or try a keyword search in the catalog for “IGI and encyclopedia.”
Other Resources

Glossary
(Modern Information Retrieval)
Information retrieval research links @ Search Tools
BUBL: Information Retrieval Links
LSU: Information Retrieval Systems
Open Directory: Information Retrieval Links
UBC: Indexing Resources
IR & Neural Networks, Symbolic Learning, Genetic Algorithms
A stop list (a list of stop words)

Research Centers, Conferences & Associations

 

 

Research Centers
Beijing
CMU (LTI)
Dublin CU
Geneva (Viper)
Glasgow
Helsinki Institute for Information Technology
IBM
Illinois Institute of Technology
Information Retrieval Facility (IRF)
Microsoft Research
NIST
Pittsburgh
Queen Mary
Sheffield
UIUC
UMASS
Conferences 

TREC

Cross Language Evaluation Forum (CLEF)
SIGIR 2009
CIKM 2009
WWW 2009
JCDL 2009
RIAO 2010
ECIR 2010
SPIRE 2009
Norbert Fuhr’s IR conference calendar

Associations
ACM SIGIR
BCS IRSG

Copyright © 2012 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Wordpress Wordpress icon