Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About Drexel University

Library Associations

Academic Archives
Public School Libraries
Special Special Demographic or Technology Focus
State & Locally-based International & Information Science Focus

Academic

Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL)
A unit of ALA for academic librarians. Also check out the Delaware Valley Chapter (ACRL-DVC)
Association for Library and Information Science Education (ALISE)
Resources to promote excellence in research, teaching, and service for library and information science education – a good source for statistics about library schools.

Public

American Library Association (ALA)
All areas of library interest with roundtables on specific types of library collection, such as government documents, and reference. (See also subchapters mentioned elsewhere in this guide.)
Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC)
Resources to improve and extend library services to children in all types of libraries
Public Library Association
A division of the American Library Association for public librarians
Urban Library Council
Resources for public libraries in urban settings
Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA)
Promotes library service to teenagers and young adults

Special

Special Libraries Association (National)
Organization for librarians working in corporate, academic, government, or other specialized settings. Also check out the Special Libraries Association, Philadelphia Chapter. And be sure to check out the Drexel campus student chapter: DUSLA.
Lyrasis
Created in 2009 by the merger of PALINET and SOLINET, two well-established regional library networks, Lyrasis members now include over 4,000 member libraries and cultural heritage institutions across the US and beyond.
Medical Library Association (National)
Includes information about networking, publications and resources for medical librarians. Also see the Philadelphia Medical Library Association (Local)
American Association of Law Libraries (AALL)
Resources include profesional development and an online discussion group. Also, see the local chapter: Greater Philadelphia Law Library Association
ARLIS-NA (Art Libraries Society of North America)
Membership includes architecture and art librarians, visual resources professionals, artists, curators, educators, and publishers. Also see the ARLIS Delaware Valley Chapter
Theatre Library Association
Promotes the collection, preservation and use of theatrical and performing arts materials
Visual Resources Association
Organization for slide and museum curators, film librarians, digital image professionals and those whose collections are image-based
International Association of Music Libraries (IAML)
Promotes international cooperation to support the preservation and use of materials of a musical nature
Music Library Association (MLA)
Local chapter accessible from this site
American Theological Library Association (ATLA)
Provides programs, products, and services in support of theological and religious studies libraries and librarians
Church and Synagogue Library Association (CSLA)
Resources for organizing, promoting, or renewing a congregational library

State & Locally-Based

Delaware Library Association
Includes links to area jobs and a calendar of events
New Jersey Library Association
Links to organization leadership and membership along with a trivia section
Pennsylvania Library Association
Represents more than 1,500 personal, institutional, and commercial members – primarily public librarians.
Pennsylvania School Librarians Association (PSLA)
Resources for school librarians and media specialists.
Consortia (institutional membership organizations having to do with resource sharing)
Tri-State College Library Cooperative (TCLC)
Advances librarianship practices by facilitating the exchange of information and cooperation among participating area libraries.
Pennsylvania Academic Library Consortium Inc. (PALCI)
Runs self-service interlibrary loan network “EZBorrow” that lets students at member libraries search and borrow from the combined book catalogs of more than 60 area libraries.
Delaware Valley Information Consortium (DEVIC)
Libraries in hospitals, pharmaceutical firms and small to medium-sized schools for health professionals in the Philadelphia area.

Archives

Academy of Certified Archivists (ACA)
Resources for practicing archivists
Association of Moving Image Archivists (AMIA)
Organization for individuals and organizations concerned with the collection, preservation, exhibition and use of moving image materials
National Association of Government Archives and Record Administrators (NAGARA)
Organization of government archives and records information professionals
Society of American Archivists (SAA)
Includes contact information for the Delaware Valley Archivists Group and many others

School Libraries

American Association of School Librarians (AASL)
A division of ALA for school librarians and leaders in school library media
International Association of School Librarianship (IASL)
Provide an international forum for those people interested in promoting effective school library media programs
Pennsylvania School Librarians Association (PSLA)
Resources for school librarians and media specialists

Special Demographic or Technology Focus

Black Caucus of the American Library Association (BCALA)
Advocates improvement of library services and resources to the nation’s African American community
Chinese American Librarians Association (CALA)
Affiliated with ALA
REFORMA (National Association to Promote Library & Information Services to Latinos & the Spanish-Speaking)
An organization which promotes the development of library collections to include Spanish-language and Latino oriented materials
American Society for Information Science & Technology (ASIS&T)
An organization for the information sciences and related disciplines, providing focus, opportunity, and support to information professionals and organizations
ARMA International (Association of Records Managers & Administrators)
Resources for a diverse array of information professionals including records and information managers, MIS and ADP professionals, imaging specialists, archivists, hospital administrators, legal administrators, librarians, and educators
Association of Independent Information Professionals (AIIP)
The association for information professionals whose member firms provide research and consulting service across a wide variety of industries.
Canadian Library Association (CLA)
Represents those who work in or advocate for Canada’s estimated 21,000 libraries
International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA)
Represents the interests of library and information services and their users from numerous countries
Progressive Librarians Around the World
Organized by country
Progressive Librarians’ Guild (PLG)
A group of librarians concerned with current trends in librarianship. And be sure to check out the Drexel campus student chapter: Drexel PLG.

International and Information Science Associations

Association for Population Libraries and Information Centers
Association of Parliamentary Librarians of Asia and the Pacific
The Conference of Directors of National Libraries
Congress of Southeast Asian Librarians
European Digital Library Conference and its sponsor (in German)
The International Association for Information and Data Quality
The International Association of School Librarianship
International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA)
International Conference on Asian Digital Libraries
The International Machine Learning Society
Joint Conference on Digital Libraries
A few more from ALA

Copyright © 2012 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Wordpress Wordpress icon