Search the Library Website:
 
  Print-friendly version
  Interior Design
 
 
 
  Finding Books
  Searching the catalog for books on interior design:
  Try a keyword search: interior designers
  Try a subject search: Health Facilities - Design And Construction
  Browse the stacks:
GF 1 - 900 Human Ecology
GF 51-71 Human Beings - Effect on Environment
GT 170 - 485 Houses, Dwellings
HM 861 Social Ecology
NA 190 - 1614 Architectural History
NA 2542.36 Sustainable Architecture
NK 1 - 9955 Decorative Arts. Applied Arts.  Decoration and Ornament
NK 1700 - 3505 Interior Decoration (Design)
  [Top]
 
  Finding Articles
best resource Avery Index -- ELECTRONIC
The Avery is the largest database devoted to architecture and design journals.
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAII) -- ELECTRONIC
Covers trends in design and the applied arts, including decorative arts and interior design. Includes Design for Disability, Ergonomics, Design for the Elderly and more. It indexes articles from international design magazines, but does not include full-text of the articles. Use the SFX button to find access to full-text.
best resource Environment and Behavior -- ELECTRONIC
Drexel University has electronic access to Environment and behavior from 1999 to current. You can search this just this single journal title by going to the SageJournals Online site here (http://www.library.drexel.edu/cgi-bin/r.cgi?url=http://eab.sagepub.com/archive/) This journal is published in cooperation with EDRA (Environmental Design Research Association) and " analyzes and records the influence of environment on individuals, groups and institutions."
best resource JSTOR -- ELECTRONIC
Includes full-text of all articles. Architectural journals include Perspecta, Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, Journal of Architectural Education, Grey Room, Design Issues, Assemblage plus 7 more. Note that JSTOR employs a "moving wall" of publication dates. Therefore, the most recent years are not included.
Places -- WWW
Places, Forum of Design for the Public Realm, is a peer reviewed journal that incorporates writings from a variety of fields in design, the arts and social sciences. It is published by the Design History Foundation. Online access to its archives is available here: http://www.places-journal.org/issues/. You can browse each issue or use the search box to search for your topic across multiple issues.
ProQuest -- ELECTRONIC
Proquest contains articles from film publications such as Interior Design, Architectural Digest, Architecture, and Contract. Many other titles are also available: Proquest carries more than 3,000 titles covering all subject areas.
  [Top]
 
  Finding Images
best resource ARTstor -- ELECTRONIC
ARTstor is an image database that includes art and architecture. Free Registration is necessary for saving images on ARTstor, but not for searching the collection. Good for finding images of notable furniture.
  [Top]
 
  Finding a Designer
best resource Search the catalog (http://innopac.library.drexel.edu/search/) -- ELECTRONIC
Search by the name of the designer. There may be an entire book on them. If not, broaden your search to look for monographs on the time period or style, and then check that book's index for the person that you are interested in.
Contemporary Designers -- PRINT
REF NK 1390 C655 1997
An encyclopedia of designers that includes short biographies, lists of works and publications.
A Dictionary of Modern Design -- ELECTRONIC and PRINT
REF NK1165 .W66 2004
Grove Dictionary of Art -- ELECTRONIC and PRINT
This classic reference series is also available electronically, which makes it easy to search by keyword. The Grove is especially useful due to the bibliographies included for each subject. Once you have found the entry you are looking for, look for the Bibliography link in the left hand menu. Then, check our catalog to see if we have any of the books listed. The print version is located in our Reference section, with Call Number N31 .D5 1996
Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts -- ELECTRONIC and PRINT
"The Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts contains over 3,000 entries covering thousands of years of decorative arts production throughout western and non-western cultures. Explore the works of Alvar Aalto and Charles and Ray Eames, or learn about the history of Navajo blankets and wing chairs in thousands of entries on artists, craftsmen, designers, workshops, and decorative art forms." 
  [Top]
 
  Finding a Chair
best resource 1000 Chairs -- PRINT
NK2715 .F53x 1997
The Best Tables, Chairs, Lights : Innovation and Invention in Design Products for the Home by Mel Byars -- PRINT
NK2395 .B93 2005
best resource The Design Encyclopedia by Mel Byars -- PRINT
NK1370 .B93 2004
Furniture Index -- WWW
An electronic index of 20th and 21st Century Danish furniture design, including pictures.
best resource Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts -- ELECTRONIC and PRINT
"The Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts contains over 3,000 entries covering thousands of years of decorative arts production throughout western and non-western cultures. Explore the works of Alvar Aalto and Charles and Ray Eames, or learn about the history of Navajo blankets and wing chairs in thousands of entries on artists, craftsmen, designers, workshops, and decorative art forms." 
  [Top]
 
  Finding Space Planning Guidelines
Architectural Graphic Standards -- PRINT
This publication includes general planning and design data, as well as detailing information. Call Number NA 2840 R36x 1994.
Building Type Basics Series -- PRINT
This series includes 12 different building types and provides a good overview of their spatial and programmatic requirements.
best resource Time-saver Standards for Building Types -- PRINT
NA2760 .D42 2001
This book includes planning guidelines, criteria and standards for a large range of building types. It covers program and square footage requirements as well as sample space planning configurations. Earlier editions are available in the second floor stacks.
best resource Time Saver Standards for Interior Design and Space Planning -- PRINT
NK 2110 .T48 2001
This book includes planning guidelines, criteria and standards for a large range of building types. It covers program and square footage requirements as well as sample space planning configurations.
  [Top]
 
  Finding Construction Details
Best Practices Guide to Residential Construction -- PRINT
TH4811 .B583 2006
Construction Drawings and Details for Interiors: Basic Skills -- PRINT
TH2031 .K54 2003
best resource Interior Construction and Detailing for Designers and Architects -- PRINT
TH2025 .B35 2002
best resource Interior Graphic Standards -- PRINT
TH2031 .M34 2003
Residential Interiors: Architectural and Interior Details -- PRINT
NA2850 .M6 1992
Ann Keith Kennedy
Ann Keith Kennedy
Librarian for Media Arts & Design

Hours M-F: 8am-5pm


Hagerty Library, Room 135
akk25@drexel.edu
215-895-2772



Hagerty Library Reference Desk

Reference Desk Hours

Reference Desk Phone:
215-895-2755

Content Editor:
Ann Keith Kennedy
Content Editor Email:
akk25@drexel.edu
Last Content Update:
July 31, 2008





Drexel University Libraries | 33rd & Market Streets | Philadelphia, PA, USA 19104 | (215) 895-1500
Copyright © 2008 Drexel University Libraries

Modified 31-Jul-2008 Drexel Libraries Home Law Library Home Contact Us Site Search/Index Feedback/Corrections