Search the Library Website:
 
  Print-friendly version
  Library Science
 
 
 
  Finding Books
  Searching the catalog for books on library science:
  Try a keyword search: library AND information AND seek*
  Try a subject search: Library Science
  Try browsing the LC call numbers for info science related topics:
Z 657-659 Freedom of Information. Censorship
Z 662-1000.5 Libraries
Z 665 -718.8 Library science. Information Science
Z 695-695.83 Cataloging
Z 711-711.92 Reference services (Libraries)
Z 1001- 8999 Bibliography
Z 1037-1039 Books for special classes of persons...
ZA 3040-5185 Information Resources
ZA 3201-3250 Internet
ZA 4050-4460 Electronic Information Resources
  [Top]
 
  Finding Articles
ERIC via FirstSearch (with SFX) or ERIC via the free web (without SFX)
-- ELECTRONIC & WWW
This major education database includes a rich selection of journal articles, reports, and much more on a wide range of library-related topics issues. Consult the guide to ERIC resources to get the most out of this database.
best resource Library & Information Science Abstracts (LISA) -- ELECTRONIC
LISA covers a broad range of topics in library and information science, and currently abstracts over 440 periodicals from more than 68 countries and in more than 20 different languages. Use SFX to get full text.
best resource Library & Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) --
No that's not a duplicate listing with a typo!  These are two competing products with a very similar subject domain. LISTA indexes over 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedingswith coverage back as far as the mid-1960s. Use SFX to get full text.
Library Literature & Information Science Fulltext -- ELECTRONIC
LIS journals indexed from 1982, abstracted from 1984, and available in fulltext from 1994. Covers articles and book reviews of key LIS periodicals published in the USA and elsewhere. Material types indexed also include books, chapters in collected works such as conference proceedings and library school theses. Sub-part of Wilson Omnifile. NEW - electronic backfile added Library Lit & Info Sci Retrospective - with coverage from 1905-1983.
Use the Drexel e-journal directory to search by keyword (for terms such as "library") or browse by category (such as library & information science) then browse that journal's contents
Need older articles?
Try Library Lit & Info Sci Retrospective, or contact your librarian about using the following print indexes:
  • Education Index (1929-1994)
  • Information Science Abstracts (1969-1994)
  • Library and Information Science Abstracts (1950-1994)
  [Top]
 
  Encyclopedias & Reference Tools
best resource Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science -- ELECTRONIC & PRINT    
Ref Z1006 .E57 2003
With more than 10,000 references this resource targets new developments in the distribution, acquisition, and development of print and online media.
Annual Review of Information Science and Technology -- ELECTRONIC & PRINT
Provides a "state of the art" annual look at hot topics in the field by leading authors from a core association in infosci & tech field - ASIST including several iSchool faculty. Use this online fulltext version back to 2002 or a separate online index of entry titles back to the 1966 to identify the authoritative statement on most core infosci & tech topics in 30-50 page entries with extensive bibliographies.  A "must-have" for researchers seeking to get grounded in the literature for any major infosci & tech research.
best resource International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences -- ELECTRONIC & PRINT
Ref H41 .I58 2001
This fantastic resource includes articles on libraries, archives, and much more under the main entry "Information Science and Technology." Online version updated annually.
Online Dictionary of Library and Information Science -- WWW
A comprehensive resource for terminology used in all types of libraries, with more than 4,000 terms and cross-references (last updated January, 2003). Its content includes terms from publishing, printing, literature, and computer science where they are relevant to both library professionals and laypersons.
  [Top]
 
  Statistics
best resource ACRL's Academic Library Trends & Statistics -- ELECTRONIC
Survey data from ACRL 2005 edition now linked above - check catalog for more recent. Subscribed access to a complete data set from ACRL's comprehensive statistics-gathering project encompassing all academic libraries.
Association of Research Libraries (ARL) -- WWW
Statisical reports some of which Drexel has cataloged individually.
best resource American Library Association -- WWW
Office of statistics
Bowker Annual: Library and Book Trade Almanac -- PRINT   
The industry standard for tracking annual changes is book prices.
Ref Z731 .A47
best resource National Center for Educational Statistics, Library Statistics Program  -- WWW
American Library Directory -- PRINT
A classified list of libraries in the USA & Canada with annually updated personnel data & some statistics. (FYI - trial access to online version is free with registration.)
Ref Desk Z731 .A53
Public Library Data Service statistical report -- PRINT
Ref Z731 .P94x
Salary Surveys:
ALA-APA Library Salary Database -- ELECTRONIC & PRINT  
Includes librarians and library technicians.
American Association of Law Libraries (AALL) Ref Z682.3 .B54 -- PRINT           
Association of Research Libraries (ARL) Ref Z682.3 .A88x -- WWW & PRINT     
Special Libraries Association (SLA) Ref Z682.3 .S58x -- ELECTRONIC & PRINT                            
Professional associations often provide statistics via their web sites. Try our "guide to library associations" or search the Encyclopedia of Associations for more options.
  [Top]
 
  Selected Web Resources
Internet Public Library
One of the best known free web directories and virtual reference services on the web - powered by Drexel I-School and others, using library science student volunteers from around N. America.
Select Library-related E-newsletters
LIS News - a weekly blast for true librariana news junkies. Read and submit it!
LJ Academic Newsletter - weekly academic-focused news from a leading industry journal.
ResourceShelf - high value business and academic focussed library news, twice monthly.
Tim Siftar

Tim Siftar
Librarian for Information Sci & Tech, School of Education, and Goodwin College

Hours M-F: 9am-5pm


Hagerty Library, Room 134
siftar@drexel.edu
215-895-2762

What's Tim doing this week?


Hagerty Library Reference Desk

Reference Desk Hours

Reference Desk Phone:
215-895-2755

Content Editor:
Tim Siftar
Content Editor Email:
siftar (at) drexel (dot) edu
Last Content Update:
May 15, 2008





Drexel University Libraries | 33rd & Market Streets | Philadelphia, PA, USA 19104 | (215) 895-1500
Copyright © 2008 Drexel University Libraries

Modified 29-Jul-2008 Drexel Libraries Home Law Library Home Contact Us Site Search/Index Feedback/Corrections