Drexel University Libraries
home home catalog resources study guides services about the libraries
Drexel University Libraries
                 
 
Limnology

Finding Books Handbooks and Encyclopedias
Finding Articles Selected Web Resources

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on limnology:
Try a keyword search: estuar* AND delaware
wetland* AND marsh*
Try a subject search: Freshwater Biology
Eutrophication
Limnology
Browse the stacks: Freshwater Biology — QH96
Natural Water Chemistry — GB855
Plant Ecology-Water — QK930

Finding Articles

AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access) — ELECTRONIC
Provides access to the agricultural literature of the world and is the most comprehensive source of U.S. agricultural and life sciences information. AGRICOLA serves as the document locator and bibliographic control system for the National Agricultural Library (NAL) collection. It contains over 3.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture from 1979 to the present.
Applied Science and Technology Full Text: Wilson Omnifile – ELECTRONIC
Leads users to the latest findings in every area of science, engineering, and technology. Covers more than 350 periodicals, including trade and industrial publications, journals issued by professional and technical societies, and specialized subject periodicals.
best resource Columbia Earthscape – ELECTRONIC
This web site is a research tool for detection, mapping, measurement, and analysis of extreme flood events world-wide using remote sensing. It provides a comprehensive catalog of large river floods, and are developing methods for obtaining globally-consistent measurements of such events.
Dartmouth Flood Observatory — WWW
This web site is a research tool for detection, mapping, measurement, and analysis of extreme flood events world-wide using remote sensing. It provides a comprehensive catalog of large river floods, and are developing methods for obtaining globally-consistent measurements of such events.
best resource Environmental Science Database — ELECTRONIC
Covers topics such as soil erosion, erosion control, biodegradation, bioremediation, limnology and more. Environmental Science Database also contains information on environmental aspects of agriculture, forestry, food, and rural development.
best resource GreenFILE — WWW
GreenFILE covers all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.

Handbooks and Encyclopedias

Aquatic Chemistry: Chemical Equilibria and Rates in Natural Waters — ELECTRONIC and PRINT
GB855 .S78 1996
A text/reference that deals with the chemical behaviors of natural waters, and the processes that affect the distribution and circulation of chemical substances in these waters. It provides a foundation in the general principles of natural water chemistry as well as a thorough treatment of more advanced topics and the current research in the field.
Handbook of Marine Science — PRINT
GC24 .S64
Volume one covers oceanography, physical oceanography, astromopheric science, marine geology, ocean engineering and tables of conversion and constants used by oceanographers. Volume II contains sections on primary productivity, phytoplankton, zoo plankton and marine fisheries. methods for determination of inorganic substances in water and fluvial sediments
best resource Handbook for Restoring Tidal Wetlands — PRINT
QH75 .H363 2001
Mostly focused on California, but research can be applied to other regions.
Primer on Fresh Water — WWW
A Primer on Fresh Water was put together to answer a wide range of questions. They are grouped to focus on different aspects of water: its physical characteristics; its availability both above and below ground; the uses we make of it; and how we share and manage it. The Primer also contains somepractical advice on what we, as individuals, can do to help conserve this precious resource for ouruse and for that of future generations.
best resource Freshwater Ecosystems — ELECTRONIC

Selected Web Resources

Aquaculture Network Information Center (AquaNic) — WWW
A gateway service to aquaculture resources available on the Internet.
Aquatic, Wetland and Invasive Databases — WWW
This is the site of the University of Florida Center for Aquatic and Invasive Plants and to the Aquatic, Wetland and Invasive Plant Information Retrieval System (APIRS), the world’s largest information resource of its kind. It provides a variety of free and for-sale services and products.
Limnological Terms, Definitions, Acronyms and Concepts — WWW
A lexoicon from the Soil & Water Conservation Society of Metro Halifax, NS, CA.
Great Lakes Bathymetry - National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (Noaa) national data centers, NG — WWW
“NOAA is actively engaged in a program to Rescue Great Lakes seismic reflection, bathymetric, and sediment-sample data and place them in established marine geological and geophysical data repositories at the NOAA National Geophysical Data Center (NGDC). …An important element of this program is the rescue of bathymetric data and the compilation of new bathymetry for the Great Lakes, being carried out cooperatively between NOAA and the Canadian Hydrographic Service. This new bathymetry provides a more detailed portrayal of lakefloor topography, and reveals some lakefloor features seen for the first time.”
best resource Wetlands Region 3 - EPA — WWW
The Wetlands Section manages the regional EPA responsibilities of the Clean Water Act Section 404 Wetlands Protection Program which includes permit review activity, planning, enforcement, grants, outreach and education.

Drexelbioscience

Jetson Green
10/7/08 - Jetson Green is a daily updated >>>



DrexelMath

Math Qualifying Exam
10/7/08 - Dear Drexel Math Graduate Students, Will you >>>


DrexelPhysics

2008 Nobel Prize in Physics
10/7/08 - From the good folks at APS… The >>>


Quick Search