image1 image2 image3 image4 image5 image6 image7 image8

Dance

Finding Books Dance Videos
Finding Articles Dance Periodicals
Finding Biographies

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on dance:
Try a keyword search: choreography
Try a keyword search: Modern dance
Try a keyword search:

Dance GV 1580 – GV 1799.4


Finding Articles

best resource International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance Full Text — ELECTRONIC
A fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance. Full text available includes more than 100 journals. Note that, despite its name, not all articles are available full-text, and you will need to use the SFX button to locate all options.
International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA) – ELECTRONIC
Provides indexing, abstracts and selected full text from sources including dance. Note that not all articles are available full-text from IIPA, and you will need to use the SFX button to locate all options.
JSTOR — ELECTRONIC
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines.Tip: When you first get into Jstor, go to ADVANCED SEARCH. Type in the phrase (or, person’s name) that you are looking for, and then Narrow Your Search using the tick-boxes below the search box. Limit to ARTICLE, otherwise, you will get a lot of book and/or performance reviews.

Finding Biographies

Search the catalog (http://innopac.library.drexel.edu/search/) — ELECTRONIC
Search by keyword the name of the dancer or choreographer that you are interested in. There may be an entire book on this person. If not, broaden your search to look for monographs on the type of dance or the time period and then check those book’s index for the subject that you are interested in.
best resource International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance Full Text — ELECTRONIC
Full text available includes more than 100 journals and over 50 books & monographs such as Art and the Performance of Memory, Who’s Who in Contemporary World Theatre, World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre and many more. Note that, despite its name, not all articles are available full-text, and you will need to use the SFX button to locate all options
International Encyclopedia of Dance — PRINT
GV 1585 I586 2004
Great reference for all things relating to dance. Six volume set.
Oxford Dictionary of Dance — ELECTRONIC
“Offers wide coverage of dancers, choreographers, teachers, composers, technical terms, major works, important films, and organizations involved in the dance world. It embraces the new activity within traditional forms like ballet as well as the stream of new dance languages invented by fresh generations of choreographers and the many dance forms imported from the rest of the world. There is information on classical ballet, Spanish flamenco, Indian Bharata Natyam, Japanese Butoh, and jazz. The volume also covers post-modern dance, examining everything from Balanchine to recent practitioners of Eurocrash, minimalism, and contact improvisation.”

Dance Videos

best resource Dance in Video — ELECTRONIC
Dance in Video will contain 250 dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. This release includes 47 videos, equalling 82 hours.
Videos – Hagerty Library also has a small collection of DVDs and VHS tapes pertaining to dance. Search the catalog by title for a specific title. Here is just a sample of what we have available:

The Dream (American Ballet Theatre)
Great Pas de Deux
The Trilogy of Ballet: a Bolshoi Collection
Born to be Wild: the Leading Men of American Ballet Theatre
Choreography by Balanchine
The Great Ballets of Rudolf Nureyev: Sleeping Beauty
Don Quixote (Kitri’s Wedding): A Ballet in Three Acts
Etoiles: Dancers of the Paris Opera Ballet
American Ballet Theatre at the Met: Mixed Bill
An Evening with the Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater
Le Corsaire
Swan Lake: Ballet in Four Acts
Paris Dances Diaghilev
Baryshnikov by Tharp (Baryshnikov Dances Sinatra)
Sleeping Beauty/Marius Petipa
The Kirov Celebrates Nijinsky
West African Dance
Isadora Duncan: Movement from the Soul
The Parsons Dance Company


Dance Periodicals

Drexel University Libraries subscribes to the following periodicals in PRINT:
Dance Chronicle (also available electronically)
Dance Magazine (also available electronically)
Journal of Dance Education
Also note the following titles that we have ELECTRONIC access to:
Dance Research Journal (available from 1998)
Dance Research: the journal of the Society for Dance Research (available from 1983-2001)
Dance Spirit (available from 2001)
Dance Teacher (available from 1997)
DanceView (available from 1998)
Journal of physical education, recreation & dance (available from 1988)
Pointe (available from 2001)
This is not a complete list, however. Please check the library catalog for a specific title.

Copyright © 2009 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by WordPress