image1 image2 image3 image4 image5 image6 image7 image8

Design and Merchandising

Finding Books Trend Information
Finding Articles Market Research
Trade Publications Additional Research Guides

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on design and merchandising:
Try a keyword search: Retail*
Try a subject search: Business Planning
Browse the stacks:

Costume History GT 510 – GT 580
Details and Accessories GT 2050 – GT 2220
Ornaments, Jewelry GT 2250 – GT 2281
Fashion, Fashion Designers TT 490 – TT 927
Merchandising HF 5000s


Finding Articles

best resource ProQuest – ELECTRONIC
Multi-disciplinary database Including both fashion and business publications, as well as magazines such as Time and Newsweek.
Fashion Theory – ELECTRONIC and PRINT
This scholarly journal is available both in print (on the first floor in Current Periodicals, as well as on the third floor) and electronically via our Ingenta subscription.
Journal of Brand Management – ELECTRONIC
Scholarly journal focusing on brand strategy. Available with full-text from 2000.
Journal of Consumer Psychology – ELECTRONIC
Scholarly journal available electronically from 1992.
WWD Online (Women’s Wear Daily Online) – ELECTRONIC
The fashion industry’s daily news source. It covers the entire gamut of fashion and the business of fashion: ready-to-wear, couture presentations, and market overviews. Online version of Women’s Wear Daily. Our subscription includes the archive back to 1994.

Trade Publications

DNR – Daily News Record – PRINT and ELECTRONIC (with select coverage)
Weekly menswear trade publication. The electronic version has about a six week delay, so you will need to see our print holdings for current information.
DSN Retailing Today – PRINT and ELECTRONIC (with select coverage)
Bi-Weekly trade publication for the discount retailing industry. The electronic version has about a four week delay, so for current information you will need to see our print holdings
HFN: the weekly newspaper for the home furnishings network – PRINT and ELECTRONIC
Note that the electronic version is only available from 1995-2006, so you will need to see our print holdings for current information.
VM&SD -- PRINT
Only available in print. It is shelved under Visual Merchandising and Store Design.

Trend Information

Doneger Creative Services – ELECTRONIC
Contains both trend and color forecasting. Creative Directors report on the apparel, accessories and lifestyle markets in the Women’s, Men’s and Youth categories through printed publications, online content and live presentations.
Fashion Snoops – ELECTRONIC
Forecasting and trend analysis for the fashion industry. It provides practical information from worldwide retail floors, runways, trade shows, and more. It includes Girls, Boys, Junior Ladies, Young Men, Mini Girls, Mini Boys, and Denim. Access is available from ON-CAMPUS ONLY.
Material ConneXion – ELECTRONIC
A materials database featuring new and innovative materials. You can search by keyword, concept, or application (i.e., “Sports Apparel”).
The Tobe Report – PRINT
The Tobe Report is “considered the fashion industry’s leading and most respected fashion/merchandising publication for retailers.” Issues can be found in Hagerty’s Current Journals area, located on the first floor.
View – PRINT
This magazine focuses on fabric forecasting.
View2 – PRINT
This magazine gives forecast and trend information for color, textiles and men, women and children fashion.
WGSN-edu – ELECTRONIC
“WGSN is the world’s leading online business-to-business news and information service for the fashion and style industries. It currently offers over 300,000 pages of the most comprehensive, invaluable and up-to-the-minute international style intelligence.” This subscription is managed by the Department of Design and Merchandising. Please contact your professor or the department for access information.

Market Research

Center City District of Philadelphia Reports – WWW
The Center City District collects all kinds of information regarding demographics in Center City and publishes them in free reports. From pedestrian counts to retail occupancy surveys, it is a wealth of information. Be sure to look at its Retail Attraction Kit (http://www.centercityphila.org/docs/CCDRetail2008.pdf).
best resource IBISWorld – ELECTRONIC
Industry Reports on over 700 industries in the United States using the NAICS standard. Reports include: key statistics, segmentation, market characteristics, industry conditions, key factors, key competitors, industry performance and outlook.
best resource Mintel Reports – ELECTRONIC
To access the reports in Mintel, you are required to set up an account first, using your Drexel email address. It’s very quick! Log in to Mintel Reports from our Databases by Title page. After accepting their licensing agreement, you will need to create your username (Drexel email address) and password, and then you’re in. SEARCH the reports for FASHION to locate reports such as Handbags, US, Jeans – US, and Spending Power of Young Adults – US. Note that new reports are being added all the time. Or just browse on the first page under RETAILING. Pay particular attention to each report’s Executive Summary, Market Size and Trends, Market Segmentation, and Future and Forecast.
best resource Tablebase – ELECTRONIC
Statistical data on companies, industries, products and markets. Note that only 5 concurrent users are allowed on at one time. If you get a page asking for a log-in, wait 30 minutes and try again.
University City District – WWW
Provides the same kinds of information as the Center City District, but focuses on West Philly. Be sure to look at its publication, University City Report Card (http://www.ucityphila.org/publications/report_card).
Who’s Buying Apparel – PRINT
This book on demographics and spending is part of the Who’s Buying series.
Demographics USA Zip Edition – PRINT
REFERENCE HF 5415.3 D463 2007
This guide is published by Claritas and provide demographic information by zip code.
Sourcebook of county demographics – PRINT
Reference HA203. S65
Sourcebook of zip code demographics – PRINT
Reference HA203. S66

Additional Research Guides

Drexel University Libraries’ Business Plan Research Guide – WWW
(http://www.library.drexel.edu/resources/guides/businessguides/?page_id=16)
Drexel University Libraries’ Market and Advertising Research Guide – WWW
(http://www.library.drexel.edu/resources/guides/businessguides/?page_id=23)
Drexel University Libraries’ Researching an Industry Research Guide – WWW
(http://www.library.drexel.edu/resources/guides/businessguides/?page_id=7)

Copyright © 2009 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by WordPress