image1 image2 image3 image4 image5 image6 image7 image8

Graphic Design

• Finding Books • Stock Photography
• Recommended Databases
• Suggested Periodicals


Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on Entertainment or Arts:
Try a keyword search: Ellen Lupton
Or, try another keyword search: Design and grid
Try a subject search: Graphic arts — History — 20th century.
Or browse the 2nd floor stacks:

Drawing, Design, Illustration (General) NC 1 – 45
Graphic Art Materials NC 845 – 915
Illustration NC 950 – 996
Commercial Art, Advertising Art NC 997 – 1003
Posters NC 1800 – 1850
Greeting Cards, postcards, invitations, book Jackets


Recommended Databases

Art Bibliographies Modern – ELECTRONIC

Source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, and including photography since its invention. Includes abstracts of English and foreign-language material on famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends. The coverage of ABM is wide-ranging and includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists’ books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.

Art Full Text – ELECTRONIC

Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in 1997. It continues Art Index Retrospective.

Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) — ELECTRONIC
Covers current trends in design and the applied arts worldwide.
Jstor – ELECTRONIC

Includes full-text of all articles. Note that JSTOR employs a “moving wall” of publication dates. Therefore, the most recent years are not included. NOTE: when searching in Jstor for graphic design topics, go to the ADVANCED SEARCH option and LIMIT to the Disciplines of ART & ART HISTORY.

Proquest – ELECTRONIC

Huge multi-disciplinary database that includes electronic access to several design journals. Good for any topic.


Suggested Periodicals

Note the following journal and magazine titles related to Entertainment and Arts Management that Drexel University Libraries currently subscribes to:

Communication Arts
(in print 1968-1984, 1998-current)
How (in print 2005 – current)
I.D. (International Design Magazine) (in print 1985 – current; electronically 1998-2001 via Proquest)
Print
(in print 1945-current; electronically 1994-current via Academic OneFile
Viewpoint (in print 2002 – current)
Visual Communication Quarterly (in print 2005 – current; electronically from 2005 via Informaworld Journals)
Wallpaper (in print 2002 -2004, 2005, 2007-current)

Stock Photography

Unfortunately, due to licensing agreements and costs, the library is unable to subscribe to any stock photography services. However, the following 2 sites for free images are recommended.

Morguefile — WWW
One of How Magazines top five sources for free or low-budget stock photography (”Taking Stock.” How Magazine. August 2008 p 84). Very good search engine, truly free, and good quality images.
StockXchange — WWW
Also has a good search engine for finding what you want, although it includes a lot of commercial images and it can be frustrating to limit to the free ones.


Copyright © 2009 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by WordPress