image1 image2 image3 image4 image5 image6 image7 image8

INTR 465 – Sustainability

Finding Books Child Play and Learning
Finding Articles West Philadelphia
Nutrition More on Sustainable Design

Finding Books

Try searching the catalog for books your topic:
Try a keyword search: child play
Try a keyword search: west philadelphia
Try a keyword search: nutrition and learning

Finding Articles

best resource Avery Index – ELECTRONIC
The Avery is the largest database devoted to architecture and design journals.This is a good place to look for precedent, or case studies.
best resource BuildingGreen.com – ELECTRONIC
This electronic resource includes articles from Environmental Building News as well as GreenSpec, a convenient way to locate environmentally conscious building materials.
Google Scholar — WWW
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. To link to Drexel full text from Google Scholar, first add Drexel in the Library Links within Scholar Preferences.
Proquest – ELECTRONIC
Large multi-disciplinary database with a lot of full-text access. It covers just about everything and is often a good place to start.

Nutrition

Expanded Academic — ELECTRONIC
Another large multi-disciplinary database including nutritiion journals.
Nutrition Research Guide — WWW
This research guide was compiled by Drexel University Libraries’ science librarian, Peggy Dominy.
Proquest – ELECTRONIC
Large multi-disciplinary database with a lot of full-text access. It covers just about everything- including nutrition – and is often a good place to start. Try using the search terms: GARDEN AND CURRICULA.
best resource PsychINFO — ELECTRONIC
This is a wonderful psychology database that covers many aspects of learning. Try doing a keyword search for: NUTRITION AND LEARNING (also be sure to UNCHECK the box “map to subject heading”).

Child Play and Learning

Education Periodicals (1986-Present) — ELECTRONIC
Professional magazines and periodicals related to all aspects of education and education-related issues. Provides full-text access to over 350 education journals, as part of the larger Proquest database.
Education Research Guide — WWW
This research guide was compiled by Drexel University Libraries’ education librarian, Tim Siftar.
best resource PsychINFO -- ELECTRONIC
This is a wonderful psychology database that covers many aspects of learning. Try doing a keyword search for: LEARNING AND PLAY (also be sure to UNCHECK the box “map to subject heading”).

History of West Philadelphia

best resource First, try searching the catalog for books. See the section above for suggested keyword searches.
New York Times (Current) — ELECTRONIC
This Proquest product allows you to search the New York Times from 1980 – present (no pictures).
New York Times (Historical) — ELECTRONIC
via Proquest, full text coverage of the New York Times from 1851 – 2003, including original images.
best resource Philadelphia Inquirer — ELECTRONIC
You can search the archives of the Inquirer (back to 1981) via our NewsBank subscription.
Proquest — ELECTRONIC
Large multi-disciplinary database with a lot of full-text access. It covers just about everything and is often a good place to start

More on Sustainable Design

See also the Research Guide for the Architecture for Humanity Design Charrette.

Copyright © 2009 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by WordPress