image1 image2 image3 image4 image5 image6 image7 image8

Music and Music Industry

Finding Books Industry Information
Finding Articles Charts
Finding Music Directories
Finding Statistics News

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on the music industry:
Try a keyword search: music and rock
Try a subject search: Music — Social aspects
Browse the stacks:

Medieval and Renaissance ML 169.8 – ML 190
America ML 198 – ML 239
Europe ML 240 – ML 325
Instruments and Instrumental Music ML 459 – ML 1380
Electronic Music ML 1379 – ML 1380
Vocal Music ML 1400 – ML 3275
Popular Music ML 3469 – ML 3541
Music Trade (Business) ML 3790


Finding Articles

Business Source Premier – ELECTRONIC
This business database provides more than 7,800 full text scholarly publications, including more than 1,125 peer-reviewed journals.
Oxford Music Online – ELECTRONIC

Oxford Music Online is comprised of the reference source formerly known as Grove Music Online, and now also includes other valuable Oxford Reference sources. Oxford Music Online is an extensive reference resource to information about music. This is both an online dictionary as well as a resource for finding streaming music examples.

International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA) – ELECTRONIC
Provides indexing, abstracts and some full text from souces including dance, film, drama, television, the arts and entertainment industry, stagecraft, magic, musical theatre and performance art.
best resource ProQuest – ELECTRONIC
Includes indexing and some full text, although images are limited. Music publications include Billboard, Leonardo Music Journal, Rolling Stone, and Music Week. Note, however, that the most recent issues of Billboard and Rolling Stone are NOT available. We do have these in print in the Current Journals section of Hagerty Library.

Finding Music

American Song – ELECTRONIC
American Song is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America’s past.Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.
Classical Music Library – ELECTRONIC
Large and continually growing collection of classical music recordings for listening, browsing and searching.
best resource Naxos Music Library — ELECTRONIC
Naxos Music Library is a comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues of over 130,000 tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. Whilst listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos’s extensive database.
Music in Print – ELECTRONIC
emusicquest provides The Music-In-Print Series database for subscribers to search online: Sacred and Secular Choral, Classical Vocal, Organ, Orchestral, String, Classical Guitar, Woodwind, Piano, Chamber, Band, Brass, Handbell, Harp, Percussion, Recorder, Jazz, and Popular Music In Print. Note, however, that W.W. Hagerty Library does not have its own sheet music collection.

Finding Statistics

Tablebase — ELECTRONIC
Statistical/tabular data on companies, industries, products, countries and markets from a variety of different news sources. This database primarily consists of tables and lists. It’s most useful when searching for specific numerical market information.

Industry Information

best resource

Digital Entertainment: Examining the Current Market Landscape – PRINT
REF ML 3790 D54 2004
A Billboard white paper including statistics and overviews.
Drexel University Libraries’ Marketing and Advertising Research Guide – WWW
Note the section on Market Share and Market Size.
Drexel University Libraries’ Researching an Industry Research Guide – WWW
This Guide explains how to find information on any industry, and suggests resources that can help you search for music industry information.
IBISWorld – ELECTRONIC

Industry reports on over 700 industries in the United States using the NAICS standard. Just try typing in “MUSIC” to see the reports covering the music industry.

Mintel Reports – ELECTRONIC
To access the reports in Mintel, you are required to set up an account first, using your Drexel email address. It’s very quick! Log in to Mintel Reports from our Databases by Title page. After accepting their licensing agreement, you will need to create your username (Drexel email address) and password, and then you’re in. SEARCH the reports for MUSIC INDUSTRY to locate reports such as Music Retailing – US, Online Music – US, and Portable Audio – US. Note that new reports are being added all the time. Pay particular attention to each report’s Executive Summary, Market Size and Trends, Market Segmentation, and Future and Forecast.
The U.S. Concert Business: an Update on Market Forces – PRINT
REF ML 3790 U55 2004
A Billboard white paper including statistics and overviews.

Charts

Billboard 1995 Music Yearbook – PRINT
ML156.4.P6 B55 1995
best resource Billboard Top 10 Album Charts, 1963 – 1998 — PRINT
ML156.4.P6 W4435 1999
best resource Billboard Top 10 Singles Charts, 1955-2000 – PRINT
ML156.4.P6 W4445 2001
Billboard.biz Year End Charts – WWW
Information for the most recent year is free.
best resource Pollstar Online – ELECTRONIC
For touring charts and rankings.

Directories

best resource A&R Registry – PRINT
REF ML 3790 A36
Published six times a year by the Music Business Registry.  A phonebook for the music industry.
Billboard AudArena 2005 International Guide – PRINT
REF NA 6815 A9 2005
Includes addresses and phone numbers for facilities in the United States as well as international venues. Organized by place and then capacity. Also includes an alphabetical listing of companies that provide goods and services to these facilities.
Hollywood Creative Directories – ELECTRONIC
To search for music industry-related companies, go to advanced search and use the pull-down menu to find the area you are interested in.
Publisher Registry – PRINT
REF ML 405 P83 2003
Published twice a year by the Music Business Registry. List all major publishers and significant independents.
best resource RecordXpress Film and TV Music Guide – ELECTRONIC
RecordXpress Film & TV Guide offers updated contact information for all Film and Television Music firms in the United States.

News

Billboard – PRINT
Current issues are found in the Current Journals section on the first floor of Hagerty Library.
best resource CMJ New Music (Monthly) – PRINT
Includes feature articles as well as CD, game, movie, website reviews. Look for this in the Current Journals section on the first floor of Hagerty Library.
CMJ New Music Report – PRINT
The NMR is the weekly source for proprietary charts of non-commercial, college and internet radio airplay. Look for this in the Current Journals section on the first floor of Hagerty Library.
best resource Pollstar Online – ELECTRONIC
Provides music concert industry information, including Route Book (concert tour schedules), box office results, industry directories, news and other industry related data services. It also offers a daily news service.
Variety.com – ELECTRONIC
Select MUSIC from the tab at the top to access daily news.

Copyright © 2009 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by WordPress