image1 image2 image3 image4 image5 image6 image7 image8

Urban Oasis Charrette

Finding Books Reports
Recommended Databases Additional Information
Prefab and Temporary Architecture Demographic Information
Philadelphia Follies

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on your topic
Try a keyword search: Philadelphia AND city
Try a subject search: Buildings, Portable

Recommended Databases

Avery Index – ELECTRONIC
The Avery is the largest database devoted to architecture and design journals.This is a good place to look for precedent, or case studies. Click here for a guide on how to use the Avery Index.
BuildingGreen.com — ELECTRONIC
This electronic resource includes articles from Environmental Building News as well as GreenSpec, a convenient way to search for environmentally conscious building materials.
Google Scholar — WWW
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.To link to Drexel full text from Google Scholar, first add Drexel in the Library Links within Scholar Preferences.
Proquest — ELECTRONIC
Large multi-disciplinary database with a lot of full-text access. It covers just about everything and is often a good place to start.

Prefab and Temporary Architecture

We have several books on Prefab architecture. You can find them in the Catalog by doing a keyword search for PREFAB** AND ARCH**.

Philadelphia

www.phila.gov – The official website of the City of Philadelphia includes links to agencies, officials, and policy documents

www.pasda.psu.edu – Pennsylvania Spatial Data Access website with Pennsylvania GIS information, including online GIS tutorials

www.cml.upenn.eduThe cartographic Modeling Lab at the University of Pennsylvania

http://citymaps.phila.gov– Maps and photographs from the city of Philadelphia, including aerial photos, zoning maps, and a searchable photo archive

www.ushistory.org/philadelphia – Historical background on Philadelphia from the Independence Hall Association in Philadelphia

www.pbs.org/philadiary – The website companion to the PBS film “Philadelphia Diary” based on interviews with Philadelphia residents

www.cml.upenn.edu/nbase – Philadelphia NIS NeighborhoodBase, with GIS maps and charts of Philadelphia neighborhoods

www.philaplanning.org/plans/areaplans/areaplans.html – Blight and redevelopment plan information from the Philadelphia City Planning Commission

www.phila.gov/nti – The City of Philadelphia’s Neighborhood Transformation Initiative (NIS), lead by Mayor John Street

Philadelphia Inquirer — ELECTRONIC
You can search the archives of the Inquirer (back to 1981) via our NewsBank subscription.
Green Plan Philadelphia – Look under Planning in Your Neighborhood” for ‘proxy’ community feedback. This site was mentioned in Friday’s panel discussion.

Reports

www.philaplanning.org/plans/areaplans/areaplans.html – Reports on neighborhood blight and redevelopment by the Philadelphia City Planning Commission

www.philaplanning.org/plans/vls.pdf -Vacant Land in Philadelphia, a 1995 report by the Philadelphia City Planning Commission

www.lgean.org/documents/Revitalization%20of%20Vacant%20Properties.pdf – The Revitalization of Vacant Properties, a report by the International City/County Management Association

www.nrdc.org/water/drinking/uscities/pdf/philadelphia.pdf – The National Resources Defense Council’s 2003 report on pollution in Philadelphia’s drinking water

www.housingalliancePA.org/Issues/Issues_Home.htm#Reclaiming%20Abandoned%20PA –The Housing Alliance of Pennsylvania’s report and action guide for vacancy in Pennsylvania


Additional Information

Ann Keith Kennedy will be in Room L14(lower level, Hagerty Library) on Friday morning and afternoon if you need assistance in research.
The Charrette Website: http://www.drexel.edu/westphal/charrette/2009/
The Pomegranate Center, Seattle. This organization is “is an internationally recognized leader in developing neighborhood gathering places and is a leading nonprofit devoted to community-generated design and development.” Examples of their projects are featured on the website.

Demographic Information

Philadelphia School District — WWW
The Philadelphia School District provides a lot of demographic information on their students, listed by school. Start with the name of a school, and then search for it here: https://sdp-webprod.phila.k12.pa.us/OnlineDirectory/schools.jsp. Then, look at the DATA link for that school’s page.
Simply Map — ELECTRONIC
A web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using United States demographic, business, and marketing data. Data sources include the U.S. Census and Census projections. Free individual registration is required before use.
Statistical Resources Research Guide — WWW
This research guide provides lots of sources for demographics including health and economics, both domestic and international.

Follies

PS1 Museum of Contemporary Art, New York City, Young Architects Program

http://ps1.org/yap/

2000: DuneScapes by SHoP

2002: Playa Urbana/Urban Beach by William E. Massie

2003: Light-Wing by Tom Wiscombe of EMERGENT

2004: Canopy by nARCHITECTS

2005: SUR by Xefirotarch

2006: BEATFUSE! by OBRA

2007: Liquid Sky by Ball-Nogues

2008: P.F.1 (Public Farm One) by WORK Architecture Company

Copyright © 2009 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by WordPress