image1 image2 image3 image4 image5 image6 image7 image8

Arts Administration

Finding Books Arts Administration Journals
Recommended Databases RefWorks
Finding Theses Links
Market Research

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on arts administration:
Try a keyword search: succession

theater* and management

Try a subject search: arts – management
Browse the stacks:
HD 2745 Boards
HF 5549 – HF 5549.5 Personnel Management
HF 5601 – HF 5689 Accounting. Bookkeeping
N 8700 – N 9165 Art and the State, Public Art
NX 440 – NX 632 History of the Arts
NX 700 – NX 750 Patronage of the Arts
NX 760 – NX 770 Administration of the Arts
NX 775 – NX 777 Voluntarism in the Arts
NX 798 – NX 820 Arts Centers and Facilities

Recommended Databases

Business Source PremierELECTRONIC
Database focusing on business publications. Includes electronic access to the Harvard Business Review and the MIT Sloan Management Review.
Google ScholarWWW
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. To link to Drexel full text from Google Scholar, first add Drexel in the Library Links within Scholar Preferences.
International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA)ELECTRONIC
Provides indexing, abstracts and selected full text from sources including dance. Note that not all articles are available full-text from IIPA, and you will need to use the SFX button to locate all options.
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance Full Text ELECTRONIC
A fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. Full text available includes more than 100 journals and over 50 books & monographs
Jstor — ELECTRONIC
Interdisciplinary collection of journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Electronic NewspapersELECTRONIC
Drexel University Libraries provides access to several newspapers and their archives, including The Philadelphia Inquirer, The New York Times (back to 1851), The Washington Post, and The Wall Street Journal. This page show you the access points for each.
ProquestELECTRONIC
Huge multi-disciplinary database that includes electronic access to International Journal of Arts Management, The Journal of Arts Management, Law and Society and ournal of Cultural Economics. Also includes access to magazines such as Time, Newsweek, and Philadelphia Magazine.


Finding Theses

To find theses by Drexel AADM graduates, search the catalog for THESIS AND ARTS MANAGEMENT. There is a link in each record for electronic access to the thesis/dissertation collection in our institutional depository, iDEA. Click on the link, to be taken into iDEA, but then you still have to click AGAIN to get the PDF document.
To find theses outside of Drexel, search the database Digital Dissertations from UMI. UMI publishes and archives dissertations and theses; sells copies on demand; and maintains the definitive bibliographic record for over 2 million doctoral dissertations and master’s theses. Digital Dissertations provides electronic access in PDF format for the first 24 pages of titles published since 1997, which is a great way to know if the title is really what you are looking for. If you find that you need to get the whole document – don’t buy it via Digital Dissertations. Request a copy to borrow via our Inter-library loan department.

Market Research

IBISWorld ELECTRONIC
Collection of Industry Market Research Reports on over 700 industries in the United States.
Mintel Reports ELECTRONIC
To access the reports in Mintel, you are required to set up an account first, using your Drexel email address. It’s very quick! Log in to Mintel Reports from our Databases by Title page. After accepting their licensing agreement, you will need to create your username (Drexel email address) and password, and then you’re in. Pay particular attention to each report’s Executive Summary, Market Size and Trends, Market Segmentation, and Future and Forecast.
TableBase ELECTRONIC
Statistical data on companies, industries, products and markets.

Arts Administration Journals

Note the following journal titles related to Arts Administration that Drexel University Libraries currently subscribes to:

Asia Pacific Journal of Arts and Cultural Management (electronically only from December 2003, directly from the publisher)
Chronicle of Philanthropy (electronically from 1998, directly from the publisher)
International Journal of Arts Management (in print from 2001 – current, and electronically via Proquest from 2002)
International Journal of Cultural Policy (electronically only from 2002, via Informaworld Journals)
The Journal of Arts Management and Law (in print from 1983 – 1991 and electronically 1990 – present via Ebscohost International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance)
The Journal of Arts Management, Law and Society (in print 1992-current (some missing issues), and electronically via Proquest from 1992 via Ebscohost International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance)
Journal of Cultural Economics (electronically only from 1996 via Proquest and SpringerLink)
Museum Management and Curatorship (electronically only from 1995 via Elsevier ScienceDirect)

Also note the following journal from the University of Wisonsin’s Digital Collections:

The Arts in SocietyWWW

This journal was published by the University of Wisconsin from 1958 – 1976 and covers many topics of interest to arts administation students and professionals.


Refworks

RefWorks — ELECTRONIC
RefWorks is a web-based citation manager tool provided by Drexel University Libraries. It allows you to create folders that help you organize your research, and is useful when writing your thesis. Many of our databases work directly with RefWorks, allowing you to export citations to your account and sometimes allowing you to link back out to the article itself. For more information on how to use RefWorks, see http://www.library.drexel.edu/resources/tutorials/refworks.html

Links

Artslynx International Arts Administration Resourceshttp://www.artslynx.org/admin/index.htm
Drexel University Libraries’ Prospect Research Pagehttp://www.library.drexel.edu/resources/guides/fundingguides/?page_id=6
Drexel University Libraries’ Grant Guidehttp://www.library.drexel.edu/resources/guides/fundingguides/?page_id=3
The New York Public Library Arts Administration Pagehttp://www.nypl.org/research/lpa/internet/lpa.cfm?Trg=1&d1=132&d3=Arts%20Administration

Copyright © 2009 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by WordPress