Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About Drexel University

Charrette 2011: Paths | Portals | Places

Finding Books Drexel University History
Recommended Databases Additional Information
Recommended Websites

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on your topic
Try a keyword search: campus and planning
planning and urban design

Recommended Databases

Avery Index – ELECTRONIC
The Avery is the largest database devoted to architecture and design journals.This is a good place to look for precedent, or case studies. Click here for a guide on how to use the Avery Index.
BuildingGreen.com – ELECTRONIC
This electronic resource includes articles from Environmental Building News as well as GreenSpec, a convenient way to search for environmentally conscious building materials.
Google Scholar – WWW
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.To link to Drexel full text from Google Scholar, first add Drexel in the Library Links within Scholar Preferences.
Proquest – ELECTRONIC
Large multi-disciplinary database with a lot of full-text access. It covers just about everything and is often a good place to start. 

Recommended Websites

Places – WWW
The journal Places focuses on public spaces and placemaking. Its entire archive is available for free.
AASHE (The Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education) - WWW
This organization promotes sustainability within higher education. Look at their blog to understand issues being faced today, as well as at their publications.
Drexel Univeristy’s 2007-2010 Strategic Plan – WWW
Drexel University’s Planing, Design & Construction – WWW
This site inlcudes campus maps as well as the campus master plan.
Drexel Univeristy Libraries Architecture Research Guide – WWW

Drexel History

Check out the website of the Drexel University Archives:

http://archives.library.drexel.edu/

Especially this page, listing all buildings with their dates:

http://archives.library.drexel.edu/buildings

Additional Information

The Charrette Website: http://www.drexel.edu/westphal/charrette/2011/

Copyright © 2012 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Wordpress Wordpress icon