Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About Drexel University

Urban Connection Charrette 2010


Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on your topic
Try a keyword search: Philadelphia AND city
Try a subject search: Urban transportation — United States

Recommended Databases

Art and Architecture Complete — ELECTRONIC
We currently have a trial to this database, which covers many design magazines.
Avery Index – ELECTRONIC
The Avery is the largest database devoted to architecture and design journals.This is a good place to look for precedent, or case studies. Click here for a guide on how to use the Avery Index.
BuildingGreen.com — ELECTRONIC
This electronic resource includes articles from Environmental Building News as well as GreenSpec, a convenient way to search for environmentally conscious building materials.
Google Scholar — WWW
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.To link to Drexel full text from Google Scholar, first add Drexel in the Library Links within Scholar Preferences.
Proquest — ELECTRONIC
Large multi-disciplinary database with a lot of full-text access. It covers just about everything and is often a good place to start.

Recommended Articles from the Charrette Bibliography

Many of the articles found on the Charrette Bibliography have been scanned and are available electronically on reserve here: http://innoserv.library.drexel.edu/search/r?SEARCH=architecture+charrette
Other Articles from the bibliography are directly available here:
West Philadelphia Initiatives: A Case Study in Urban Revitalization. By John Kromer and Lucy Kerman
Lancaster Avenue Study – Strategies for Corridor Revitalization. By Richard Redding.
Poverty in Philadelphia – Transportation as Change Agent. By Matthew Schell.
Transportation Activity Centers for Urban Transportation Analysis. By Jeffrey M. Casello and Tony E. Smith
Bicycle Infrastructure Development Strategy for Suburban Commuting. By Bradley Layton et. al.

Philadelphia

www.septa.org – SEPTA website, including system maps overlaid on neighborhoods.

www.pasda.psu.edu – Pennsylvania Spatial Data Access website with Pennsylvania GIS information, including online GIS tutorials

www.cml.upenn.edu –The cartographic Modeling Lab at the University of Pennsylvania

http://citymaps.phila.gov– Maps and photographs from the city of Philadelphia, including aerial photos, zoning maps, and a searchable photo archive

www.ushistory.org/philadelphia – Historical background on Philadelphia from the Independence Hall Association in Philadelphia

www.pbs.org/philadiary – The website companion to the PBS film “Philadelphia Diary” based on interviews with Philadelphia residents

www.cml.upenn.edu/nbase – Philadelphia NIS NeighborhoodBase, with GIS maps and charts of Philadelphia neighborhoods

www.philaplanning.org/plans/areaplans/areaplans.html – Blight and redevelopment plan information from the Philadelphia City Planning Commission

www.phila.gov/nti – The City of Philadelphia’s Neighborhood Transformation Initiative (NIS), lead by Mayor John Street

Philadelphia Inquirer — ELECTRONIC
You can search the archives of the Inquirer (back to 1981) via our NewsBank subscription.

Transit Reports

Transit Research Board – WWW
This organization of the National Academies publishes  many reports related to all aspects of transportation. Try searching for SHELTER or BICYCLE.

Transit Cooperative Research Program –WWW
The TCRP is “a cooperative effort of the Federal Transit Administration, the Transportation Research Board, and the Transit Development Corporation, Inc.”


Additional Information

Ann Keith Kennedy will be in Room 127 (main floor of  Hagerty Library) on Friday morning and afternoon if you need assistance in research. Books related to the charrette (included on the bibliography here: http://www.drexel.edu/westphal/charrette/2010/charretteresources.2010.pdf ) are also available in that room. There will be computers for online research as well.
The Charrette Website: http://www.drexel.edu/westphal/charrette/2010/


Copyright © 2012 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Wordpress Wordpress icon