| Suggested Databases | Selected Web Resources: |
| Electronic Journals | |
| Electronic Texts and Theses | |
| College of Nursing and Health Professions Music Therapy Program |
Alt-Health Watch (Dates vary) Full-text and image database covering the full spectrum of alternative medicine subject areas, Alt HealthWatch focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It draws from more than 140 international and often peer-reviewed reports, conference proceedings, and association and consumer newsletters. In addition, Alt HealthWatch includes pamphlets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
CINAHL (1982-current) Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature: indexes books, journals and dissertations in nursing, physical therapy, medical technology and allied health areas.
Classical Music Library Large and continually growing collection of classical music recordings for listening, browsing and searching.
ERIC (1966-current) Educational Resources Information Center: contains citations to education-related research and technical reports, and to journal articles.
HAPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments) (1985-current) Provides information on measurement instruments (questionnaires, etc.) for the health and psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
MEDLINE via Ovid (1950-current) Includes Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, & Index to Dental Literature. Covers over 3500 journals in medicine, clinical science and allied health. Includes Health Sciences Libraries journal holdings information and links to full-text articles available through Journals@OVID.
Music In Print (2001-current) Emusicquest provides the Music-In-Print Series databases for subscribers to search online: Sacred and Secular Choral, Classical Vocal, Organ, Orchestral, String, Classical Guitar, Woodwind, Piano, Chamber, Band, Brass, Handbell, Harp, Percussion, Recorder, Jazz, and Popular Music In Print.
Naxos Music Library A comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues of over 130,000 tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. Whilst listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos’s extensive database.
PsycINFO ( 1872-current) Covers books, dissertations and journals in the psychological and behavioral sciences, including the creative arts therapies. Uses the OVID interface and the Thesaurus of Psychological Indexing Terms.
Refworks allows users to format their citations and papers into a particular format, export or manually add references into RefWorks, and share their references or entire database. Users must create a RefWorks account. Write-N-Cite, an application that must be downloaded, enables users to insert in-text citations from their references into their papers. When using Write-N-Cite from off-campus, enter RWDrexelU as the Group Code, in addition to the RefWorks account login. The Group Code is case sensitive.
Wilson OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition (1983-current) Covers English-language periodicals in the social sciences, humanities, science, and business.
- Acoustic Guitar
- The Arts in Psychotherapy
- Guitar Player
- Journal of Music Therapy
- Music Therapy Perspectives
- Music Therapy Today
- Voices: A World Forum for Music Therapy
(Check catalog for print journals; for a comprehensive list, search “music therapy periodicals” as a Subject)
- Analytical music therapy.
- Community music therapy.
- A comprehensive guide to music therapy: theory, clinical practice, research, and training.
- Filling a need while making some noise: a music therapist’s guide to pediatrics.
- Groups in music: strategies from music therapy.
- Improvisation: methods and techniques for music therapy clinicians, educators and students.
- Interactive music therapy: a positive approach: music therapy at a child development centre.
- Music therapy and neurological rehabilitation: performing health.
- The music effect: music physiology and clinical applications.
- Music, music therapy, and trauma: international perspectives.
- Music therapy: an art beyond words.
- Music therapy: intimate notes.
- Roots of musicality: music therapy and personal development.
- Song writing: methods, techniques and clinical applications for music. therapy clinicians, educators and students.
(Check catalog for full listing of print and electronic resources; for a comprehensive list, search “music therapy” as a Subject)
- Creative Arts in Therapy Theses collection at iDEA: Drexel E-Repository and Archives.
- iDEA is a centralized virtual space to access unique digital resources produced by the Drexel community. The Creative Arts in Therapy Theses collection has a number of digitized theses by Drexel alumni in Music Therapy, Art Therapy, and Dance/Movement Therapy.
(Check catalog for full listing of print and electronic theses; for a comprehensive list, search “music therapy thesis” as a Keyword)
Academic and Professional Associations
- American Music Therapy Association (AMTA)
- Founded in 1998, AMTA’s purpose is the development of therapeutic use of music in rehabilitation, special education, and community settings. Includes many helpful links and information.
- Association of Professional Music Therapists (APMT)
- Established in 1976, this association is dedicated to maintaining a high standard of practice throughout the profession in the UK.
- British Society for Music Therapy (BSMT)
- The BSMT was founded in 1958 and has played a major role in establishing Music Therapy and its professional status in the UK.
- Canadian Association for Music Therapy (CAMT)
- The CAMT became an official association in 1976. Its purpose is to establish methods of treatment and foster professional communication.
- Certification Board for Music Therapists (CBMT)
- Contains crucial information concerning certification in the field of Music Therapy.
- National Coalition of Arts Therapies Associations (NCATA)
- Founded in 1979, this coalition represents all of the professional organizations that utilize the arts as therapeutic modalities
- Grove Music
- Grove music comprises The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.
- Music Therapy World
- Includes a wide variety of information including newsletters, downloads, discussion boards, etc.
- Stanley Jordan’s Music Therapy Links
- An extensive collection of links in the field of Music Therapy.








