Search the Library Website:
 
  Print-friendly version
  Nursing
 
 

Suggested Databases

Selected Web Resources

Journals
Electronic Texts and Reference Resources
College of Nursing and Health Professionals Homepage

 

Other Resources



Directories

Suggested Databases

CINAHL (1982 - present) Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature: indexes books, journals and dissertations in nursing, physical therapy, medical technology and allied health areas.

MEDLINE via OVID (1950-present) Includes Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, & Index to Dental Literature. Covers over 3500 journals in medicine, clinical science and allied health. Includes Health Sciences Libraries journal holdings information and links to full-text articles available through Journals@OVID.

MEDLINE via PubMed (1950-present) NLM's search service to access MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases.

NursingConsult (Current) Mosby's Nursing Consult brings together several leading nursing resources to help nurses efficiently find answers to pressing clinical questions. It includes the Latest Drug Information, Patient Education Information, Professional Journals, Reference Books, Current News, Clinical Practice Information, Evidence-based Content, and Care Planning Tools.  NursingConsult also includes the database, Mosby's Nursing Index, which has journal titles that CINAHL does not own.

Primal Pictures (Current) Includes Interactive Functional Anatomy and Complete Human Anatomy -- both are 3D interactive human models. Enable pop-ups for optimal viewing.

Proquest Nursing and Allied Health Source (1986-current) Contains articles from over 500 journals which cover nursing and allied health.

RefWorks allows users to format their citations and papers into a particular format, export or manually add references into RefWorks, and share their references or entire database. Users must create a RefWorks account.  Write-N-Cite, an application that must be downloaded, enables users to insert in text citations from their references into their papers. When using Write-N-Cite from off-campus, enter RWDrexelU as the Group Code, in addition to the RefWorks account login.

Dissertations & Theses (1861-current) With more than 1.5 million entries, ProQuest's Dissertations & Theses is the one central, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.

HAPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments) (1985-present) Provides information on measurement instruments (questionnaires, etc.) for the health and psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.

Health Sciences: a SAGE Full-Text Collection (1982-present) Contains 24 journals published by SAGE and various societies. This database also covers additional subjects like aging and gerontology, public health, and research methods. Full text available from 1982 to present.

Proquest Nursing and Allied Health Source (1986-present) Contains articles from over 500 journals which cover nursing and allied health. Full text available from 1986 to present.

PsycINFO (1806-present) Covers books, dissertations, and journals in the psychological and behavioral sciences, including the creative arts therapies. Uses the OVID interface and the Thesaurus of Psychological Indexing Terms.

Journals

Check catalog for electronic and print journals; for a comprehensive list, search "Nursing-periodicals" as a Subject. Also see the alphabetic listings of Electronic Journals for Nursing.

Electronic Texts and Reference Resources

Also see the listing of selected health sciences electronic books.

Selected Web Resources

Instructional Resources

Academic and Professional Associations

American Academy of Nursing (AAN)
The AAN's goal is "transforming healthcare policy and practice through nursing knowledge."

American Association for the History of Nursing
Founded in 1978, this association serves as a nursing history resource. The website includes a student primer on nursing history, nursing theory information, pictures of gravesites of prominent nurses, and a nursing history calendar.

American Association of Colleges of Nursing
The AACN serves as a resource for higher education in nursing.  The website has information on scholarships and a career center. 

American Nurses Association (ANA)
Nursing's leading association offers resources for students and professionals including career and credentialing, ethics, and health care policy.

American Nursing Informatics Association
ANiA provides networking, education, and resources for nurses interested in pursuing informatics. 

National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)
  
NINR seeks to improve the health of individuals, families, communities, and populations through supporting research in a number of areas such as caregiving, chronic and acute disease, and the end of life. 

North American Nursing Diagnosis Association (NANDA)
NANDA is the premier international nursing diagnosis association.  The website has information on NANDA-I Committees and NLinks, "a network for language in nursing knowledge systems."

Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing
This honor society of nursing has a career advisor, links to nursing schools, and a leadership institute.  Sigma Theta Tau also has a link to the Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library, which provides resources for advancing nursing and patient care.  The library's free database, Registry of Nursing Research, allows users to search study and conference abstracts. 

By Ethnicity

Asian American Pacific Islander Nurses Association
AAPINA was established in 1991. The website has a link to a Gerontology/Geriatrics section which has resources for professionals and a bibliography.

National Alaska Native American Indian Nurses Association
NANAINA is founded upon its predecessor organization, the American Indian Nurses Association and later, the American Indian Alaska Native Nurses Association.

National Association of Hispanic Nurses
Originally founded in 1975, this association promotes Hispanic nurses to improve community's health. 

National Black Nurses Association
Founded in 1971, NBNA represents over one hundred fifty thousand members. 

National Coalition of Ethnic and Minority Nurse Association (NCEMNA)
This organization is made up of five organizations, representing over three hundred fifty thousand minority nurses.

Philippine Nurses Association of America
This association was founded in 1979 to be "responsive to its constituent needs and be a force in the world arena of nursing."

By Specialty

American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (AANP)
The preeminent organization for nurse practitioners has a website with sections on certification, research/education, and scholarships. 

American Association of Critical Care Nurses (AACN)
Founded in 1969, the AACN has an extensive website of information on certification, clinical practice, and public policy. 

American Association of Neuroscience Nurses (AANN)
AANN has links to certification, continuing education, and the Neuroscience Nursing Foundation, which provides grants for those interested in neuroscience nursing research. 

American Association of Nurse Anesthetists (AANA)
Over ninty percent of CRNAs belong to the AANA. The website offers information on careers, practice documents, professional development, and a section for patients.

American Association of Occupational Health Nurses (AAOHN
)
Started in 1942, this association has grown to over a hundred chapters in almost every state.  It provides links to continuing education, code of ethics, standards of practice, and public policy. 

American College of Nurse-Midwives
ACNM is the oldest women's health care organization in the United States.  Its website includes links to career center, continuing education and practice resources, and consumer information. 

American Holistic Nurses Association
AHNA serves as "the definitive voice for holistic nursing, and promotes the education of nurses, other healthcare professionals, and the public in all aspects of holistic caring and healing."

American Nephrology Nurses Association
This association believes that nephrology nurses must "assess the real or threatened impact of renal disease on the individual as well as to diagnose and treat his/her responses to this problem. " The website includes sections on education, health policy, and practice. 

American Psychiatric Nurses Association (APNA)
APNA has about five thousand members.  The website's resources section includes information on grants and scholarships, position papers, and links. 

American Society of Ophthalmic Registered Nurses (ASORN)
ASORN's mission is "to foster excellence in ophthalmic patient care while supporting the ophthalmic team through individual development, education, and evidence based practice."

Association of Perioperative Registered Nurses (AORN)
AORN is the national association committed to improving patient safety in the surgical setting.  The website includes discussion boards, professional development, and a perioperative nursing suggested reading list.

Association of Rehabilitation Nurses (ARN)
ARN's website has links to chapters, email discussion group, position statements and white papers, and a free online assessment tool.

Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN)
"AWHONN is an organization of nurses committed to the health of women and newborns." The website includes information on childbearing, newborns and neonates, standards and guidelines, and patient handouts. 

Dermatology Nurses' Association
DNA promotes excellence in dermatologic care.  In addition to sections on certification and jobs, the website also has a section about a dermatologic nurse practitioner society. 

Emergency Nurses Association (ENA)
The ENA website has links to emergency preparedness, the future of emergency care, and injury prevention. 

Hospice and Palliative Nurses Association
HPNA has become the "nationally recognized organization providing resources and support" for the nursing profession.  The website has links to e-Newsletters, educational services for both professionals and patients, and quality resources. 

Infusion Nurses Society
The global authority on infusion therapy, INS has information on certification, meetings & education, and scholarships. 

National Association of Orthopaedic Nurses (NAON)
Orthopaedic nursing advances musculoskeletal health care by promoting excellence in orthopaedic research, education, and nursing practice. The association's website includes links to continuing education & conferences, research and practice, and certification. 

Oncology Nursing Society
A leader in cancer care, ONS provides clinical practice tools such as PDA software and a patient education section. 

Society of Pediatric Nurses
"SPN is the only broad-based pediatric nursing organization founded for all nurses involved in the care of children and families." The website includes an event calendar and online documents. 

Society of Urologic Nurses and Associates (SUNA)
SUNA has links to jobs, a patients section, practice guidelines, and task forces. 

Wound, Ostomy, and Continence Nurses Society
This society has a WOCN Library which includes the WOC Newsletter, position statements, and fact sheets. 

For Students

Delaware Student Nurses' Association
With over three hundred members, DSNA is a constituent member of the National Student Nurses' Association.

National Student Nurses Association
The NSNA website includes links to a calendar, career center, job opportunities, and a live chat section.

New Jersey Nursing Students, Inc.
This organization is one of the largest student nursing associations in the United States. 

Student Nurse's Association of Pennsylvania
SNAP is a "student run organization that represents over 3,000 students from nursing schools throughout Pennsylvania."

State Associations and Boards

Resources for Evidence Based Nursing 

(See also our Subject Guide to Evidence-based Medicine)

Academic Center for Evidence-Based Nursing (ACE)
One of the leading worldwide centers for evidence based medicine; contains articles about the philosophy and practice of EBM as well as some useful analytical tools.

Centre for Evidence Based Medicine
One of the leading worldwide centers for evidence based medicine; contains articles about the philosophy and practice of EBM as well as some useful analytical tools.

Centre for Evidence Based Nursing (University of York, U.K.)
Works to identify evidence-based practice through primary research and systematic reviews and promotes the uptake of evidence into practice.

Evidence-Based Medicine Resource Center
This website from the New York Academy of Medicine has links to practice guidelines, reference, tutorials, and more. 

Joanna Briggs Institute
Partnership between Royal Adelaide Hospital and University of Adelaide on evidence-based research.

McMaster University's Health Information
Practice-oriented research activities to improve the effectiveness of nursing practice and health care outcomes.

National Guidelines Clearinghouse
The National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC) is a comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents.
Netting the Evidence
A massive list by Andrew Booth of the School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR) of the University of Sheffield.

TRIP (Turning Research into Practice)
Contains the TRIP Database, a directory of medical links to high-quality sources of medical information on the web. Links to hundreds of other medical databases on the Web through a search engine, including those sites listed above. Search tips are listed on the search page, and click on "For more extensive search tips click here" at the bottom of the page for more advanced techniques.

Western Australia Centre for Evidence based Nursing and Midwifery
Practice-oriented research activities to improve the effectiveness of nursing practice and health care outcomes.

Evidence Based Resources:  Tools

Evidence Based Resources: Tutorials

Nursing Theory

Other Resources

Directories

Drexel University
Health Sciences Libraries


Hahnemann Library
Center City Campus
1st and 2nd floors, New College Building
245 No. 15th Street

For Reference Assistance:

  215-762-7184
  Hours


Queen Lane Library
College of Medicine Campus
1st floor, Drexel University College of Medicine Campus
2900 Queen Lane

For Reference Assistance:

  215-991-8749
  Hours


Health Sciences Libraries Reference Librarians

Ask us a Question!

IM the Hahnemann Library:



Hagerty Library Reference Desk

Reference Desk Hours

Reference Desk Phone:
215-895-2755

Content Editor:
Rebecca Raszewski
Content Editor Email:
raszewski@drexel.edul
Last Content Update:
July 29, 2008





Drexel University Libraries | 33rd & Market Streets | Philadelphia, PA, USA 19104 | (215) 895-1500
Copyright © 2008 Drexel University Libraries

Modified 29-Jul-2008 Drexel Libraries Home Law Library Home Contact Us Site Search/Index Feedback/Corrections