Search the Library Website:
 
  Print-friendly version
  Nutrition
 
 
 
  Finding Books
  Searching the catalog for books on nutrition:
  Try a keyword search: nutrition AND assessment
sport* AND nutrition*
  Try a subject search: Malnutrition in Children
Vitamins -- analysis
  Browse the stacks: Physiology-Nutrition -- QP141-
Home Economics-Nutrition -- TX341-
  [Top]
 
  Finding Articles
AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access) -- ELECTRONIC
Provides access to the agricultural literature of the world and is the most comprehensive source of U.S. agricultural and life sciences information. AGRICOLA serves as the document locator and bibliographic control system for the National Agricultural Library (NAL) collection. It contains over 3.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture from 1979 to the present. Data is provided to Community of Science under contract with the National Technical Information Service.
Biological Sciences -- ELECTRONIC
An interdisciplinary database that offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, nutrition science, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
Expanded Academic and ProQuest -- ELECTRONIC
These broad cross disciplinary resources partially cover the nutrition literature and some may be full-text.
best resource Food Science and Technology Abstracts -- ELECTRONIC
Covers scientific journals relating to food science and technology published throughout the world, as well patents, books, conference proceedings, reports, theses, standards, legislation. All abstracts are in English and are prepared by specialist scientists and linguists, from work originally published worldwide in more than 40 different languages.
MEDLINE-- ELECTRONIC
Check our database list for several access points for this resourse.
  [Top]
 
  Handbooks and Encyclopedias
best resource Bender's Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology -- PRINT/ELECTRONIC
Hagerty Reference  TX349 .B4 1999 and 2006
CRC Desk Reference for Nutrition -- PRINT
Hagerty Reference  QP141 .B523 2006
Dietary reference intakes for energy, carbohydrate, fiber, fat, fatty acids, cholesterol, protein, and amino acids -- ELECTRONIC
Dietary reference intakes for water, potassium, sodium, chloride, and sulfate -- ELECTRONIC
Nutrition Handbook for Food Processors -- ELECTRONIC
best resource United Nations Data -- WWW
Here find numerous links to data and statistics on food and agriculture from FAO as collected by the United Nations.
  [Top]
 
  Selected Web Resources
Food and Nutrition Information Center -- WWW
The Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) is located at the National Agricultural Library (NAL), part of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) and the Agricultural Research Service (ARS).
  [Top]
 
  Professional Organizations
American Council on Science and Health--Nutrition -- WWW
American Dietetic Association -- WWW
American Society for Nutrition -- WWW
American Society for Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition -- WWW
Canadian Council of Food and Nutrition -- WWW
Dietary Managers Association -- WWW
Dietitians of Canada -- WWW


Hagerty Library Reference Desk

Reference Desk Hours

Reference Desk Phone:
215-895-2755

Content Editor:
Peggy Dominy
Content Editor Email:
dominymf@drexel.edul
Last Content Update:
August 15, 2008





Drexel University Libraries | 33rd & Market Streets | Philadelphia, PA, USA 19104 | (215) 895-1500
Copyright © 2008 Drexel University Libraries

Modified 15-Aug-2008 Drexel Libraries Home Law Library Home Contact Us Site Search/Index Feedback/Corrections