Search the Library Website:
 
  Print-friendly version
  Photography
 
 
 
  Finding Books
  Searching the catalog for books on photography:
  Try a keyword search: stuart rome
  Try a subject search: photography, artistic
  Browse the stacks:
TR 185 Photographers

TR 250 – 265

Cameras

TR 287- 500 Photographic Processing
TR 510 - 545 Color Photography
TR 550 - 581 Studio and Laboratory
TR 590 - 620 Lighting
TR 600's Artistic Photography
TR 624 - 835 Applied Photography
  [Top]
 
  Finding Articles
Art Bibliographies Modern -- ELECTRONIC
Source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, and including photography since its invention. Includes abstracts of English and foreign-language material on famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends. It does not include full-text of the articles, so be sure to use the SFX button to access the full-text.
best resource Art Full Text -- ELECTRONIC
Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in 1997.
DAII - Design and Applied Arts Index -- ELECTRONIC
Covers trends in design and the applied arts, including photography with a focus on technique. It indexes articles from international design magazines, but does not include full-text of the articles. Use the SFX button to find access to full-text.
  [Top]
 
  Finding Images
best resource ARTstor -- ELECTRONIC
ARTstor is an image database that includes photography, although more recent work is limited. Registration is necessary for saving images on ARTstor, but not for searching the collection.
  [Top]
 
  Finding a Photographer
Search the catalog (http://innopac.library.drexel.edu/search/) -- ELECTRONIC
Search by keyword the name of the photographer. There may be an entire book on your person. If not, broaden your search to look for monographs on the type of photography or the time period and then check those book's index for the subject that you are interested in.
American Photographers: An Illustrated Who's Who Among Leading Contemporary Americans -- PRINT
REF TR 139 .A34 1989
Like a Who's Who, but for photographers
best resource Contemporary Photographers -- PRINT
REF TR 139 .C66 3rd ed. 1995
An encyclopedia of famous photographers. The entries include biographies, listing of works, writings. Some also include bibliographies and sample photos in both color and black and white.
best resource Grove Dictionary of Art -- ELECTRONIC and PRINT
This classic reference series is also available electronically, which makes it easy to search by keyword. The Grove is especially useful due to the bibliographies included for each subject. Once you have found the entry you are looking for, look for the Bibliography link in the left hand menu. Then, check our catalog to see if we have any of the books listed. Image links are also provided in the upper menu bar. The print version is located in our Reference section, with Call Number N31 .D5 1996
  [Top]
 
  History of Photography
A New History of Photography --PRINT
Call Number REF  TR 15 N6813 1998
PhotoSpeak : a Guide to the Ideas, Movements, and Techniques of Photography, 1839 to the Present -- PRINT
Call Number REF TR 15 M63 1998
best resource A World History of Photography -- PRINT
Call Number REF TR 15 R67x 1989
best resource The Book of 101 Books : Seminal Photographic Books of the Twentieth Century -- PRINT
Call Number REF TR 145 Z9 B66 2001
The History of Photography as Seen Through the Spira Collection -- PRINT
TR 15 S66 2001
Ann Keith Kennedy
Ann Keith Kennedy
Librarian for Media Arts & Design

Hours M-F: 8am-5pm


Hagerty Library, Room 135
akk25@drexel.edu
215-895-2772



Hagerty Library Reference Desk

Reference Desk Hours

Reference Desk Phone:
215-895-2755

Content Editor:
Content editor
Content Editor Email:
Content editor email
Last Content Update:
March 28, 2008





Drexel University Libraries | 33rd & Market Streets | Philadelphia, PA, USA 19104 | (215) 895-1500
Copyright © 2008 Drexel University Libraries

Modified 29-Jul-2008 Drexel Libraries Home Law Library Home Contact Us Site Search/Index Feedback/Corrections