Search the Library Website:
 
  Print-friendly version
  Plant Science
 
 
 
  Finding Books
  Searching the catalog for books on plant science:
  Try a keyword search: botan* AND pennsylvania
chem* AND botan*
  Try a subject search: plant morphogenesis
phytogeography
  Browse the stacks: plant anatomy -- QK640-
plant physiology -- QK710-
phylochemistry -- QK861-
  [Top]
 
  Finding Articles
best resource AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access)
Provides access to the agricultural literature of the world and is the most comprehensive source of U.S. agricultural and life sciences information. AGRICOLA serves as the document locator and bibliographic control system for the National Agricultural Library (NAL) collection. It contains over 3.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture from 1979 to the present.
Bio One - ELECTRONIC
Offers an aggregation of full-text, high-impact bioscience research journals, mostly published by small societies and non-commercial publishers.
best resource Biological Sciences - ELECTRONIC
An interdisciplinary database that offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
Columbia Earthscape - ELECTRONIC
Earth sciences resources from a variety of sources such as government reports usually not found in the published literature.
best resource Environmental Science Database - ELECTRONIC
Covers topics such as soil erosion, erosion control, biodegradation, bioremediation, and more. Environmental Science Database also contains information on environmental aspects of agriculture, forestry, food, and rural development.
  [Top]
 
  Handbooks and Encyclopedias
Dictionary Of Plant Genetics And Molecular Biology - PRINT
Ref QK981 .M54 1998
Includes definitions of over 3,500 technical terms from plant genetics and molecular biology. Concise definitions are given for various techniques, enzymes, theories, and other terms from the fields of population, evolutionary, classical and molecular genetics; mutagenesis; statistics; and plant breeding and biotechnology
Dictionary of Plant Sciences - ELECTRONIC and PRINT
best resource Encyclopedia of Applied Plant Sciences - PRINT
Hagerty Ref SB45 .E539x 2003
Handbook of Plant and Crop Physiology - PRINT
Hagerty 2nd Floor SB112.5 .H35 2002    
best resource Handbook Of Reference Methods For Plant Analysis - PRINT
Hagerty 2nd Floor  QK865.H26 1998
A resource of plant analysis procedures, outlined in easy-to-follow steps and laboratory-ready for implementation. Plant laboratory preparation methods such as dry ashing and acid and microwave digestion are discussed in detail. Extraction techniques for analysis of readily soluble elements (petiole analysis) and quick test kits for field testing are also presented.
best resource Illustrated Glossary of Plant Pathology - WWW
This extensive glossary includes many electron and scanning electron micrographs.
  [Top]
 
  Selected Web Resources
Plant And Insect Parasitic Nematode Home Page
This WWW site is designed as an aid for nematode identification and systematic research, as well as a general resource for the science of Nematology. The emphasis is on plant parasitic nematodes and insect parasitic nematodes.
best resource Plant Disease And Insect Clinic
The Plant Disease Clinic was first organized in 1951, and the insect component was added in 1970. The Clinic is a service laboratory for the North Carolina Cooperative Extension Service and others. Extension specialists from Plant Pathology, Entomology, Horticulture, Crop Science and Soil Science diagnose problems on the samples.
The Plant Pathology Online
From American Phylopathological Society. Leading the fight against plant diseases for a healthier world. A wealth of information from a professional organization.
best resource PLANTS Database
The PLANTS Database is a single source of standardized information about plants. This database focuses on vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. The PLANTS Database includes names, checklists, automated tools, identification information, species abstracts, distributional data, crop information, plant symbols, plant growth data, plant materials information, plant links, references, and other plant information. PLANTS reduces costs by minimizing duplication and making information exchange possible across agencies and disciplines.
  [Top]
 
  Selected Scientific Societies
American Society Of Agronomy
American Phytopathological Society
The British Society For Plant Pathology
Canadian Phytopathological Society
Entomological Society Of America
  [Top]
 
  Plant Identification Resources
Identification of tropical woody plants in the absence of flowers and fruits : a field guide- Print
Hagerty 2nd Floor   QK474.5 .K45 1996
Invasive plants : a guide to identification, impacts, and control of common North American species- PRINT
Hagerty 2nd Floor SB612.A2 K38 2007
Practical plant identification : including a key to native and cultivated flowering plants in north temperate regions - PRINT
Hagerty 2nd Floor QK97.5 C855 2006
The plants of Pennsylvania : an illustrated manual - PRINT
Hagerty 2nd Floor  QK183 .R56 2007
Wetland Monocots - WWW
From the good folks of U.S. Department of Agriculture and the National Plant Data Center.  Unlike a traditional plant identification key that provides you with only two choices at each step (a dichotomous key), these keys let you select multiple characters simultaneously (polyclave key). This makes more character data available in the key and minimizes the number of steps it takes to identify a plant.
Pine Barrens Plant Identification Key - WWW
Herbateous Plants are Complete (except for aquatic & grasslike). Trees & Shrubs are Still Incomplete.
Northeast Wetland Flora - WWW
Field Office Guide to Plant Species
World Wide Flowering Plant Family Identification - WWW
Part of a biology course at Colby College.
Peggy Dominy
Peggy Dominy
Librarian for Sciences and Math

Hours M-F: 7:30am-4:30pm


Hagerty Library, Room 129
dominymf@drexel.edu
215-895-2754



Hagerty Library Reference Desk

Reference Desk Hours

Reference Desk Phone:
215-895-2755

Content Editor:
Peggy Dominy
Content Editor Email:
dominymf@drexel.edul
Last Content Update:
May 13, 2008





Drexel University Libraries | 33rd & Market Streets | Philadelphia, PA, USA 19104 | (215) 895-1500
Copyright © 2008 Drexel University Libraries

Modified 29-Jul-2008 Drexel Libraries Home Law Library Home Contact Us Site Search/Index Feedback/Corrections