Suggested Databases:
Centers for Disease Control (CDC) CDC Recommends - CDC Recommends is a searchable storehouse of documents containing CDC recommendations on a variety of health, prevention, and public health practice issues.
Environmental Health Information Service - The EHIS is a Service of the NIH National Institute of Environmental Health.
HazDat - ATSDR's Hazardous Substance Release/Health Effects Database that provides information on the release of hazardous substances from Superfund sites or from emergency events and on the effects of hazardous substances on the health of human populations.
HealthSTAR -
(1975 - January 2002; Contents included in MEDLINE after this date) Contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. In addition to journal article citations and abstracts, HealthSTAR includes citations to meeting abstracts, technical reports and monographs.
Material Safety Data Sheets and related safety information - The Safety Information Resources on the Internet site (SIRI) contains occupational and environmental safety and health information.
MEDLINE -
(1966 - present) Includes Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, & Index to Dental Literature. Covers over 3500 journals in medicine, clinical science and allied health. Includes Health Sciences Libraries journal holdings information and links to full-text articles available through Journals@OVID.
MEDLINE Plus - Provides links health related topic overviews, drug information, news, and other helpful information.
ToxFAQs (tm) - U.S. Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry Division of Toxicology.
Urban Studies & Planning - Urban Studies & Planning: A SAGE Full-Text Collection includes the full text of 12 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 37 years, and encompasses over 2,500 articles.
Back to top of page
Electronic Journals:
Back to top of page
Electronic Texts and Reference Resources:
Also see the listing of electronic books and reference resources for Health Sciences.
Back to top of page
Selected Web Resources:
-
Government Resources
The Health Sciences Libraries' Government Subject/Internet Guide includes a vast amount of public health information from:
-
Biostatistics/Epidemiology
-
CDC Software for the Working Epidemiologist
Several programs including EpiInfo, EpiMap, EpiMeta, SSS1 and CDC Wonder are available for downloading from the CDC. Epi Info is a statistics program for epidemiologists. EpiMeta performs meta-analysis, a quantitative method for combining the results of many studies relating to a single subject. EpiMap is a program used to graphically display data from Epi Info. SSS1 (Statistical Software for Public Health Surveillance) is software for analyzing public health surveillance data including time series analysis, trends, and comparisons. CDC WONDER provides a single point of access to a variety of CDC reports, guidelines, and numeric public health data.
-
Comprehensive Epidemiologic Data Resource (CEDR)
A U.S. Department of Energy (DOE)/Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory (LBL) resource including analytic and working data sets for epidemiological studies that have been conducted on various groups of DOE workers during the past 30 years. Data from LBL's Socio-Economic Environmental Demographic Information System (SEEDIS) is also available.
-
Environmental/Occupational
-
Case Studies in Environmental Medicine
Over 15 case studies developed by the U.S. Public Health Service, Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR) including topics such as Arsenics, Asbestos, Lead, and Radon. Not all are available online.
-
EnviroDx
EnviroDx is a multimedia, case-focused, computer-based learning program on environment-related diseases.
-
Health Behavior/Education
-
National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect - Cornell University
An archive developed for the acquisition, presentation, and dissemination of high quality data sets relevant to the study of child abuse and neglect. Descriptions of the data are available on this site; the data sets themselves cost $25-$50.
-
National Health Information Center
An information referral service from the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP), U.S. Public Health Service. This service is intended for the use of both health professionals and consumers in order to put individuals in touch with the proper organizations to help answer health-related questions.
Back to top of page
Academic and Professional Associations:
Schools:
Back to top of page
Philadelphia Public Health Resources:
Other Resources:
Biostatistics
Epidemiology
Environmental/Occupational
Directories: